We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I cannot add much more to the previous comments without repeating much of what has been said. A great family run hotel, excellent location, friendly and very informative and with a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

* Nice place .. really it was Amazing
* It was a great experience
* With good service
* Their breakfast was fresh and delicious
* The wifi was available and with wide coverage
* They make residents feel like a family
* Thanx alot Akram , Omer and Nurullah I really appreciated

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Raneem a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This quaint little hotel is run by a family (2 brothers) and it is immaculate, in a great place (close to the Blue Mosque and other important attractions) and the brothers are friendly, extremely helpful, kind and just plain nice!!! I guarantee you will not be disappointed if you stay here!!! As a matter of fact, please do!!!!

Room Tip: our room was sunny in the front on the 3rd floor, so we loved it! Would recommend that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penguinlvr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This family owned and managed hotel is so excellent that I do not have words to explain, All staff including Omar, Ekram, Mehmet and Muhareem are so nice, they remembers names of guest and greets with names every time you enter the hotel and that makes so honored to guests. They provide all necessary information where to go and they actually plan out our trip to all location. I just asked for exchange of currency and when not enough on hand, they actually loaned me the money and I paid back after I got my exchange that made me hounored. Another good part is Tea and coffee available 24 hours not just in room but in reception area including some pastries and cookies. The breakfast service too is very good. so many items to choose from. All staff in brakfast are very good too and give good service.Airport pick was very good too that gave me good comfort for good services. I had made reservation 3 months in advance and they communicated so well and responded every email within few hours. I stayed 4 nights and my next trip wIl be here only. I would highly highly recommend this hotel. it is very conveniently located and It is very clean hotel

Nalin Desai, Los Angeles, California, USA

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nalin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

In mid-January, a friend and I stayed at the Basileus on our first visit to Istanbul.. Conveniently located near the Sultanahment historical district, and close to the Markets, this hotel is perfect for visitors wishing to explore. But more than that, the hotel's proprietors are excellent caretakers of their guests; the attention they provided to our comfort and questions about the city were always superb. Their recommendations for restaurants provided us with many great options, and their ability to anticipate our needs made us feel very much appreciated and welcomed.

The upper floor room we had was clean and very adequate, with enough space, comfortable beds, and a small balcony window, which provided good ventilation. Street noise in this quiet neighborhood was not a problem at all. The complimentary breakfast was very good, with an assortment of meats, cheeses, vegetables, fruits, yoghurt, breads, coffee and tea-- an excellent way to start off a day of exploring the city. Finding our way to the hotel might have been a small problem in out jet-lagged state, but the hotel provided a complimentary shuttle from Attaturk Airport (three nights' lodging requirement), and arranged a very early private transport back to the airport for a very reasonable fee. We also paid cash for our stay, and received a 5% discount on an already reasonable rate.

This hotel is an excellent choice to stay for all of the reasons listed above, but especially for the attention to excellent customer service. I would stay there again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The family that owns the hotel is so friendly and helpful, I cannot say enough! They offered directions, recommendations and even made sure we weren't ripped off by cab drivers. The hotel is close to all of the major sights while being removed from the tourist center just enough! Breakfast is very good and the rooms are more than adequate for the price!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel in the Sultanahmet region of Istanbul then this is the place! Look no further.
This is a family run hotel within walking distance of all the sights.
The rooms are clean, with modern bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, towels, hair dyer, tv, free wifi, fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, complimentary water.
Breakfast is a buffet style with traditional Turkish foods and freshly made omelettes to order too.
The lobby area is decorated beautifully with magazines to read, tea/coffee and home made cake to make you very welcome.
Omar and the rest of the staff are fantastic , very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Your stay will feel like you are staying with friends!
They will help you with advice, maps and will book tickets for the sights if you require and also can organise your airport transfers. In fact they are very generous and if you are flying from Ataturk airport then the hotel will supply a free transfer one way.
Also if all the above is not already enough, pay cash and you will receive a 5% discount on your hotel booking.
I can not recommend this hotel highly enough!!! I will certainly be staying there again!
Loved it!!! This hotel contributed to us having a fabulous time in Istanbul.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and were very happy with this, if you want a room with a view however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suewebb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,160 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,083 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,160 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,160 in Istanbul
930 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,160 in Istanbul
712 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $29 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing