We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the line” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top of the line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

You start with the Management (Yusuf and Ekrem). From the start they treated you like family and you knew you can trust any and all advice. After the maps and advice and wisdom they give you as soon as you arrive it just gets better everyday. The hotel is clean and neat and well maintained. They change all the towels every day because as they told us they do want any customer to ever complain. The location is great, 5 to 10 minute walk and you are at the Blue Mosque. Breakfast is a buffet that has everthing and you can order an omelet in addition. What more can one ask for. Clean, resposive management, location, large rooms, great breakfast at a good price

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arlhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    278
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
394
718
131
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been from 24th April 2013 with 11 friends of mine (all women) for 4 nights.
Before going there we had been in contact with the hotel that helped us longtime booking our rooms and changing dates etc because we had flight problems.
the rooms are comfortable and clean, as the same regarding bathrooms and breakfast room.
The breakfast is good and we felt like in our home.
the entrance has a nice living room where you can relax.
The team helped us in any detail during our holiday, they suggested us good restaurants, how much to pay taxis, etc etc etc and moreover they took much care of us like in a nice family every day and every time of our staying.
Even I have been in 4 and 5 stars hotels, I liked Basileus hotel because their team is very kind, helpfull and always at our disposal.
We felt very well and relaxed there, and even it is not a luxury hotel.
So, I wish to that family that manages an hotel in a so nice way the best for their future.
marilena Andina- Milan (Italy)

Room Tip: Rooms from the first floor and upper rooms are nicest because the view from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarileMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with two friends on a short break in April this year and would highly recommend it. The hotel arranged a pick-up from the airport which was much appreciated as I arrived quite late at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful, providing us with lots of valuable tourist information and arranging on line check in for out return flight. The accommodation was high standard and a good breakfast was provided which was included in the price. The location of the hotel was ideal with only a few minutes walk to the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was lovely. We had a complete orientation of the city and was provided with maps of Istanbul and the places to see.
Breakfast was great.
The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was a very nice size

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
409 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I was taken with the value for money. With a faultless location close to sights i paid €75/€95 for the more modest rooms. Free airport pickup (faultless) as staying at least three night and 5% off for cash.

I thought rooms were well appointed and maintained, upmarket for price. Breakfast superb, massive spread. To-order eggs great.

If you are a light sleeper some road noise may bother however it tames down at night.

I leave the best until last. The staff - all unbelievable. So helpful, constantly helping guests with city info, bookings, printing boarding passes from free Internet. At 2am one morning someone happily came to my room to deliver the (free) Wi-Fi password!

Thank you so much guys you deserve success.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynCarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here on our first time in Istanbul (and hopefully, will do again!) Yusuf, Ekrem and the rest of their team were incredibly helpful and hospitable. They were more than willing to assist with our queries and made sure to highlight points of interest on a map for first-time visitors - even helped us order in pizza when we were too tired to eat out after a full day. Also, when any problems arose with the room (bad wifi signal, only hot water...) they made sure to have the issue fixed immediately.

The room, while being Economy, was more than adequate - always kept clean, very comfortable and a good size, with a nice minibar stocked up every day. Breakfast was the same selection everyday, but with enough variety and the option for a lovely omelette. Note that the omelettes usually have to be asked for, and the rest of the breakfast choices are given as a buffet.

The team really did go beyond expectations when it came to helping us out with our, admittedly, strange choices for first-time sights (Hannibal Barca's Grave and doing a Gallipoli/Troy tour with Eyewitness Travel). This isn't a five-star luxury hotel, but with the amazing service we received, it might as well be! It really was a pleasure staying here and, as said earlier, we look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are at Hotel Baselius as I pen this review and I must say that this is possibly the only hotel we have experienced so far in our travels world over which gives 7 star (or even more !) personal attention. Some readers may feel that we have not travelled enough, but then this is our genuine heartfelt experience.

Yousuf is an amazing host alongwith Ekrem (the owner's son) and no question or request is left un-attended or un-answered. Moreover their suggestions for shopping, sightseeing are without any pecuniary benefits to themselves or the hotel. This is indeed an extremely rare quality in our modern commercial times. The painstaking detailed outlining of any visit route which they chart out for each and every guest is outstanding. One never feels lost for directions at all - be it shopping, sightseeing, money changing, tram routes.

The owner was kind enough to personally accompany us this morning to guide us with our shopping for carpets/kilms, shoes and few silver trinkets. Considering his age we are indeed grateful for this personalised attention and wish to thank him once again ! Thank you Mr. Mustafa ! You have sown the seeds of a great tradition and other so called 5 star hotels have a lot to imbibe from Baselius.

Yousuf in particular is always willing to attend to any and every query and with an ever smiling composure. Perhaps some hotel management institutes will do themselves and their students great service by sending their students on internship to Hotel Baselius - there is indeed a lot to learn from the Baselius experience.

This is NOT a five star hotel - the breakfast is basic but adequate, the rooms clean and housekeeping good, but Hotel Baselius outshines all others in it's personalised attention which makes one feel at home.

This is our second visit to Istanbul in the last 2 years and we can really feel the difference compared to our previous stay at Hotel Ayasofya (just a stone's throw away).

For all visitors to Istanbul (including repeat visitors like ourselves) who want excellent value for money and require exact precise guidance, there is no other place than Hotel Baselius !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveldocMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#37 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing