We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why why why?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye
Ranked #440 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel was the starting point of our bus tour - I have no idea why. We spent the first day and a half of our tour in the Old City ( which is where the Tour finishes at the Crowne Plaza Old City).....why did they stick us out in the middle of nowhere? The hotel is stock standard chain hotel - very comfortable beds but no charm in the rooms and defintely no charm in the area. It is a terrible area with crumbling buildings, rubbish and tyre shops surrounding. Rooms are very well appointed, clean and spacious. There is a pool and fitness centre on the 4th floor below ground...a little eerie but beautiful. Unless you were in this area for business I can honestly suggest you don't stay here.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear valued guest,

We thank you for taking your time and leaving a comment on Tripadvisor after your recent visit to our hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 566 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Here for a conference at the ICC which is a short walk away - although up a steep hill, which is tricky if it's a hot day and you're in business attire! Location is a little odd as there isn't nothing much around and unless you walk up to the main road leading to Taksim Square. But all this is OK.

However, less OK is the unreliable wifi signal. It's not very stable and has a habit of kicking you out. In this day and age, for a business hotel located near the ICC - this isn't really acceptable. A shame.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yipski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for your kind feedback.

Please note that our hotel's WiFi system automatically disconnects the user to keep their information secure, in case the user does not use the internet service for 10 minutes of time.

We will be hoping to welcome you in our hotel once more in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel was our starting and finish location for a bus tour of turkey. The hotel is quite new and has excellent rooms. The beds were some of the most comfortable we encountered. The breakfast buffet was also excellent. The hotel is located down the hill from the main avenue to Taksim. It is in a very transitional location. It was very odd to encounter a whole district manikin dealers on the way up the hill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_lxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for your kind comments on our hotel. We are glad to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations in terms of the facilites and services.

We will be more than happy to have the chance to welcome you in our hotel once again in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were very fortunate to be given an upgrade when we checked in to a Deluxe room on the 7th floor. The room was very large and had a view of the surrounds. Being 7th floor it wasn't noisy. Breakfast was a buffet and had a great selection. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights and had a day to fill in before joining a tour. As some people have written the immediate neighbourhood isn't up market, it has a lot of small car repair and accessory shops. We however found it to be ok, safe and well posited to get to Taksim Square for the hop on bus tour and some great restaurants and bars. The staff were very helpful in suggesting what to do and where to go and organising taxis. It is only an 8 lire fare to Taksim.
We had dinner in the restaurant 1 night sitting out in the court yard which was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor and one that doesn't look into neighbouring rooms. Join thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear valued guest,

We thank you for your kind comment on our hotel and team members.

We are more than delighted to see that we were able to provide you with highest level of service quality during your stay in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel once again to provide you with even further improved service quality.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a fine hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. It is close to congress center (10 minutes walking) and Taksim square (20 minutes walking). Direct neighbourhoud is part of older section of the city. Staff in restaurant is fast and competent. Breakfast is very good buffet with large variations of food.

Room Tip: No special tips; I stayed in one room on 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for taking your time and leaving a comment here on Tripadvisor about our hotel after your recent stay.

We are pleased that you have liked the facilities and services we offer for our guests. Your kind comments shows us that we are on the right path for succeeding guest satisfaction.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Getting a good WiFi internet connection was very difficult. The hotel had a process to follow but it didn't work.

The hotel is in a strange location. It's a long way from the old part of the city but quite close to Taksim Square and modern western-style shopping centres. I found the desk staff particularly unhelpful (one guy disappeared with my passport for over twenty minutes whilst we were trying to check in), but the concierge was okay when I had WiFi problems.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Travel-Quest54,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were booked for two nights as part of an organised tour, on arrival we were advised our rooms weren't ready and if we would take a seat they would let us know when they were.That was the end of any service, we sat for 3.5hrs and waited, after we approached the very disinterested reception staff a room was available surprise. The rooms were clean and comfortable as was the pool area. The hotel is located in a street full of car repair shops, very steep and didnt feel very safe for foreign visitors. We didn't leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorray49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Lorray49,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am very pleased that you found the room comfortable and noticed the cleanliness of it. On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for the experience you had at check-in. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Harbiye Residence
Harbiye Residence
#480 of 1,171 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Sisli
Ramada Plaza Istanbul City Center
Sisli
The Marmara Sisli
The Marmara Sisli
#343 of 1,171 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Arts Hotel Istanbul
Arts Hotel Istanbul
#754 of 1,171 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Sisli
Inncity Hotel Nisantasi
Inncity Hotel Nisantasi
#498 of 1,171 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Sisli
Bentley by Molton Hotels
Bentley by Molton Hotels
#789 of 1,171 in Istanbul
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye

Address: Dolapdere Caddesi No.161, Istanbul 34375, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#160 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#297 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing