We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiya piya, great hostel with lovely people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Piya Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Piya Hostel
Ranked #133 of 1,187 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hiya piya, great hostel with lovely people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Piya hostel with a friend and it was perfect for us two twenty year old girls backpacking through Turkey. It's in a great location by the main sights in Sultahnamet (blue mosque and aya Sofia) and is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is very filling and traditionally Turkish, and the hostel owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. Their English is not the best but they really make an effort and with a little extra patience you can be easily understood. They also provide you with a great map! Someone is at the front desk 24 hours to help you with whatever you may need.

The hostel is easy enough to find with he written directions, the only thing to note is that the directions they give tell you to get off the metro at Yusufpasa, but that is actually the name of the tram station you walk to after the metro to tram to the sultanahmet. You want to go all the way to the end of the metro line, it starts with an A... The hostel is in a somewhat sketchy location and as two white females addressing white females traveling on your own, do not wander around too late at night. We tried to be at the hostel for 9 or 10. Another thing to watch out for is that there is not a shared kitchen so no cooking allowed, but there a tons of little markets in the area and restaurants as well.

Overall, fantastic stay at Piya Hostel. They were like our family for a week. 4.5/5

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
14
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

i really enjoyed the 4 days at piya hostel, the room was the hole day full of sun and you could see the sea beween to houses. the free breakfast was very plenty for the price of a eight bed dorm. everythink was very clean and everybody was realy helping you out if you had some questions about the city or some service without trying to sell you there own things. the hostel is very close to the blue mosque and with tram witch is 5 min away you are fast in the center around taksim. feel very home and next time i visit this city i will come definetly back to piya.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keksindianer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a very good hostel at a very reasonable price!
The most of all, I enjoyed the fact that I can get to Hagia Sophia in less then 5 minutes, on foot!
The rooms are clean and the service is good.
I stayed with two friends, in a 3-bed room and we shared bathroom with only one room, next to us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdimitrij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived from another hostel and were pleasantly surprised. Although it is in the centre of Sultanahmet the street is quiet at night and nice during daytime with chatting neighbors and laundry hanging from balconies. We stayed in a 4-bed dorm with 2 comfortable bunk beds. Dorms are cleaned every day. Lockers are available but you need to bring your own keylock. Staff is utterly friendly and helpful and they make a very good breakfast (included in the price). The atmosphere is cosy, personal and not like in a 'tourist backpackers factory' that you might encounter in other places. A small disadvantage are the cramped bathrooms which are cleaned every day but tend to get dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorisANDwouter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place is real. Its almost unbelievable bit it's true. It's so close to everything worth being close to in Istanbul, museums the grand bazaar public transport the works.
Location aside Huseyin was very helpful with instructions on the nest places to go and a map to Istanbul that I would have died without. Thanks Huseyin. Although the English of the staff is still a bit rocky we got on like a storm and didn't have any communication issues that we couldn't overcome. And they where all so accomidating that they spoke a language that needs no words. The breakfast is top notch, especially for the price, inclusive of the €12 per night figure. The best thing is that I met some amazing new people and made some great new friends. Hitting a new town with some new fellow touristas was wonderful. This is one of the few hostels in Istanbul. The rest are mostly hotels and can be a bit lonley. I wish I could stay here longer. Can't wait to come back. Thanks Piya. Thanks Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking to get a feeling of the local population, you will love this hostel. It is situated just minutes away from the city's highlights, and yet it seems hidden in a tourist-free area. Staff is exceptionally friendly - despite the fact that their English is more than broken.

You'll also get the best breakfast in town, with loads of bread, fresh cheese and olives, and egg, and Turkish coffee. The linen are clean, and the hostel is very safe.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Piya hostel is very close to all major tourist attractions, 5 minutes walking to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. It is located in a quiet area, where only local people live. Bathrooms are for 2 or 3 rooms. For that price, they offer very good service.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank J1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#13 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Besiktas
Puffin Hostel
Puffin Hostel
#113 of 1,187 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nobel Hostel
Nobel Hostel
#22 of 1,187 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
#41 of 1,187 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,187 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,187 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piya Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piya Hostel

Property: Piya Hostel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Akbiyik Cami Sok. No:22 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 1,187 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PIYA HOSTEL is the newest addition to the Istanbul network. Piya Hostel boasts three floors of modern, stylish, budget accommodation just five minutes walk from Sultanahmet Square. Perfect for young backpackers who want to be in the heart of this historically vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Piya Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing