We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #26 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went there for a long weekend in Istanbul with some girlfriends of mine to celebrate 3 birthdays at once!
The pick-up from the airport went very smoothly and we had a very nice welcome as we arrived (think tea/water/cakes and comfy sofas). The service was very good, the staff knowledgeable and extremely helpful.
Morning breakfast was diverse (quite basic but enough to cater for most taste) with any omelette you want at no extra charge.
The hotel is very well placed to visit the historical quarter (about 5mn walk from the blue mosque), although it is true if you want to visit the asian side you will probably want to use either public transport or taxis.
The main thing I would like to insist on though is how much the staff want to help you (providing maps and even giving you a mini-guiding tour on it) without being overbearing. They gave us our first (and very very good) impression of Turkish hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,762)
There are newer reviews for Basileus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

What can I say!! The basileus hotel is everything that you could possibly expect from reading the reviews! If you want service that is phenomenal than stay here! From saving me from locals, to organizing bus tickets, airport transfers, assisting with posting items home or just a chat these guys are more than willing to help! I can't begin to explain my heart felt appreciation for everything these guys did for me whilst traveling on my own! You guys helped me create some amazing memories and I will be raving about you guys to everyone I know! If you want a reasonably priced hotel in old Istanbul that is CLEAN this is the place to be!! Thank you to each and everyone one of you for all your help!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giegie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

the service was brilliant. the food very good. they lovely cakes at the reception in the afternoon. I had an excellent time there with my friends. the airport transfer was well organised. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caps186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our new and now very dear friends at the Basileus Hotel made our first trip to Istanbul both memorable and comfortable. We could not have asked for better service or accommodations. The staff is fantastic, and provides the best possible welcome to one of the most interesting places in the world. The sites of Istanbul combined with the staff at Basileus make for a "can't miss " experience. Location and rooms are hard to surpass. Breakfast is something to savor. We will definitely stay again upon our return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Basileus hotel for 7 nights last 18-25 May, and must say that our stay was this hotel was nothing short of perfect. Ekrem, Yusuf, and the team made our Istanbul experience a wonderful one.

The hotel is located just a few minutes walk to the Hippodrome, Ayasofya, Blue Mosque, and the Basilica Cistern. Further down are the Topkapi Palace, Archeological Museum, and the lovely lovely Gulhane Park. If you enjoy walking, as me and my fiance did, then the touristy parts are very accesible.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and by the street. The noise from the narrow street (passing trucks and cars) was not distracting at all, I have read some reviews and they have preferred staying at the rooms away from the street. The room was very spaceous and comfortable, bathroom in tiptop condition. Breakfast at the basement was plentiful and always a good start to a long day of walking and sight seeing.

All in all, the Basileus hotel was a major bonus in our Istanbul trip, it was such a good place to go back to at the end of the day. They'll even have cakes, coffee, or tea waiting at the lobby when guests come back. A must stay when in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loi_r12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The Basileus Hotel was our home away from home on our 3 week trip to Turkey. We started and ended our trip there and we felt very welcomed and comfortable there. Omar & Ekrem are so friendly & helpful. The cleaning staff do a great job. Breakfast unfortunately is in the basement but plentiful and tasty. The free airport transfer is a great bonus. The rooms are nicely decorated & comfortable. There is street noise but you are on Istanbul!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found this hotel to be a very good choice because of the location, and very accommodating staff. They were very quick to respond to all my questions via email before our arrival and they even arranged our airport pickup. We walked for five minutes and we were in the old city where many of the attractions are located. The rooms seemed new because the hotel has only been converted to a hotel for about three years. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. There is even tea in the afternoon served with some Turkish delicacies. The staff tried to help us with everything... what to see, where to eat, how to get to the airport This is a very friendly staff and we could not have felt more welcomed and looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,159 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,159 in Istanbul
918 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#152 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $35 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing