We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basileus and Istanbul review”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Basileus and Istanbul review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited Istanbul during the summer of 2012 and we stayed at Basileus Hotel. I heavily rely on Tripadvisor reviews when booking a trip, so it's time to contribute some as well. We traveled with two parents, four kids (19, 17, 15 and 10). The rooms were clean. We had two rooms on different floors. They apologized for lack of adjoining room; we did not care. As other reviewers commented, Yusef provides a very detailed talk when you arrive; I guess, we got to know him and I figured that it wouldn't kill us to sit there 10 minutes. It's not a sales pitch. I truly think it's done out of helpfulness and it made us comfortable to ask about stuff. Breakfast is good and they provide made to order omellete for everyone. They have a couple tables with food. I can't compare to other hotels if it's more or less. It was acceptable to me. If you want to go to a local hamam, Yusef will describe them all. We asked for very authentic, and it sure was for the guys. For the women, it was just a soapy bath on a marble slab, but due to a complete language barrier and the oddity of it all, we had a very good time. Yusef will give a deal if you call. He'll keep his promise. Everything was a bit casual in that regard. Also transportation was quite casual. No one greeted us with a sign and it took several phone calls to have someone say they were our driver (in addition to several other offers). I believe that the motel uses an agency or taxi for transport, so it's more the agency's issues than the motel. Yusef allowed us to sit on the rooftop (no permit for breakfast yet), and we loved hanging out the last hour of the day while drinking a beer from one of the grocery stores. As some people commented, there is a weird window between the bathroom and the bedroom. The kids (boys and girls) complained. Beyond that just weird. It's quite a walk uphill to the sights. Probably one steep hill that takes 2-3 minutes. The entire walk (depending on which sight) is maybe 10 minutes. The good news is that the end of the day when tired it's downhill. The restaurant across the street is nice. The meatball place on the tourist trap street is not so great, contrary to all the reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinnecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
398
722
132
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staying at the Basileus is like staying with family. From the cozy lobby to the bountiful breakfast buffet with made-to-order omelets, everything feels just right. Ekrem at the desk will tell you where to go, how to get there, and give you a few tips on enjoying your stay. The rooms are smallish but immaculate. The entire staff treats you like old friends and the location simply cannot be beat. Just up the hill to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofya. We will definitely stay here again. Say hi to Ekrem for us!

Room Tip: It's three stories and no elevator. Ask for a first or second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel has excellent service! the room is nice and clean and of good size. The family run hotel has very helpful staff.Hotel is walking distance from all main sites in Sultanahmet. We were given one way free transfer as we stayed for 4 nights in the hotel. Breakfast was the best throughout our holiday. There was a very large selection of food to choose from. Also fresh omelettes were prepared to our preferences daily. the receptionist was always willing to help. There was free bottled water offered in the hotel, as well as tea and coffee facilities. We also enjoyed the Istanbul feature which was shown during breakfast. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninique300612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. Our room is extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean, with an excellent selection of bathroom products supplied. The buffet breakfast is awesome! Free wifi is very much appreciated too..

Location is great, within easy walking distance of Istanbul's main historical sights, Grand Bazaar etc, and there is an abundance of cafes and restaurants close by. It's the people who make a place though, and what really makes this hotel special is the wonderfully friendly, charming and efficient service from Omar, Ekrem and the staff. They couldn't be kinder and more helpful, and go out of their way to offer assistance, advice and generally make you feel totally at home.

We're definitely looking forward to coming back to this hotel in a few weeks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I loved, loved ,loved this hotel! It is located right in the Sultanamet, within walking distance of the Aya Sofia/ Blue mosque and Topaki palace. The staff is amazing! The hotel is well appointed, very comfortable, but the staff is phenomenal! They are the reason to stay here. Omar and his many cousins will give you excellent tips on where to go, where to eat, what to see. I would stay here again without a doubt. I was so lovely to be in a big city and have such personalized service. An excellent choice!

Room Tip: some rooms have nice balconies you may want one of those
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank light56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed in the Basileus five times now and will be back there again very soon. There really is nowhere else I would rather go to for a relaxing, fun weekend. It is a simple three star hotel, but the attention to detail paid by the staff is really faultless. Other reviewers have noted that there was a problem with street noise and the management took note of this and have started replacing the windows with triple-glazing, which is a vast improvement, as well as putting in noise-reducing doors to make the ground floor rooms sound-isolated from the lounge foyer. Since I started visiting this hotel three years ago the breakfast room has doubled in size, the foyer lounge has been redecorated most beautifully, and afternoon tea and cakes have appeared to feast on. It is a shame that the brilliant front-desk-man Yusuf has moved on to another hotel, but Ekrem and Omer have more than taken over this role brilliantly, being incredibly knowledgeable, friendly, flexible, kind and great fun to talk to. They also speak great English, which is pretty useful as Turkish must be one of the hardest languages on the planet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wavycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. We stayed on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. It is in a great location.. close to all of the major sights. The hosts are delightful.. so so so helpful. They helped us make reservations, called places and helped us sort our taxi to the next place we moved to. The hotel was fine. Clean rooms, free wi-fi and a fabulous breakfast. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeds L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing