We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing small hotel and fantastic staff”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing small hotel and fantastic staff”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic weekend away in Istanbul with two friends. We shared a triple room on the ground floor. The room was spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, TV and air con and the bathroom had plenty of toiletries, fresh fluffy towels and a lovely power shower and a hairdryer. The room was cleaned daily. The breakfast is buffet style with a variety of sliced meats, cheeses, cereals, fresh and dried fruit, eggs, yogurts, pastries, borek, fruit juices, jams, honey, tea, coffee, fresh bread and freshly made to order omelettes. The breakfast is absolutely delicious and kept us going until well past lunchtime.
The hotel is in a side street just a ten minute stroll from the Blue mosque and The Hippodrome. It has to be the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in. Omar and Ekrem are absolutely amazing. They welcomed us to the hotel with complementary tea and cakes. They supplied us with a map complete with instructions and advice on places to visit and things to see and do and recommendations on local restaurants and bars. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were always on hand to offer advise and assistance and they even arranged our transfers too and from the airport. They really are the kindest and most helpful hosts that I have ever met. I think this hotel is just fabulous and I would highly recommend it. I will definitely be booking a return visit and feel that although I arrived at the hotel a customer I left as a friend.

Room Tip: Book a high floor room if you are a light sleeper as you do tend to hear the traffic on the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceypotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    280
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
410
726
135
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

A wonderful, charming stay in this 21 room family run boutique hotel in the old city of Istanbul, Turkey. Excellent location to walk and shop in the quaint, hilly historic section of Istanbul. Staff were extremely accommodating and made us feel at home and very comfortable in our unfamiliar surroundings. Rooms are small but very clean and up to date, Also, extremely reasonable rates. There breakfast buffet was extraordinary. Fresh breads, fruits, vegetables, Turkish wraps with fresh yogurt, honey & jam toppings. Fresh Omelets made to order. Within walking distance to the hippodrome, The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia. Only regret is we did not give ourselves enough time in this history filled city. Our next stay will be longer at the Basileus Hotel.

Room Tip: Below grade rooms do not have windows and part of the charm is being able to look out your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monroe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I had a 48 hour lay over in Istanbul on our way to India and stayed at the Baseliu. Omar at the front desk made sure we made the most of our limited time and money - take any advice he gives you! It's a lovely hotel on a quiet street, but a short walk uphill and you are in the middle of all the action & sites. Breakfast is hardy with lots of variety and we really appreciated the complimentary afternoon treats. We hope to come back to visit more of Turkey and will definitely stay here when back in Istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauraKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Omar and Ekrem own and run the most charming and hospitable small hotel imaginable. Immaculately clean, perfect location, wonderful staff, outstanding breakfast, and friendly guests from all over the world. Wi-Fi worked perfectly. Corner store with friendly guy who sells good red wine and popcorn 10 feet from the hotel door. We stayed for 8 days and would love to get back on the plane and return tomorrow, if we could. Our highest recommendations to visit beautiful, warm Istanbul and stay at Basileus. We extend our offer for Omar and Ekrem and their cousin, Bunjdrim, to be our Turkish sons.

Room Tip: Ours was a beautiful third-floor corner room. Street noise was not at all a problem. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Wbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have all seen hotels that are excellent when new, but slowly the property wears out and service declines. I just left the Baselius after my third stay in three years and I am glad to see the Baselius keeps improving.

Maintainance and upkeep are not glamorous, but it indicates the owner's commitment to his property. On every trip I see some new paint, upgraded doors and some new pieces of furniture. This trip I noticed fresh wallpaper, improved bedding and increased toiletry selections. Seeing continual improvements over time tells me the owner is not allowing the facility to deteriorate.

However, not everything has changed. Baselius is still operated by the same family with the same warmth and excellent service. This hotel is only getting better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

For those with lodging preferences similar to ours (not high end, culture insulating resorts, but not bottom of the line money shaving adventures) we highly recommend the Basileus Hotel in the Sultanahmet section of Istanbul. The hotel is within walking distance of many major historical landmarks of Istanbul and the easily accessed transit system gets you everywhere else (buy an Istanbul card for lower rates and convenience.) The hotel has the intimate feel of a family run business. The very helpful, friendly staff consistently gave us great, honest advice for things to do, and places to visit and dine, with a reliable balance between touristy and local. Morning breakfasts at the hotel are great and the rooms are cozy. We stayed for a week with no regrets.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so the third floor might be a good balance between effort and street noise. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our twin room was quiet, clean and warm, the beds comfortable . The two charming brothers who run this hotel were endlessly helpful with advice on how to get to places & what to do , drawing on maps & ordering taxis. When we came back footsore from long days exploring , there were freshly made, help- your- self cakes every afternoon with endless teas and coffee, all gratis, in the Foyer. That was SO nice , and hospitable !
The location was great , we had a ball, went every night to the same bargain restaurant 50metres away , recommended by the brothers, Zia Baba.
The breakfast buffet was good and the cooked breakfast of only omelettes , though limited , was actually perfectly delicious, and made to order ( with your choice of cheese, ham, tomato, onion, or peppers ) .
I unreservedly recommend this reasonably priced , well located hotel .
The only one small criticism would be that the low voltage bedside lights were not bright enough to read by but, that's hardly a big deal .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDCEdinburgh_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,149 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
755 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,149 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#12 of 1,149 in Istanbul
887 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,149 in Istanbul
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing