We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent one night at Basileus hotel after reading all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. I was really impressed by the friendliness of the staff. As another review put it: ''they are genuinely interested in helping you..''. Yes they are and I applaud them for that.
The room was clean, very decent and the hotel location is great for sightseeing. 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, what more can you ask?
Keep up the good service Basileus team and the reviews will keep pouring in !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitrios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
398
722
132
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

In the Sultanhamet area that is heavily populated with smaller 3 star hotels, the Basileus deserves special mention. The friendliness and service provided by the reception staff are what set this hotel apart. They are genuinely interested in helping you with itinerary, flights, restaurant recommendations, whatever you need. When they call a taxi for you, they will always check to make sure the driver has the correct address and make sure that you are quoted a fair price for the trip. One night we got back around midnight and there had been a problem with the hotel power supply. All the lights were off and the staff was so helpful in providing lamps and candles until the problem was fixed. Instead of this being a negative, in our minds it was a positive because it showed us how concerned they were for their guests' comfort.

The hotel is within walking distance to all the major attractions Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc. Easy walking distance to the Galata Bridge and also the tram stop in Sultanhanmet.

A special shout out to Omar at the front desk who is the man who never sleeps :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up where the street noise is not as loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJT155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited Istanbul during the summer of 2012 and we stayed at Basileus Hotel. I heavily rely on Tripadvisor reviews when booking a trip, so it's time to contribute some as well. We traveled with two parents, four kids (19, 17, 15 and 10). The rooms were clean. We had two rooms on different floors. They apologized for lack of adjoining room; we did not care. As other reviewers commented, Yusef provides a very detailed talk when you arrive; I guess, we got to know him and I figured that it wouldn't kill us to sit there 10 minutes. It's not a sales pitch. I truly think it's done out of helpfulness and it made us comfortable to ask about stuff. Breakfast is good and they provide made to order omellete for everyone. They have a couple tables with food. I can't compare to other hotels if it's more or less. It was acceptable to me. If you want to go to a local hamam, Yusef will describe them all. We asked for very authentic, and it sure was for the guys. For the women, it was just a soapy bath on a marble slab, but due to a complete language barrier and the oddity of it all, we had a very good time. Yusef will give a deal if you call. He'll keep his promise. Everything was a bit casual in that regard. Also transportation was quite casual. No one greeted us with a sign and it took several phone calls to have someone say they were our driver (in addition to several other offers). I believe that the motel uses an agency or taxi for transport, so it's more the agency's issues than the motel. Yusef allowed us to sit on the rooftop (no permit for breakfast yet), and we loved hanging out the last hour of the day while drinking a beer from one of the grocery stores. As some people commented, there is a weird window between the bathroom and the bedroom. The kids (boys and girls) complained. Beyond that just weird. It's quite a walk uphill to the sights. Probably one steep hill that takes 2-3 minutes. The entire walk (depending on which sight) is maybe 10 minutes. The good news is that the end of the day when tired it's downhill. The restaurant across the street is nice. The meatball place on the tourist trap street is not so great, contrary to all the reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinnecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staying at the Basileus is like staying with family. From the cozy lobby to the bountiful breakfast buffet with made-to-order omelets, everything feels just right. Ekrem at the desk will tell you where to go, how to get there, and give you a few tips on enjoying your stay. The rooms are smallish but immaculate. The entire staff treats you like old friends and the location simply cannot be beat. Just up the hill to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofya. We will definitely stay here again. Say hi to Ekrem for us!

Room Tip: It's three stories and no elevator. Ask for a first or second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel has excellent service! the room is nice and clean and of good size. The family run hotel has very helpful staff.Hotel is walking distance from all main sites in Sultanahmet. We were given one way free transfer as we stayed for 4 nights in the hotel. Breakfast was the best throughout our holiday. There was a very large selection of food to choose from. Also fresh omelettes were prepared to our preferences daily. the receptionist was always willing to help. There was free bottled water offered in the hotel, as well as tea and coffee facilities. We also enjoyed the Istanbul feature which was shown during breakfast. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninique300612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. Our room is extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean, with an excellent selection of bathroom products supplied. The buffet breakfast is awesome! Free wifi is very much appreciated too..

Location is great, within easy walking distance of Istanbul's main historical sights, Grand Bazaar etc, and there is an abundance of cafes and restaurants close by. It's the people who make a place though, and what really makes this hotel special is the wonderfully friendly, charming and efficient service from Omar, Ekrem and the staff. They couldn't be kinder and more helpful, and go out of their way to offer assistance, advice and generally make you feel totally at home.

We're definitely looking forward to coming back to this hotel in a few weeks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I loved, loved ,loved this hotel! It is located right in the Sultanamet, within walking distance of the Aya Sofia/ Blue mosque and Topaki palace. The staff is amazing! The hotel is well appointed, very comfortable, but the staff is phenomenal! They are the reason to stay here. Omar and his many cousins will give you excellent tips on where to go, where to eat, what to see. I would stay here again without a doubt. I was so lovely to be in a big city and have such personalized service. An excellent choice!

Room Tip: some rooms have nice balconies you may want one of those
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank light56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing