We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option while waiting the next flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Han Hostel Airport North
Ranked #121 of 1,246 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my second time in Han Hostel Airport North and I'll definitely stay there again if I should wait for longer time between the flights in Istanbul. It just takes a couple of minutes from the Atatürk airport by taxi and costs you about 5 €. The taxi driver didn't seem to be sure where the hotel was, so it might be a good idea to show your hotel voucher with the address - and check the photos taken outside of the hotel, so you'll know you've arrived to the right place :-). Going back to the airport is even more easy: you just ask the front desk personnel - all friendly and professional to call a taxi, and they'll tell if you're going to domestic or international terminal.

The rooms are very basic - but the prices also are very affordable. As the most inexpensive rooms (last year I payed only 20 €) already were booked when I made my reservation in February (for September - it shows how popular the hotel is!) I booked one of 35 € - well, the only difference was there wasn't the upper part of bunkbed :-). Anyway, the room was clean and warm, with spacious bathroom. Even there might be people coming and going all the time, it wasn't noisy and I really slept well.

If you're looking for an inexpensive, clean and safe place near the airport, I warmly recommend this hostel for you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meryem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 193 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I couldn't fault this hostel. The staff were very helpful and the hostel was very clean. I can't wait to stay again. It was so enchanting with beautiful art work. I loved the swings on the outside balcony. A must stay if you are needing an overnight stay near the airport. The most comfortable bed i have ever slept in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minksterbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We decided to stay in Istanbul for two nights (1 full day) at the end of our holiday to Northern Cyprus.

We booked the Han as we had a fairly early flight home and wanted to be close to the airport.

The room was small but spotlessly clean and functional with a double bed and a shower room. No aircon but we had a ceiling fan which helped keep the room cool. The window opened but the noise of the traffic meant we kept it shut!

We ate in the restaurant/cafeteria - the food was really good! If you like typical home cooked Turkish food and don't want to pay a lot, then you can't go wrong with soup, beef casserole, rice and fruit for 9.5YTL each!

There isn't much to do in the local area as it seems to be fairly commercial but there is a lovely pide place across the main road which again was fairly reasonable for the amount of food you get!

The staff were really friendly and helpful and getting a taxi at 05.00 didn't pose a problem at all.

If we ever need to stay in Istanbul due to flight times home, then we will stay again but probably upgrade to a larger room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is newly build are rebuild. Everything looks new and very clean. Can be reached by cab fro the airport for 15 euros including a tip to the driver. It is too far to walk. Breakfast is so so. There are several brand name outlet shops close by when you walk downhill. Including the huge STARCITY outlet shopping mall with up to 70% off a huge number of brand name clothes, shoes etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2900Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We paid the internet price of 39euros for a twin room. When we arrived, and they saw our wheelchair they tried to find us a bigger room, albeit to no avail. They helped us down the flight of stairs to the lift and escorted us to the room. Although on the small side, the room was as much as we had expected, with a very clean and functional bathroom.
Next morning we were again helped down to the breakfast area, and enjoyed the standard Turkish breakfast. When it came time to leave it was no problem for them to call us a taxi to the airport, and the taxi driver even returned our room key to the hotel, after I forgot to hand it in at reception.
All in all a pleasant stopover, conveniently located for an easy departure by air.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slowboathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Pretty lobby - no argument, but what architect today makes you carry luggage down a flight of steps to get to the elevator from the lobby....thankfully a gentleman was available to help my family with the luggage? The room is hot as I type this, the ceiling fan on the lowest setting is like an old loud grandfather clock ticking away...and at 2AM, we are on our third meeting in the atrium of this floor....likely because there is no place to sit and have a conversation in the room. They must have foreseen the problem, but put couches away from the doors of other guests who are trying desperately to sleep in their hot ticking rooms.
So again, cool to have pretty vaulted ceilings in a hotel room (top floor only maybe? ), but I would take function like sleeping over this architectural nightmare. What good is a pretty bedroom if you can't sleep in it even if less expensive than other places?
Besides the guy helping with our luggage, we have only dealt with the front desk guy who just grunted for all of our passports and then slid the keys to us....it was only 1900, so you can't even blame lack of civility on a nightshift worker. And why do they need passports for every guest...including kids...never heard of that one and we travel globally a fair amount. Never again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank DavidJustDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Han Hostel Airport North is brand new and perfect for an overnight stay. We were lucky enough to pick up a double room the day we were due to arrive back in Istanbul, but suspect it was a late cancellation as it had previously been sold out. The trip from the airport in peak traffic took 10 minutes and to the airport at 4.30 am the next morning took less than 5 minutes. The lobby has a beautiful desk inlaid with chunks of semi precious stones, there are antique-repro chairs and lounges and stunning chunks of petrified wood and coffee tables and stone/agate based art all throughout the hotel. In fact "hostel" is a harsh term - it is absolutely perfect. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and had a 3 course set turkish menu for only 12.5 Lira. They also do a la carte. The room was small - but nevertheless had a shower, toilet, desk, chair and a SOFT bed (sooooo comfortable. On the basis of 3 weeks travelling through Turkey we can only presume it was a mistake - but lap it up! so comfortable.) Room spotlessly clean. Not A/C but excellent fan. Bath Sheets for towels instead of glorified hand towels. Toiletries. The staff member on reception who checked us in and out had excellent English and was very helpful when I needed to print an e-ticket. Can not recommend this establishment highly enough. Just wish they were right in town as well. But then we probably couldn't have afforded to stay there. For an Airport overnighter - perfect. One Tip? Go. Stay. And if you know you are flying out the next day, don't leave it to the last minute to book this place - lock it in asap and be secure that you have a great, restful place to stay the night before you fly out of Ataturk.

Room Tip: We had a double on 2nd floor - no A/C which was fine. Fan is great, you could leave windows open fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Istanbul Airport Hotel
#747 of 1,163 in Istanbul
15 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#593 of 1,163 in Istanbul
16 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#744 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#19 of 1,246 in Istanbul
351 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han Hostel Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han Hostel Airport North

Address: Degirmenbahce Cad. Turgut Reis Sok. No 3 | Yenibosna/Bahcelievler, Istanbul 34197, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,246 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $22 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Han Hostel Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you start walking in the HAN HOSTEL, you will feel the International Standards that are served with unique Turkish Hospitality at very convenient prices.We are situated in Yenibosna district which is only 4 km/5 min away to Ataturk International Airport in Istanbul.We have 200 bed capacity and have;Free gym and fitness saloonFree wi-fi internetFree luggage storageSafety lockersRestaurant with 150 person capacityOur aim is to serve 'best service for best price'. We are also distinctive with our interior decore which is environment friendly and unique. Our reception desk is made up of 3,5 tons of semi precious stones. Our interior decore contains semi precious stones, petrified woods and antique jars.Please contact us for to learn the cost of transfers between 09:00 till 18:00 from International Ataturk Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Han Hostel Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Han Hostel Airport North Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing