We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!!”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was in Istanbul for business (conference in Taksim area, a meeting near Lavant and another on the Asian side of Istanbul). The Sultanahmet area is NOT convenient to these areas, but I am VERY happy I stayed at the Basileus Hotel and if I am back in Istanbul, I will stay here again. I chose this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews since I was traveling alone on business in a city I had never visited before. They live up to every single glowing remark. The thing that impressed me the most is that they are sincere. They are not being nice because it is their job-they are really nice caring people. I stayed in a basement room and have no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Any room here is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
404
726
134
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel foe 3 nights on our first visit to Istanbul. We were made very welcome particularly by the brothers who run this hotel - Omar and Ekrem. The advice they gave us on the best way to utilise our itinerary was very helpful. The room we had on the ground floor was very comfortable although there was the occasional annoyance of guests talking loudly outside the room. The breakfast staff were accommodating and the breakfast variety was very good. The hotel is very clean and very convenient to all the major attractions. We would definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardentaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My son and I recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be close to everything we wanted to see and do in Istanbul. The room was well appointed and comfortable for our needs. The staff were very friendly and most helpful with advice and meeting our need to arrange entry tickets and a tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one day after reading feedback on Trip advisor and did mot regret. Definitely the best choice in the area. Friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. They helped me to arrange taxi for a reasonable price so that I was not fooled by local taxi drivers. Delicious breakfast. Tea and coffee available in the lobby 24\7'. Perfect location, 2 min walk from Sultanahmet and Ayasofia. Worth every penny. Will be staying there every time I am in Istanbul. Good for couples w/o children.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurlan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights recently and really loved it! It is family run business situated in the heart of the old town, right near the Blue Mosque and walking distance from all the main attractions. The staff were extremely helpful and enthusiastic, giving us great recommendations and nothing was ever to much trouble! The whole hotel was spotless and the daily breakfast was amazing, with so much choice to suit everyones tastes. They also left out home made cakes, biscuits and drinks every afternoon and bottled water was free of charge to every guest. We couldn't fault our stay, this hotel comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights before the beginning of a tour, and it was half the price of the tour hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. They helped with transportation arrangements and made excellent restaurant recommendations. Very clean hotel with little extras like brownies in the afternoon. Delicious cook to order omelets at breakfast. Only cautionary notes: there are some mild grades to navigate, and there is street noise. Both of these are probably true for most hotels in the Sultanahmet area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJBruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent one night at Basileus hotel after reading all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. I was really impressed by the friendliness of the staff. As another review put it: ''they are genuinely interested in helping you..''. Yes they are and I applaud them for that.
The room was clean, very decent and the hotel location is great for sightseeing. 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, what more can you ask?
Keep up the good service Basileus team and the reviews will keep pouring in !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitrios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#24 of 1,141 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing