We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, unprofessional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye
Ranked #428 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The good:
Very spacious, clean, beautifully furnished room. Huge bathroom, beautiful warm lightening in the room, beautiful colors an textures.
The gym is very well equipped.
The internet is fast and free. (witch is rare even for reputable 5*)
Room service food is cheep and quite tasty, enables you to eat in the room every day without having to go out looking for food.
The price its decent.

The bad:
The location location is very bad, the street is full of auto shops and buildings ready to fall apart. also its dangerous as the people around are very poor and don't look friendly.
BUT its just 5 min drive from a very fancy shopping street and very close to taxsim square. as the taxi in Istanbul is very cheep the location is finally not such a big disadvantage.
Some of the people in the staff are not very professional, even rude.
The girl that checked me in was very nice. The guy that checked me out was "confused", didn't really know how to count 2.100 turkish lira and "misplaced" 50.
The bell boy, instead of calling a taxi and opening the door for me, he was all in my face, staring at me and asking me where IM from with a sleazy smile.
The room service guys were very nice.
The fridge was not cooling at all, all drinks were warm.
Te view was a brick wall and i almost had no natural light.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luiza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 572 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excellent accommodation and fantastic service. Staff always responded with a smile were very courteous and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and well equipped, comfortable beds. Food (breakfast) which was included in the price was served both out on the terrace and inside the restaurant, had numerous variety of good quality.
Well equipped gym. with a fairly reasonable swimming pool, good Turkish bath, steam room, sauna as well as facilities for various massages and aroma therapy.
Location is good if you are prepared for a short but uphill walk on the way to centre, Istiqlal and Taksim which is fairly close. if you are not prepared to walk it is only about 5 TL (about 3 $) by taxi

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tariq S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

First of all its a 15 minutes walk from taksom square which is not bad. The problem with this location Is that it is surrounded by c class buildings, shops and auto repair garages. So even if you take a street view room you still loose.
The staff is polite and helpfull if a little slow the only problem i faced was that thier english is not fleunt. I had to repeat sone of my aimple requests twice.
The facilities are ok and so is the cleanliness.

A good enough 4 star hotel near Taksim square.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahmoudElkotb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The location (I mean neighborhood) is not that promising. The front desk guys were nice and helpful. They upgraded one of our rooms to a superior. The room was very good but no nice views. I was not satisfied with the breakfast (as it is enormously important to me:)).
I think it really worth its price

Room Tip: - The breakfast does not worth its price - The reception arranged my early check-in nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ali j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Admittedly it's not in the best street, but it's not all that bad. It's just a short walk to Taksim square and we had a great time exploring the city on foot. You have to climb up a very steep hill to get to the major thoroughfare, so it's not something you would want to do a few times a day. We made it a point to just go out once in the morning and stay out all day, coming back only after dinner. It's an amazing city, so you wouldn't feel like rushing back to the hotel. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable and staff were friendly and polite. We couldn't use the pool as it had a stupid policy that said even men have to wear swim caps. We refused to buy swim caps from them as a matter of principle.

Room Tip: The best you can do is get a room that faces the street. There are some rooms looking straight into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMania77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a beautiful, new, comfortable hotel with fine amenities, except it it is in a horrible location. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is large and well-appointed, and the staff is very accommodating. The main restaurant is on the pricey side; the secondary resurant is more akin to a pizzeria. The hotel's location on a street with numerous car repair/mechanic shops, however, leaves something to be desired, and the subway is an uphill walk of about 1/4 mile

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

From the moment i checked in, everything was so perfect. The staff was very helpful, especially MENEKSE at the Reception, PINAR in the Lounge who really helped us with all our requests and IREM (The concierge, very much handsome:), he can really schedule for you a full vacation). Not to forget the bellboy who escorted us to the room was also of excellent knowledge.
I was upgraded to a superior room with an access to the club lounge, since it was my wedding anniversary. The room is quiet spacious and well equipped. The AC was well functioning. I only couldn't use the internet on my mobile although it was free wifi connection all over the place.
The staff was very professional in handling the requests, smiling at all times and really very helpful.
We didn't spend too much time at the hotel, since we were really busy with the shopping at that period and visiting what we could in Istanbul.
The hotel location is great since it is walking distance to Taksim street where you can go for sure on daily basis and spend quite of your time there and its location helps you to go wherever you want.
Talking about Istanbul, i think i still need to spend one more week to do the list i was given from Beirut.It is just amazing. I loved it. We visited lots of places such as Istiklal street, taksim, Princess Island, Grand Bazar, Malls, Dolmabahce, Galata tour, Istanbul Aquarium, Bosfor, Eminonu Bazar, Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia (Amazing) and there are lots of great and clean parks to visit.
For sure Istanbul and Crowne plaza - Harbiye will be my destination for my next vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosyelhachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Harbiye Residence
Harbiye Residence
#482 of 1,175 in Istanbul
115 reviews
Sisli
Ramada Plaza Istanbul City Center
Sisli
Bentley by Molton Hotels
Bentley by Molton Hotels
#786 of 1,175 in Istanbul
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Arts Hotel Istanbul
Arts Hotel Istanbul
#802 of 1,175 in Istanbul
134 reviews
Sisli
The Marmara Sisli
The Marmara Sisli
#344 of 1,175 in Istanbul
316 reviews
Sisli
Holiday Inn Istanbul-Sisli
Holiday Inn Istanbul-Sisli
#333 of 1,175 in Istanbul
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye

Address: Dolapdere Caddesi No.161, Istanbul 34375, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#160 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#290 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $67 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Harbiye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing