We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax, Great Location, Great Views”
Review of Hotel Emre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Emre
Ranked #784 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We came back to Istanbul after a three week journey through Turkey and Greece and stayed at Hotel Emre. The bed was so comfortable! What a good place to get a few days' rest before our long flight home! The rooms might be small but are impeccably detailed and decorated. We thought the bathroom was the best of any of the places we stayed on this trip. The spiral staircase from the bottom floor up to the rooftop terrace is unique and might put people off, but we thought it added to the charm and value of our stay here. The proprietors were so incredibly helpful and welcoming (as was everyone we met in Istanbul). We had been to a number of roof top terrace restaurants and hotel gardens in Istanbul and Hotel Emre's might be the finest. The breakfast was very good. Very short walk to major sights, the tram, and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were looking for good location, terrace with sea view and fair price. And with Emre hotel we are more than satisfied. Extremely good location in the very middle of Sultanahmet close to Akbiyik – touristic street where restaurants, cafes and shops are open over midnight. Yes, the hotel is small, and rooms are small, but very clean and well maintained. And bathroom is much bigger than one can expect having seen the room:) Bed is good. Be prepared to hear minarets at 5 am, your neighbors returning to their room late in the night and their discussions on stairs. All the other time it’s very quiet. We had 202 and 402, both with fridge, hair drier, air conditioner, basic toiletries like shampoo, soap etc. Wi-Fi is free, the speed is good. Terrace is always open – not only for breakfast - so you can enjoy the views all day long. Very helpful and friendly staff. Mansur, thank you very much for your assistance during our stay. Breakfast is basic with boiled eggs, cheeses, olives, tomato, some fruits, bread and jams. We found it ok, BUT – leaving the terrace after our last breakfast we saw a girl how serves the kitchen cooking FRIED EGGS! We felt so pity that we never asked for fried eggs:) You definitely should try!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We love this little hotel and have stayed here three times. Eight rooms on five floors. The staff is great and so helpful. Room 501 has a fabulous sea view, as does 401. 401 is quite small but has a balcony. All the rooms here are small but the location (right in the middle of Sultanhamet), the ameneties (hair dryer, fridge in 501, phone, air conditioning, heater, soap, towels and free wi-fi, quiet and great beds) make it all worth it. The narrow spiral staircase is a challenge but thankfully they will carry your luggage up and down. Breakfast is on a terrace overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Top floor is more expensive but we liked the extra room. 401 has next best view but is small. Side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank playa13ShawIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

It's a small hotel - only 8 rooms I think, and rooms are also small! This should be a consideration if room size is important to you - but there is lots to see in Istanbul so how much time will be spent in your room? The higher floors - 401 and 501 would have good sea views - 301 has a partial seaview. Rooms on the side are bigger but less of a seaview, and a little more expensive. We paid 50 euro for a partial seaview.

Breakfast on the roof is fine - basically the same as most other places in Istanbul. There is wifi, but on the higher floors it is weak or not available. Location is good, but there are numerous other places very close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

The room was very tiny, but at 50 Euro for 2, including breakfast, it was a good bargain. It is just a few blocks from restaurants and all the sights. The staff was great. Hot showers, blow dryer, comfortable beds, working heater, balcony, shampoo, soap, towels, bottled water, quiet room, good security, and location make this a wonderful option to the noisy hostels in the area. Another traveler recommended.

Room Tip: Tram to airport is about 6 blocks away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsysince72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Our original hotel, Alp, couldn't accommodate us for our whole stay, so we were told they would arrange for us to stay at their 'sister' hotel. There is NO similarity to these two establishments. As soon as you enter, you are faced by steep stairs posing the challenge of how will you drag your cases up? The reception is an afterthought - not visible from the front door! There are steel heavy fire doors which have no windows - if someone comes through the other way you could be knocked down the steep granite steps. The rooms are recently decorated - to a poor, cheap and cheesy standard. The breakfast was cheese, bread, tea, coffee, sugar and whitener (note: no milk, no butter, no ham, no juice - and don't bother asking - they haven't any). We had only one plug point - so choose - TV or fridge? (We asked for a 2 plug adaptor - it never arrived). The room next door received the only hair dryer on our floor (why didn't we deserve one). The biggest let down was after a long day out, finding our room had not been cleaned or the bed made. We asked about this - and we were told rooms are only cleaned every 2 days. Times may be hard for the Emre, but the cheap cost-cutting that goes on here is off putting and means I would say avoid this place. Sorry, Emre.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacrima97, Manager at Hotel Emre, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2010

I am sorry for your bed experience you had i can't say in my place but in Istanbul .
I have read this rewiew maybe hundred times and i was so upset and just keaping asking what is wrong with as i menage this hotel for over 15 years and have enough experience not do do what is writing here than i thought that competitors has write that but what competitors for a 22 rooms family run hotel who just care about their guest and nobody else.
After my anger has gone and the blood has cooled down i have read again . You complain about wereless internet and we have too sometimes this problem and again sometimes ask the guest to use the computer in the lobby you describe the lobby here is when i was sure that is not my place i do not have a 5 star decoration in my lobby but is as large as that talk about stairs they are large too and we have evelator non of your guests care the luggage on the stairs anyway i realise that the experience you had was in this emre hotel thanks for the pictures you have posted and i was so upset that it took me one year to undertand that .

Thank you.

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Stayed: July 2007
Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#832 of 1,171 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,823 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,171 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,171 in Istanbul
3,155 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#12 of 1,257 in Istanbul
551 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#465 of 1,171 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emre

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adliye Sok. No:2 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #784 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $26 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Emre 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Emre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing