We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back “Home” in the same year! Almost felt like a college student going back home on a school break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back “Home” in the same year! Almost felt like a college student going back home on a school break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had the pleasure to go to Istanbul in April with my husband and another couple. We stayed at the Basileus Hotel. I went back in October with a group of friends and of course we wanted to feel like being at home so we stayed at the Basileus again. It is a very nice and cozy hotel, at walking distance from most historic sites in the Sultanahmet district. You can always get on the Tram and the Metro and enjoy the ride. It is a safe place to stay.
They pick you up from the airport, have a clean room with all commodities waiting for you, and if you get there by breakfast time you can also enjoy it. If not, have tea or coffee and fresh desserts which are ready at the coffee table at the entrance.
We loved to sit in the lobby while enjoying these treats and chat, laugh and share our day experiences with our hosts or check our e-mails. Wi-Fi is available at the hotel.
The service is splendid! Everybody is there to help you out, you just have to suggest something and Muharrem, Ekrem, Mustafa, Omer, Nure, and all the rest will try to do their best to guide you around. And if like me, this is your second time, they will treat you as part of their own family.
I still have so much to visit and learn, and yes I will be back, but not alone, a whole part of my family and friends are signing up for next time! Where are we staying? At the Basileus Hotel of course!

Room Tip: I have been on second and third floors, both good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    268
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
361
698
114
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip to Istanbul and 2 nights at the end. Our room was spacious, beds and linen good and bathroom was lovely. There is a lot of traffic around the hotel and noise is a factor if you have your window open. The second floor room we had was street level with cars and people right outside our room. Be specific about your room choice and hope that you get what you ask for as this is a very busy hotel. The staff was wonderful, especially Omer who couldn't do enough for us, even giving us his cold. They have tea and coffee at all times in the lobby and a kettle in the rooms. The staff really makes this hotel special and we hope to return to Hotel Basileus one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baxter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed as a party of 10 at the Basileus Hotel. Location is first rate - close to the main sites - a short walk to the Hippodrome Square and the Blue Mosque. There is a Cash Point machine half way along the Hippodrome on the right hand side. The Hotel staff were extremely helpful and the atmosphere during our 4 day mini-break was totally relaxed. Breakfasts were very good - omelettes and fried eggs provided on request, with a wide range of fruit, cheeses, pastries etc. For those who enjoy an evening beer or wine (the local reds and the malt beers are recommended) there is a small friendly off-licence next to the hotel. As we were staying for 4 nights the hotel arranged free pick up from the airport. There is no lift in the hotel and some of the side roads are steep so would not suit the less mobile traveller. Basileus was liked by all our party who all said they would very happily stay in the hotel again: we all thought Basileus is a truly great little hotel.
.

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable and have small balconies - we stayed in a superior room which had a bath and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyandChris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a small family-run hotel where you are treated like one of the family. Ekram, Omar and their staff are truly concerned that you enjoy your stay in Istanbul and find your way around easily (e.g. they printed off online tickets for the Topkapi Palace for us, thus avoiding the need to queue for tickets at the entrance).
The hardest thing is finding the hotel - even our taxi driver and various locals could not find it even with a printed copy of the address, so make use of a transfer service or be quite sure you know exactly where it is - maybe the best landmark is the SMALL Haghia Sophia mosque which is just downhill on the seaward side of the hotel. Once at the hotel it doesn't take long to find your way around, and the main tourist sites are a 5 minute walk away (up a fairly steep hill). Guide books, tea and afternoon cookies are available in reception. The breakfast room is in the basement and has little natural light; there is a TV there on which they sometimes show a very interesting video about underground Istanbul - it's worth asking to see it.
Good points of our room (304) - quiet without street noise, simple and effective aircon, 2 easy chairs and a footstool, 2 case racks, 3 spare electrical sockets, free safe (although not bolted down), mini bar with soft drinks and free bottled water, kettle, hair dryer, plenty of hot water in the bathroom, room cleaned and towels changed daily.
Not so good points - view is of the building immediately opposite, no big drawers for clothes, one bed headboard displaced to give access to electrical sockets, one loose socket, a few cracked tiles in the bathroom and no English language TV channels - but hey, these things become insignificant in the overall scheme of things.
The owners are to be congratulated on their service - I would love to go back to the Basileus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The young men who own and run this small jewel of a hotel will do anything in their power to make your stay pleasant. The location is wonderful and just a short walk from most of the major attractions in the city. There is no elevator but they carried our bags up for us to the third floor and I think they would have carried us up too if we had asked. Breakfast includes personalized omelets, a variety of other breakfast items and if you are brave enough, Turkish coffee. After breakfast the hosts take the time to help you organize your sight seeing and will print off tickets to some of the major attractions allowing you to avoid the long ticket lines. While there is no food other than breakfast and sweets in the lobby, there is a nice restaurant where we ate a delicious full Turkish dinner with wine for $30 a piece (Cesme).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IraLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 3 days in Istanbul staying at Basileus. They picked us up from the airport, at no extra charge, looked after us really well giving us maps, recommendations for restaurants, sites etc. they really do go the extra mile to give customer satisfaction. The hotel is clean, a little old fashioned but wonderfully positioned for the historical sites. Nothing is too much trouble for them, our advice would be to leave the 5 star international group hotels and try the more personal service offered by the Basileus.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobj217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
372 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked a Superior Level Room with a Queen Bed in the back two floors up (no elevators) at 90 euros for one night post-cruise. As expected, our hotel room was not ready since we arrived hours before the check-in time. The staff offered us breakfast which is provided in the lower level. We left our luggage with the staff and spent the day with friends. When we returned to the hotel in the evening, our luggage was already delivered in our room.

A group of guests were in the lobby/salon enjoying the evening tea, coffee, baklava and cookies. We skipped the snacks and opted for dinner at the Cesme Restaurant located across the street. There is a small grocery store nearby that sold teas (apple, pomegranate), coffees, snacks, nuts, etc next to a baklava shop. The gentleman was very friendly so we went back a second time to purchase additional food items to bring home as souvenirs.

Coffee, tea and water is offered all day (and night) on the ground level past the lobby area next to the stairs. Judging from photos posted earlier this year, a glass door was installed in this section which helps dampen the noise level if guests converse loudly in the salon so that guests in their rooms on the lobby level are not disturbed.

Wifi was fine throughout the hotel. The room was comfy. Our mattress was very hard and may be a problem for some people. The earlier photos of some rooms show beds with mattresses that seemed saggy. We prefer a hard mattress over a saggy one. The faucet over the sink is a bit tricky, if you push too hard, the water pressure is strong and wets your clothing.

If you need a ride to the IST airport, the hotel has a relationship with a shuttle service that has scheduled pickups throughout the day at 5 euros per person.

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and the rooms are clean. The location is in a quiet area downhill from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque. Several smaller mosques are nearby so expect to hear the call to prayer throughout the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dushi-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#12 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#18 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#23 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#36 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing