We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolutely great day!”

Culinary Backstreets -Tours
Ranked #1 of 72 Food & Drink in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When it comes to exploring a city’s authentic dining scene, while the stomach should ideally serve as the best compass, the truth of the matter is that it’s hard to find your way without good local advice. That’s where Culinary Backstreets’ Culinary Walks come in. In order to help you explore the world’s gastro-capitals and get off these cities’ eaten path, CB is offering (with selected partners) guided culinary walks in some of the cities we cover, starting with Istanbul, Athens, Barcelona, and Shanghai.Our culinary walks are designed to lead visitors on an eating binge through a city’s lesser-seen historic side streets and authentic markets, taking in countless hard-to-find culinary gems and, in between bites, a select number of untouristed monuments.
Cable, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely great day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

From the moment we met Angelis and the group in front of the New Mosque, we knew this would be a great experience. With a new food discovery around every corner and seeing the nooks and crannies of the side streets that aren't "tourist" sights, the day was just incredible! Angelis is the kind of person who lifts your spirit while he imparts so much information about the food and culture of Turkey. He obviously has a great relationship with the people - everyone in the area from shopkeepers to the not-so-fortunate folks seem to love him. Istanbul Eats is advertised as a food tour, but it is much more than that. We spent the better part of another day in the same area because we loved the feel of that part of the city. Yes, we will be trying to make chicken pudding!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,298
    51
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Pace yourself!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We selected this tour after reading about it on line and after contacting another reviewer. Unfortunately, the day of our old city tour was a day of non-stop rain and was very cold also, and I am sure it would have been more enjoyable if it had been dry.

The tour started at 9.30 and lasted until about 3.30 pm and comprised walking and stopping for bites of food along the way, culminating in a lunch in a restaurant at the end.

We discovered new things about Turkish food, despite having visited the country 3 times previously and certainly this tour influenced some of our choices later on in our holiday. We particularly enjoyed the "soup kitchen" and we revisited this place a couple of days later for a full "working man's meal" which was delicious and soooo cheap!

The tour could have benefited from a different type of lunch - the last few eats on the tour were bread based - sampling pide, followed by doner kebab in bread and then the restaurant meal main course then comprised lamb on bread. All of these bready things together was too much, in my view.

A very expensive tour for the British market and quite unusual in that the tour guide was a very enthusiastic Greek and not Turkish.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mathsboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best day tour ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Angelis is the most engaging guide ever! And very humorous..... This is probably the best tour to get initiated on Turkish food culture. I would never have been able to pick out local delights alone on the old city streets where the locals roam. Definitely the highlight of my trip! be prepared to go with an empty stomach cos you will be making 10 eating stops for 6-7hrs.

At the end of the tour, we each received an Istanbul Eats book - Lovely!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jemich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“unique flavor of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had high expectations for this tour and they were completely met! we just loved the way how we went through the various types of food and getting insights on each of them. It was lovely to find out the common roots some turkish meals had with our national dishes, but also fun facts about pistachio, pudding and so on.
I loved the fact that the final stage was near the aqueduct which is such a cool thing to be around.
Bottom line is that you will spend a day wondering around having fun, eating until you drop and having an experience which will be a constant source of stories when you get back home.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank leave-u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our tour with Angelis. He introduced us to the food that local people eat. He paced the tour so well starting at 9.30 and ended almost at 4 pm. Yes we were eating all the time and walked only a mile. Lots of stories facts and all in all a great tour. Only the ones who like to eat and try different food dishes should join this tour. This is not a sightseeing tour but Angelis managed to give us a lot of information while walking. Every time I thought I was done eating we managed to make another stop and taste another bite. A tad bit expensive but well worth it. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank 6A7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinary Backstreets -Tours also viewed

 

Been to Culinary Backstreets -Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing