We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TWO CONTINENTS”

Culinary Backstreets -Tours
Ranked #1 of 75 Food & Drink in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When it comes to exploring a city’s authentic dining scene, while the stomach should ideally serve as the best compass, the truth of the matter is that it’s hard to find your way without good local advice. That’s where Culinary Backstreets’ Culinary Walks come in. In order to help you explore the world’s gastro-capitals and get off these cities’ eaten path, CB is offering (with selected partners) guided culinary walks in some of the cities we cover, starting with Istanbul, Athens, Barcelona, and Shanghai.Our culinary walks are designed to lead visitors on an eating binge through a city’s lesser-seen historic side streets and authentic markets, taking in countless hard-to-find culinary gems and, in between bites, a select number of untouristed monuments.
MT ELIZA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“TWO CONTINENTS”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We experienced this small group tour(5), and loved it. Our guide Gonca, was lovely, very warm and really knew her way around. We managed to eat our way across the 2 continents, the quality and variety of each place we stopped was first class. Although we could purchase most of what we tasted, we never felt any pressure to buy. This is a great way to see a side of Istanbul that you would never find on your own.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank rob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,319
    51
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bazaar Quarter & Shop, Cook, Feast: A Hands On Istanbul Culinary Adventure cooking class”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have been in Istanbul for two months and have had the opportunity to explore many local/regional cuisines. We took a Culinary Backstreets walking tour – Bazaar Quarter with Benoit early on, which gave us a really great overview of the diversity of cuisine here in Istanbul, as well as an interesting insight into the lives of people working in the Bazaar Quarter.

As we were so impressed with the professionalism, organisation and overall experience of the walking tour (it was brilliant, so much food, no dull moments), we decided to also take the Shop, Cook, Feast: A Hands On Istanbul Culinary Adventure cooking class.

For the cooking class, our host, Aysin, began by showing us the local neighborhood while explaining the history of the area. We visited several local stores and, as it was Saturday, we visited the organic produce market. From here, we went back to Aysin’s apartment to first enjoy tea and pastries, and have an interesting chat about Istanbul/Turkey, then to cook and eat. Aysin’s passion for Turkish cooking is obvious and we enjoyed preparing six dishes in her lovely apartment. She has many years of experience as a tour guide and has a very warm and relaxed personality. The ingredients were explained well and the pace was very manageable. We were particularly impressed by the co-ordination of the day as Aysin was assisted by her sister Aysun, also just as friendly. We took home our left-overs and ate them for dinner! We were also given a lovely booklet with the recipes of the day. Highly recommended. You will feel like you’ve spent the day hanging out with friends and it’s an experience that makes you feel like you’re living in Istanbul, not just visiting!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Insightful journey for Foodies!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We took the trail around Beyoglu with Adam in July 2014. It was a great introduction to the Turkish cuisine and the places visited were indeed off the beaten path. Though we have strolled around the area previously, we had no idea the sheer depths and colour of the backstreets. In addition to Böregi n Dürum n Menemen n çay etc, we had a Sheep's head which was psychologically challenging but extremely tasty.

Also, Adam (igur) is an extremely cultured and knowledgeable guide. Beyond food introduction, he shared the Turkish culture and got to know us personally.

This is a must-do for all foodies!
Now, we are hooked onto Ayran and have no clue how to satisfy this demand when we get home.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank genhxa2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Culinary Backstreets of the Bazaar Quarter”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This tour was amazing. It was guided by Benoit Hanquet, who is an insightful and bright guy. This tour isn't just about food -because food, as you know, is a cultural result- and the best of it is that you get to understand (a bit, yes) what Istanbul is all about. This was a fantastic experience and I have already recommended it to everyone that want to go to Istanbul. You can't miss it.

ps: because Istanbul can be a bit overwhelming at first sight, I booked this tour for my first day in Istanbul and I think that was the best thing I could have done, because the city was much more "nicer" after the tour than before it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING !!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This tour was amazing ! Our guide , Gonca, was so clever and entertaining and smart. She knew a lot about the culture and also explained to us what wasn't the culture. She taught is how to eat certain things and told us stories about the way things are eaten. Such a fun way to see both sides, istanbul and the Asia side. Lots of yummy food and everywhere we went was so beautiful! Highly recommend it for anyone who loves good and is willing to try new things! Recommend for anyone who wants to experience Istanbul in a truly unique way!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliviarogers1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinary Backstreets -Tours also viewed

 

Been to Culinary Backstreets -Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing