We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basileus Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$155
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$506
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$237
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$420
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,881)
Filter reviews
1,881 results
Traveler rating
1,553
295
27
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,553
295
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosqueturkeymade to order omeletsturkish coffeegrand bazaarwithin walking distancehome away from homeminute walkno elevatorold citymajor attractionssmall hotelhagia sophiastreet noiseyogurtairport pickupwonderful city
Filter
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 1,881 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our favorite hotel of our three week Turkey trip. What sets this hotel apart from the competition are the staff -- they will do whatever is necessary to assure your Istanbul experience is a good one. The airlines lost my bag (although not my wife's) and Omar took charge, calling the airlines repeatedly until eventually (4 days later!) my bag arrived at the hotel. Omar mapped out our itinerary and suggested some excellent restaurants. We always felt that we had friends in case we needed assistance or ran into trouble. Our room, although small, had been updated and was quite charming. It also was extremely quiet. The Turkish breakfast downstairs was very good, and there was always some pastry or cake available in the common area. Location was perfect. On our return to Istanbul two weeks later, we stayed in a more expensive hotel in Karaköy so we could experience a different part of the city. Our Basileus Hotel experience was much much better! So many things to see and do in this city. Possibly our favorite was a bus ride to Chora Church, walking along the Theodocian Walls, and then working our way back to Sultanamet on foot through the Fatih District using our iPhone map app (CityMaps2go).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SonoraSteveTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the very friendly and helpful service. Unfortunately there was a heavy rain the night we arrived and we woke up to a strange buzzing noise, which turned out to bd the electric fuses because the ceiling was leaking! Luckily there was a free room on the ground floor so we had to do a quick pack and move at 3.30am. To the manager's credit he was extremely apologetic and did not charge us for our first nights stay.

The location of the hotel is very convenient for all the main sites. Rooms are just average I would say for this price range. I found the beds a bit hard. However, the buffet breakfast is very good, although shame it is served in a windowless basement. They also provide a free tea, coffee and cake trolley to help yourself to which was a nice touch. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Booked this hotel for a weekend trip because the reviews were very good. Indeed the service was quite good. Staff are friendly as are most of the Turkish people we have met in Istanbul. The guy at the reception was so nice and he even spent 15 minutes to help us draft up an itinerary.

Our room however was a little bit run down. There was a stench from the bathroom sewage in the room. It was quite bad but after a few minutes our senses become numb anyway. Our room was small as expected. It faces the inner court where loud music can be heard passed midnight.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk away from the nearest tram stop. Its location is perfect to visit most of the historical places in the old town.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the inner court. Loud music in the night.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Y002Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had almost a full day layover and decided to make the most of it, but to accomplish this we wanted to stay somewhere convenient to the historical sites such as the Blue Mosque. Based on the reviews we decided to give this place a chance and we couldn’t have been happier. The location was great, and the staff was amazing. At one point when we needed a cab to go to Taksim Square (a must see), we were given a ride in their private vehicle!

If we are ever back in Turkey, this will be the first place I look to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was well-situated and within walking distance to the major sites we wanted to see, as well as the tram if you preferred. The lobby was lovely and the rooms were clean and of a good size. As another reviewer stated, this a fine 3 star hotel and its’ location serves it well as a “home base” while out sight-seeing. My biggest issue with this hotel was the recommendation of a Turkish bath provided to us by the staff. I’m not sure why it was recommended (perhaps a commission for the staff?) but the Turkish bath (Tarihi Vezneciler Hamamı) they sent us to was dirty and disgusting. This was our first visit to a hammam and would have been my last, had my friend not persuaded me to try another one. Fortunately, all of our other bath experiences, chosen ahead of time based on places I read reviews on, were lovely. Anyway, I recommend this hotel if you’re looking for a well located room in the Sultanahmet area.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 699jenniferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews