We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and good food”
Review of Kayikci Restaurant

Kayikci Restaurant
Ranked #149 of 13,594 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: It resembles a Greek tavern restaurant by the Aegean sea with its white and blue coloured decoration and frescoes on the ceiling. It is located in a cobbled stoned street in Sultanahmet ( oldtown) and offers more than 30 different traditional cold appetizers, hot appetizers and special home made mezes with very fresh seafoods.
Zagreb
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The staff is quite friendly and the food & wine were good as well. For starters, you will most probably receive excellent turkish bread together with spiced olive oil and turkish cheese (all on the house). At the end, the waiter has provided us with "on the house" digestive that we really enjoyed...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    138
    35
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgraceful meal and atrocious service”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

How did we find the worst Restaurant (in our experience) in Istanbul? At first sight the restaurant looked smart, the menu looked reasonable and the charming young lady outside persuaded us to enter. The first "give away" sign was paper serviettes on the cotton table cloth.
Our order was taken quite quickly and the fairly average first course was served. Then we waited and waited and waited. We were completely ignored for 45 minutes by the many staff in a half full restaurant. We saw food being taken outside to the restaurant next door. I finally found someone who apologised and said the kitchen was very busy. When the food arrived it was luke warm to cold and appeared to have been plated up much earlier. It was taken away and (I suppose the same meal) reappeared warmer than before. Both main meals were as not as described on the menu or by the waiter. No one enquired if our meals were alright or why we had not eaten much of them. I asked for the manager, was told he was not on duty and assured that if we returned the next evening the meal would be "on the house". We did not and will never go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Something has gone wrong!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

something desperately has gone wrong - based on the reviews, we made a booking and headed out at 7:30pm,
we should have known something was up when we were pretty much forced to take the cold mezzes instead of being able to order hot. after enjoying the very fine starters, ( having already ordered main courses), it became apparent that something was up - different waiting staff were coming and going from next door, when we asked, we were told they had merged and the kitchen was cooking for more than one restaurant. we had ordered pasta for the kiddies and the 2 most expensive ( for 2) seafood meals on the menu, as we heard that these were their specialities.

well - after numerous chases and begging, the pasta came out on its own - 55 minutes waiting, and another hour thereafter for one main course and the second another 30 minutes after that. the waiter was so embarrassed that eh did not charge us for the ( approx £50 ) main. he tried to explain and chase the kitchen, but the service was simply not there.
food was actually good, but the overall experience left a bad taste and i would not recommend this restaurant, unless someone can confirm their problems are sorted, it is by no means cheap to start with, so to have such a long wait for food is simply not good enough.
BE WARNED

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but quite good”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Conveniently located near Ayasofya, the Blue Mosque and Gulhane park in the Sultanahmet area, this restaurant was a surprising treat. We had slightly low expectations not because the place looked bad or anything. In fact, the decor and atmosphere were quite nice. But the restaurant IS located in a very touristy area so we figured the food may be watered down. Fortunately, we were pleasantly surprised. As is the case at many restaurants in Turkey, you will initially be shown the mezes. We had the lentil balls which were quite good. Our choice of entrees were the Ali Nazik kebap (lamb kebap in a delicious yogurty eggplant puree-y sauce) and the manti (AKA Turkish ravioli, quite good but not as good as the Ali Nazik kebap). I highly recommend the Ali Nazik kebap, especially if you like mutabbel or baba ghannouj. The portions aren't humongous but they're quite good nonetheless. We paid ~60 dollars for a table of 2. We came back here for another visit and had the mixed grill which was quite delicious. The shish tavuk (grilled chicken) and kofte were delicious. Also highly recommended. Overall, a very positive experience albeit not a cheap one but at least you're getting quality food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“service macabre”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

well,following Trip Advisor, we booked table and arrived to kayikci restaurat, it supposed to be very nice evening, we had sth to celebrate.The most chaotic service ever and our fantastic dinner soon became life reality show type kitchen nightmares of Turkey.For main courses we waited 50 minutes with dirty plates after starters.Waiters many time came nearby, they even came to us to serve wine or water, but none took obviously finished plates.When our meals eventually arrived, they had to clean them, but they removed dirty forks and knives out of the plate and let them on table for us to continue meal.in the meantime, we observed other episodes with other customers,crossed with the service.Another 20 minutes waiting for payment and I was about to leave without.AVOID!Do not remember food, this service spoiled everything

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aldik703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayikci Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kayikci Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing