We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basileus Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$107
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$125
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Eresin Hotels Topkapi(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$77
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$619
$448
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,867)
Filter reviews
1,867 results
Traveler rating
1,540
294
27
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,540
294
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosqueturkeymade to order omeletsturkish coffeegrand bazaarwithin walking distancehome away from homeminute walkno elevatorold citymajor attractionssmall hotelhagia sophiastreet noiseyogurtairport pickupwonderful city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
908 - 913 of 1,867 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Basileus for three nights based on the excellent trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Our triple room was spacious with comfortable beds and spotlessly clean. Excellent buffet breakfast and sometimes there are even cakes in the lobby during the day. The staff could not have been more helpful. From waiting at the airport when our flight was an hour and a half late through to preparing a breakfast plate at 6am for our early departure. The hotel is well situated for all the major attractions in the Sultanahamet . The tram system is cheap and easy to use. The Basileus thoroughly deserve their traveller's choice award!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashmorayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are so glad we picked this place. We stayed three nights in all- one after landing in Istanbul and 2 nights after returning from our 8 day trip of other parts of Turkey. We got upgraded to a lovely room on the 1st floor for the first night and a spacious room on the ground floor for the other two nights. The rooms and bathrooms were comfortable and clean and the wi-fi was great in both rooms. The food was yum and we looked forward to breakfast every day!

The location is ideal and everything in Sultanahmet is literally 5-10 minutes away.

Ekrem and team were such good and gracious hosts! They gave us great and helpful advice on Istanbul, recommended great places to eat. It was a true pleasure to meet such nice warm people. It is people like them that make us want to go back to Turkey and we will definitely do so and stay at the Basileus again :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the Basileus twice last September, for four nights each time. The second time round we had not intended to stay there at all but were so charmed by the hotel and its staff that we cancelled our reservation elsewhere and begged the Basileus to find space for us. With a lot of juggling, they managed! As indeed they managed to do everything else we requested. This is not a luxury hotel by any means - but very, very nice, and very well located.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ekrem & Omar, the guys who run this hotel make it a truly outstanding experience. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they really go out of their way to ensure you have a great experience of Istanbul. They provide the sort of service you used to get from the concierge at a 5* hotel! Oh, and the location is great, just a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, the rooms are smallish but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. We were recommended by someone and will definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Snailys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

i loved this hotel. we stayed there for 5 days. absolutely perfect great breakfeast, very kind staff especially Mr. Omar he was always trying his best. Basileus hotel located wery well becouse all old monuments 5 min. walk, waterfront 2 min. walk restaurants 5 min. walk, by the way there is one restaurant just opposite and they have package service to your room. deffinetly recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: room 303 its also has small balcony for smokers loved it
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter Mason t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews