We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Piya Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$107
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Eresin Hotels Topkapi(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$77
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$125
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$619
$448
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
30
17
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
17
7
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 56 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Piya hostel last week and can recommend it to everyone looking for a good price hostel in a village-like surroundings and only 10 min walk from Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia.

We hade the double lux room, one in the the basement where are only two bedrooms in total. The room was spacy and had own entrance. The other room was on the 2nd floor and it was really tiny, but sufficient. The only three problems are (1) the paper thin walls which means that you can clearly hear what the other guests are doing, (2) the 2nd floor room is just next to the shareed toilets meaning they are right behind the bedroom's thin door. You cannot use the toilet btw 24:00-08:00 which is challenging to obey. (3) the reception is open until 1am meaning that if you come back later, you need to wake up the staff as you dont have a key to the main front door. This we found a bit complicating and bothering.

Despite these few tiny setbacks, we really enjoyed staying at the hotel and recommend it to everyone. The staff is nice - as in generally in the city, the breakfast is good and kids in the neighboorhood delightful!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafarticaMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Before we came to Istanbul, we made a reservation for one night only and in the morning we started walking around Sultanahmet looking for a nice hostel for a decent price for the rest of our five-day stay. We checked out about 7-8 hostels. In the end, we chose Piya as it was clean, dorms offered more room than in some other hostels, in a good location and for a fair price. In the following days we learned that the staff was also friendly, helpful and forthcoming. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I and my lover stayed at Piya for 2 nights in november. At the beginning it seemed me to a bit nosiy beacuse of the trainstation nearby,but when ı compare it to other hostels in İstanbul,more or less you will experience some noise,and that is normal for a city of 20 million people:)
We had a room on the basement floor good for couples even including a kitchen part as a seperate one from your bedroom,and including from refrigerator to kettleand oven:) so we could cook some food for ourself:)
The area of the hostel is not spoiled by the invasions of big tourist groups,and the local people are Romani people,that means children of the Roman Empire. the Romani people are good at music,playing instruments and dancing. They have a very extra ordinary culture. Even in the most unhappy times they can play and sing and dance,and express their sadness in a different way.
If you stay at Piya hostel,u can experince their atmosphere in the street where Piya located in. The local kids may even can make some music and dance for u if you give them some tips:) By the way Piya means ''together'' in Zaza langugage which is spoken in Eastern Anatolia,so the name just fits on the area well:) The staff was very welcoming and kind ,and villing to help you a lot.ı liked this small hostel a lot. Definitely stay in Piya!

Room Tip: All rooms are good,but the rooms which are dormitory warmer.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hicranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The hostel is small, nice and cozy. A little hard to find at first but if you go to the blue mosque area and ask around for "akbıyık jamii", the directions will lead you pretty close. from the mosque itself (right under a railway bridge) you have to turn right and walk a bit up the street until you see the pink house and the sign for the hostel. It is extremely easy to find after the first time.
As stated, the hostel is very nice and cozy. The proprietor is a nice man who will strive to make you feel at home, offer you tea and assist or accommodate you in any way he can. Breakfast is prepared by an amiable Georgian lady and is very good compared to usual hostel fare.
The hostel is (short) walking distance from all the main sights of Sultanahmet and right next to some restaurants, shops and the house (dede efendi) where dervish performances are put on every other night.
Staff is, as I said, very nice. My friend and I had a little tackle with one of the night clerks who gave us a bit of a hard time because of our country of origin. Aside from this rather unprofessional slip, we felt absolutely welcome.
What must be said is that the place is near a mosque and railroad tracks and has windows looking out onto the street where children play and people talk to each other. This didn't really bother us but if you sleep in daytime or are bothered by the muezzin, consider other options. (that said, i think the muezzin can be heard from every location in Sultanahmet.)
We stayed in a four-person dorm and were the only people in it. There were lockers but you could't lock them from the outside (valuables can be deposited at reception). The room was immaculate, beds were clean and extremely comfortable. Showers were clean and had hot water always. I was really impressed by the facilities - again, really clean and comfortable for a hostel.
Would definitely stay at the Piya again - I think it may be the best-value hostel in Sultanahmet.

Room Tip: There is a chance that if you book a six-person dorm it might be empty except for you in the off season.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hostel is fine if you are after something very basic. We had a double room which would have been OK but it also had a bunk in there which made things extremely cramped. The bathroom was right next door but we were not sure it was the cleanest. Our door would get stuck and you needed to slam it to shut it. Probably quite annoying for people in the next room. Breakfast was great though. Staff were OK. I'm not sure I agree with their glowing reviews previously. Their english is not that great. An OK stay, but you can probably do better for the price. We also had a lot of trouble locating it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingkiwi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews