We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the airport is the best feature” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Han Hostel Airport North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Han Hostel Airport North
Ranked #120 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Close to the airport is the best feature”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Pretty lobby - no argument, but what architect today makes you carry luggage down a flight of steps to get to the elevator from the lobby....thankfully a gentleman was available to help my family with the luggage? The room is hot as I type this, the ceiling fan on the lowest setting is like an old loud grandfather clock ticking away...and at 2AM, we are on our third meeting in the atrium of this floor....likely because there is no place to sit and have a conversation in the room. They must have foreseen the problem, but put couches away from the doors of other guests who are trying desperately to sleep in their hot ticking rooms.
So again, cool to have pretty vaulted ceilings in a hotel room (top floor only maybe? ), but I would take function like sleeping over this architectural nightmare. What good is a pretty bedroom if you can't sleep in it even if less expensive than other places?
Besides the guy helping with our luggage, we have only dealt with the front desk guy who just grunted for all of our passports and then slid the keys to us....it was only 1900, so you can't even blame lack of civility on a nightshift worker. And why do they need passports for every guest...including kids...never heard of that one and we travel globally a fair amount. Never again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJustDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    89
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
13
63
56
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
1,125 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Han Hostel Airport North is brand new and perfect for an overnight stay. We were lucky enough to pick up a double room the day we were due to arrive back in Istanbul, but suspect it was a late cancellation as it had previously been sold out. The trip from the airport in peak traffic took 10 minutes and to the airport at 4.30 am the next morning took less than 5 minutes. The lobby has a beautiful desk inlaid with chunks of semi precious stones, there are antique-repro chairs and lounges and stunning chunks of petrified wood and coffee tables and stone/agate based art all throughout the hotel. In fact "hostel" is a harsh term - it is absolutely perfect. We ate at the restaurant downstairs and had a 3 course set turkish menu for only 12.5 Lira. They also do a la carte. The room was small - but nevertheless had a shower, toilet, desk, chair and a SOFT bed (sooooo comfortable. On the basis of 3 weeks travelling through Turkey we can only presume it was a mistake - but lap it up! so comfortable.) Room spotlessly clean. Not A/C but excellent fan. Bath Sheets for towels instead of glorified hand towels. Toiletries. The staff member on reception who checked us in and out had excellent English and was very helpful when I needed to print an e-ticket. Can not recommend this establishment highly enough. Just wish they were right in town as well. But then we probably couldn't have afforded to stay there. For an Airport overnighter - perfect. One Tip? Go. Stay. And if you know you are flying out the next day, don't leave it to the last minute to book this place - lock it in asap and be secure that you have a great, restful place to stay the night before you fly out of Ataturk.

Room Tip: We had a double on 2nd floor - no A/C which was fine. Fan is great, you could leave windows open fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a nice place to stay close to the Istanbul Airport while returning back from Istanbul. Get ready and call the Taxi, will ost around 25 TL and 10 minutes. Do not worry getting stuck in Istanbul traffic and miss your flight which is very common for the congested city Istanbul.

You will definitly enjoy the stay because this hotel is like a museum and decorated with a lot of antiques and the atmosphere is good and peaceful. The hostel is new and very very clean. It is Hotel,Hostel and Museum combined. 30 minutes from the main city, but very very close to the airport. Many people do not know this cheap and nice place near the airport. Try it for easy travelling back from Istanbul...You would love this place.

Room Tip: Clean and cozy rooms are available on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IkeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hostel itself was well decorated and good facilities, so that's not the problem. This was our last stop on our 6 week holiday as a 12 hour stop over so we needed somewhere close to the airport. On the website it stated: 'The transportation between the hostel and the airport will be at your service through shuttle buses', which we assumed meant there would be a shuttle bus at the airport (and one of the main reasons we stayed there). However there was no shuttle bus available and quite a few people didn't seem to know where the hotel was - when we asked the woman at reception, she was rude and unhelpful. When asked could we speak to the manager to inform them of the mistake on their website regarding the shuttle bus, she was reluctant to help us.

This experience ruined the atmosphere of the hostel for us, including the ridiculously warm room with the loudest fan in the world. The only saving grace was the nice pizza place round the corner which is well worth a try.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

How I rate hotels. Star ratings for hotels are based upon facilities and services. It is easy to find the star rating for any hotel. I rate hotel based upon the experience. For example, a 2 star hotel may provide a 4 circle experience.

Needed a budget stay near the airport before an early morning flight to Athens. The hostel was better than expected. Rooms are small yet clean. There is a TV, bed, table easy chair, straight chair and a small wardrobe as well as a private bathroom. There is no AC but the ceiling fan was all I needed. Some of the best money I have spent in quite some time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e3brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel provided exactly what we expected - a clean room and breakfast. What more can you expect for the price? It is not somewhere you would stay as a tourist wishing to spend time in Istanbul, but as a one night stay, especially when tired after a long flight it was perfect. Our taxi driver found the hotel with no problem and equally we had no problem next day getting a taxi to take us to out rental car. I agree completely with Nathalie pol's review too.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Many reviews said cab drivers are never able to find this hotel, but ours knew exactly where it was. The employee at the desk told me that I definitely did not have a reservation, and when I showed him the confirmation he silently stared at the computer for several minutes and then handed me my key without apologizing.
The room was alright but super hot. We stayed here on our layover to avoid sleeping at the airport, but I'm not sure it was any more comfortable. Overall, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hawaii2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
1.4 mi away
ibis Istanbul Airport
ibis Istanbul Airport
#581 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Istanbul Airport Hotel
Mercure Istanbul Airport Hotel
#735 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kadak Garden Hotel
Kadak Garden Hotel
#562 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Istanbul Airport Hotel
Grand Istanbul Airport Hotel
#631 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Istanbul Gonen Hotel
Istanbul Gonen Hotel
#344 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sahra Airport Hotel
Sahra Airport Hotel
#640 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Han Hostel Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han Hostel Airport North

Property: Han Hostel Airport North
Address: Degirmenbahce Cad. Turgut Reis Sok. No 3 | Yenibosna/Bahcelievler, Istanbul 34197, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Han Hostel Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you start walking in the HAN HOSTEL, you will feel the International Standards that are served with unique Turkish Hospitality at very convenient prices.We are situated in Yenibosna district which is only 4 km/5 min away to Ataturk International Airport in Istanbul.We have 200 bed capacity and have;Free gym and fitness saloonFree wi-fi internetFree luggage storageSafety lockersRestaurant with 150 person capacityOur aim is to serve 'best service for best price'. We are also distinctive with our interior decore which is environment friendly and unique. Our reception desk is made up of 3,5 tons of semi precious stones. Our interior decore contains semi precious stones, petrified woods and antique jars.Please contact us for to learn the cost of transfers between 09:00 till 18:00 from International Ataturk Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Han Hostel Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Han Hostel Airport North Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing