We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star service”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5-star service”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

OK, I admit it, I am a bit fussy about my accommodation when travelling, i.e. I’m no backpacker, and as such would not normally consider a 3-star hotel, add to this that I was looking to book a hotel on behalf of my parents, and later their friends, I was even more apprehensive. However, the number of good reviews convinced me and as usual Trip Advisor didn’t let me down. From a booking prospective, I had problems with the online booking system so resorted to emailing but I think this was better as all my emails were responded to quickly and helpfully giving me complete confidence that this hotel was as good as the reviews said it was.

The following are my parents’ comments:

Ataturk airport was not a good start to the break with huge queues for visas and passport control followed by searching for the luggage which all took two hours but our, (free), airport pick-up offered by the hotel was still there waiting for us.

The hotel is located in the older part of the city and as such the surrounding area is a little run down but it’s in an ideal position for all of the touristy bits, i.e. Blue Mosque etc. so this should not put you off.

We stayed in a superior room which was a good size with a king-size bed, plenty of storage, (and coat hangers), two arm chairs, TV, tea making facilities and a free safe. Only one minor comment, the lighting by the armchairs needed to be a little better for reading. The bathroom was a good size with bath, over-bath shower, single basin etc. and shaver point. Bedding, towels and soaps were all changed daily.

Breakfasts were varied and good quality with a large selection of yoghurt, fruit, cereals, fresh bread etc. and omelettes cooked to order.

If we’re scoring points, extra would have to be given for the little details, i.e. hot drinks & cold water available in the lounge at all times, cakes served with tea in the afternoon and coffee when returning after a night out, all at no extra charge.

Nothing was too much trouble for Yusuf and Ekrem, from recommending & booking a private tour guide for the day, (not cheap but well worth it as this bypassed all queues and showed things that would probably have been missed in a group tour); arranging taxis and advising what the maximum fares should be, (be warned, some taxi drivers wanted 60TL for a journey we had been told to pay no more than 15TL for), and advising on places to eat. Finally, although there was a PC for guests use, probably recognising that we were not big PC users, they even did the online check-in for our return flights without being asked.

All in all, we had a wonderful, if not tiring, 4½ days in Istanbul which was made even more memorable by the Basileus Hotel. If Istanbul is on your list of places to visit then this is the place to stay; 5-star service at 3-star prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    280
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
411
726
135
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value. A pleasant hotel, within easy walking distance of the main sights, with some good restaurants nearby. Book through the hotel's own website and get a free airport transfer on visits of three days or more. There is a reduction for paying in cash (euros). Very friendly staff who go out of their way to help. There are tea, coffee and cake available in the lobby at all times of the day. Rooms are well equipped but vary in size. However ours was huge.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Basileus for 5 nights. When we arrived we were given a free room upgrade to a superior room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were given a map and recommendations on places to visit.

The room had a comfortable bed and there was plenty of space to store your items. There was also a free mini bar. Room was serviced everyday with fresh sheets and towels. I liked how they gave us two bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash each time.

The breakfast offered a variety of foods from cold meats, cereal, bread, fruit, vegetables and biscuits/cakes. There was also a variety of juices. Omelettes were made upon request.

On our last night we were moved back into the room that we originally paid for - economy room. There was no major difference except for no headboard on the bed or no luggage rack. The room was still very comfortable.

Staff were also very helpful in letting us print our boarding passes for the flight out of Istanbul.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank d-eilatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweed coast
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel gets 5 stars for everything - cleanliness, service, position, friendliness etc.
We could not have been happier. While we have read that some travellers found the service too much, we felt it was just wonderful. Nothing was too much effort. Ekrem and Usef were able to solve any problems that arose with a smile. Thank you.
The room was serviced everyday - sheets and towels changed, soaps renewed.
Breakfast was varied and plentiful.

The location of the hotel was excellent; within walking distance to all the major sites. Each afternoon, an afternoon tea was provided in reception free of charge. This kind of service is not forthcoming at large hotels.
We would have no hesitation recommending the Basileus to all travellers.

Room Tip: Book early or you will miss out. This is a very popular hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We couldn't fault this hotel. It was one of the cleanest, most comfortable and friendliest hotels we have experienced. Yusuf and Ekrem go out of their way to make all their visitors feel welcome.
Yusuf patiently and competently provided us with invaluable information about what to see, how to get there and provided honest appraisals of where to eat locally. Tea and coffee were always available and free as well as a selection of delectable cakes in the afternoons. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and freshly made omelettes cooked to order. It was a haven to retire to at the end of a long day of sightseeing and we would wholeheartedly recommend the Basileus to anyone staying in Istanbul.

Room Tip: We had rooms on 2nd floor, which were excellent. Perhaps the ones at the back were quieter, but we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 460val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a darling Boutique Hotel. Being there made our visit all the more memorable, as the location, decor, wonderful breakfast, and most importantly, the deeply sincere assistance of Yusuf and Ekrem were far beyond my expectations. If I return, this hotel will be my #1 choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just left after 3 night's and cannot say enough about this hotel. Book it early as it's fantastic reviews ensure it books out early. We arrived at 7am and they took us to the hotel breakfast and played a history dvd on Istanbul. The breakfasts is amazing. They have the normal cereal and omelettes but for the impressive selection of local sweets will stay with me for every long time.They offer the sweets to ensure you are tasting the true turkey. The rooms are fine but it is the service, food,location and extras that make this hotel unbeatable after a long day of sight seeing you come back to freshly baked cookies and tea. Free mini bar,restaurant recommendations this hotel unbeatable in service. We are looking forward to spending our last night in Turkey here as so far nothing can match this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,150 in Istanbul
822 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,150 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,150 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,150 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,150 in Istanbul
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing