We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just come back to the UK from a 4-night stay at the Basileus Hotel. This was my first time in Istanbul and I hope to be back soon. I will definitely stay at Basileus again as the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was super clean, the location perfect (a two minute walk from the Blue Mosque!) and the overall ambience was relaxed and chilled out.

I am a 25 yo male who was travelling alone for only the second time, and thanks to the great service provided by the Basileus I felt very comfortable and right at home. I am sure I will be back soon!

Room Tip: Was on the ground floor and thought the room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomsmithleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    278
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
394
718
131
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My father (66) and I (37) had 4 nights in Istanbul in December 2012. The service at this hotel is truly world class. Yusuf and the team are informative, approachable, friendly and did't push the extra services where they can "clip the ticket". We were at ease from the moment we arrived and Yusuf sat down with us and helped plan our independent itinerary over the coming days. He has extensive knowledge of Istanbul and pointed us in the way of the highlights of the city.

We cannot speak highly enough of the hospitality of all staff employed there. I have traveled extensively and this would rank up there with the best for price I've stayed. We booked this hotel from the strength of the ratings on Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint. There's a few negative comments on here about a step incline to reach the Hippodrome which are absolute nonsense, unless the people that reviewed were about 180kg's it's a breeze.

Did I mention Istanbul was fantastic too!!

Lee & Ron

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EEL558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

my wife and i stay 4 nights at this hotel when we were in istanbul. the hotel locates in the heart of the city, you can find most of the tourist attractions by foot. furthemore you could taste the turkisch dish in the side-street near the hotel.
that looks like a family-hotel, all of them i met are very friendly and helpful. in terms of the manager(?) Yusuf, he told us most of the detail about this city while we just arrived. we really appriacte what he and his colleage had done.
the room and the breakfast are ok.
pay attention on the sound from the blue mosque every morning( about 5:30am), because of this i dont need the morningcall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melodysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We decided to book this hotel after careful research on the Internet and T.A. We were not disappointed. Being hoteliers ourselves we know when it's done we'll or not and this place is done very well.
We went with my mother who was celebrating her 80th birthday, and the guys made a real fuss of her and made Er feel special. We had really personal and considerate welcome talk, which gave us all the information we needed to explore te joys of the city.
The location is brilliant , nestled just below the ruins of the old Hippodrome, you can easily walk to many of the tourist hotspots.
Rooms were spotless and elegant t, try and get a corner one on the front if you can as they have so much light and good views.
Breakfast is an absolute feast, with everything you could wish for. You must try an omelette , really delicious.
I highly recommend this place , it's beautifully run by beautiful people who take the time to care. I will certainly go back. I wish them all success. I was really sad to leave. , and mum too .
Thanks guys. X
Stevie and Leigh . Delovelyhotel.co.uk

Room Tip: The corner front rooms have a window on each side , so tons of light and light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel was basic, clean and in a great location. Very easy to walk to the various points of interest in the 'old' area. The staff at the hotel are all very lovely and very friendly. They're happy to point out good places to eat according to your budget.

The only downside was the breakfast - I found the omlette very oily. There was however a good selection of cold food.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Basileus is in a area of a hundred small hotels, all within walking distance of the main sites in old town. Some are a block or two closer, so why pick Basileus? Consistency. Look at the reviews over the years. Consistently excellent. We all search and read and worry and fret when booking a low-cost, non-chain hotel over the internet. We don't want to be fooled by false claims or stranded with a bad room somewhere. With Basileus, you can relax and worry about something else. As long as this same family owns and runs Basileus, you know exactly what you are getting. I just finished my 2nd visit. This is a good, clean, friendly and wonderful place to stay. And I counted this time. Forty-seven different fruits, spreads, crepes, jams, breads, meats & cheeses on the breakfast buffet - not counting omelets and drinks.

Also, a shout out to the confectionary store across the street, the "Ademoglu". Good English, delicious candy and she always gives a few extra pieces to sample! Tell her the folks from Kansas say hi!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ekrem, Yusuf, Muharren and Adam, made our stay all the more enjoyable. They truly are passionate and dedicated in offering the best service to all their guests and make it a personable experience. If you have a question, they are always there to help you and go above and beyond in their suggestions and recommendations. The entrance of the hotel is like a lounge room and it is exactly this that makes this hotel such a pleasurable experience. The rooms were always clean, the breakfast was amazing..offering freshly made Turkish coffee and omelette. I would highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again. There is a reason they are constantly booked out, that is because it truly is an amazing hotel. Try it for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#37 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing