We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Fantastic value! Ekrem and Omar are there to help with anything! Hotel great location walking distance to old city. Rooms have everything wifi, free mini bar, underfloor heating in the bathrooms, crisp white Cotten bedding, just perfect!! The breakfast is amazing so much to choose from, fresh delights and we were offered a beautifully cooked fresh omelet with all the trimmings on top also! I can not rate this place enough amazing value, service n location! We even stayed here twice on our stopovers and we will certainly return and recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HK Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    280
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
412
729
136
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I will not add any other comment on the high quality of this small hotel: the rooms, the cleanliness, the location (4 minutes walking to Blue Mosque)...everything is great! The only thing to improve is about the chats coming from a bar next to the hotel so if your room is on this side of the building maybe you could hear some voices until 12:30 am.
I would only like to outline the atmosphere of Basileus hotel: the staff is really amazing, always smiling and always helpful for every kind of your need! Really, one of the best hotel I have ever stayed. Thanks!

Room Tip: if available, ask for a room not on the side of the building next to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trioev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This charming little hotel in the heart of Sultanehmet excels in every important aspect of hospitality. Service is warm and impeccable. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is large and varied, with a spread of breads, cheeses, fruits, and even a made to order omelet. If your departure flight falls before the 8am breakfast starting time, they will accommodate and provide a smaller continental breakfast to make sure you don't leave hungry. Location is ideal, with a 7 minute walk to the Blue Mosque. They even provided a timely and complimentary private airport transfer for stays 3 nights and up. Other little nice touches include free bottled spring water, baked snacks, and tea. It doesn't end there..Omar is one of the brothers who helps to operate the business and he exemplified what hospitality should be. We were warmly greeted every time we went in or out of the hotel and he answered every little question we had. He makes you feel like old friends.

This was easily the most well rounded hotel we've had the pleasure of staying in Europe.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank aphroditehalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked directly with the hotel and both Omar and Ekrem were extremely helpful before we even set our foot on Istanbul, they answered every Email I sent within 24hours. we were first booked into the basement room but Ekrem was so nice to switch us to the third floor unit with 3 balconies. The hotel amenities are top notch, room is spotless & has everything we need, nice firm comfy bed with 3 balconies to look outside. The mini fridge & kettle are indispensable, as are the lovely afternoon cookies and cakes to hold us over until dinner. All these added to our enjoyment at this amazing city! Location is perfect, close to all major attractions. If I ever visit istanbul again, I would definitely stay at Basileus hotel! Thank you!

Room Tip: Third floor room is best with 3 balconies, good wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glo4ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herákleion, Iraklion, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This family run hotel is one of the best choises in Istanbul. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully furnished and perfectly clean. The owners are the most kind and helpful people , they did everything possible to provide us the best information about the city and we had amazing time in Istanbul. I will definetely visit it again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosi_Crete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Visited Istanbul for a 3 day stay to run the marathon and see the sights in a new
country for me having never visited Turkey.
Booked direct with the hotel and the free taxi from the airport was great and an
insight into this bustling energetic city-the journey was memorable !
Upon arriving at the hotel the owners greeted me like I was a returning friend and
their welcome and friendliness was very satisfying.
This friendliness continued for the whole time I was here and all the people on the
reception desk were very helpful in any matter including advice on travelling on the
trams and metros in what can be a slightly overwhelming city.
My 3 day stay meant I only scratched the surface of this vast city so will be going
back for sure and I would not consider looking for anywhere else to stay.
My room was fantastic for the price-big double bed, spotless bathroom, free safe,
free non-alcoholic minibar/fridge, air-con etc etc etc.
The included breakfast was great too, including 6am breakfast on the day of the
marathon for all the runners.
My room was cleaned every day and all towels changed daily and minibar/fridge
topped up too, the whole hotel is spotlessly clean.
There was a kettle with teas/coffee both in my room and in the reception/lobby
area with free cakes and biscuits.
However, what makes this hotel stand out is the personal attention and service
from all members of staff-they make your stay so comfortable and relaxing.
I have been lucky to travel to many places around the world but my time here
truly was memorable and I give my sincere thanks to everyone at Basileus hotel.
Will be back one day-in the meantime best wishes to you all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is superbly located in Sultanemet 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and many, many other attractions. The hotel was excellent, rooms very well equipped, comfortable, spaceous and elegant. The smorgasboard breakfasts were delicious with an extensive choice of foods. The hotel staff were extremely helpfull at all times, going out of their way to assist in any way possible, generous with their time and sharing their extensive local knowledge. The immediate area surrounding
the hotel was very pleasant for walks, dining, etc.

Room Tip: rooms high up or facing the courtyard are probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markhal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,154 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,154 in Istanbul
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#12 of 1,154 in Istanbul
901 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,154 in Istanbul
710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#151 of 1,154 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing