We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks guys”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks guys”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The rooms of basileus are big enough and the staff is very friendly.thank you for all for the great staying,excellent breakfast, good recommendations.it will be again my first choice in my next visit to this nice city.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenten11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
404
726
134
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. I am a single female traveler and stayed in a single room on the second floor. It was clean, neat and tidy and had more than enough space for me.

The outstanding feature of this hotel is its customer service. Ekram went above and beyond his call of duty. He helped plan out my days enabling me to travel all over Istanbul, he organised a workshop for me, ensured I know exactly where I was going when travelling to obscure parts of Istanbul, always greeted me by name and with a smile, recommended great places to eat and shop. He made my trip to Istanbul even better than I could have imagined.

Yes, you do need to walk up a hill to see most of the areas - but who couldn't do with a little extra exercise anyway - and Istanbul is very hilly so I would be surprised if you didn't end up walking up more than 1 hill each day.

The daily breakfast was great as was the free mini bar of water and soft drinks. Yes you can hear people in other room sometimes but you should be so exhausted from exploring Istanbul that sleep will come easily.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelling_girl033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for around four nights and the staff here are great - they are very helpful and polite. The hotel is also fairly well located.

I was sharing a twin room with my brother so the room was a bit squishy with two beds and suitcases.

We had a room facing the road which had two huge issues:
1. It was VERY noisy with traffic passing underneath and the construction works at 3am. Also the dawn call to prayer was an effective alarm clock.
2. The curtains did not block out the sun effectively at all, so the sunlight was killer very fast.

So it was a good stay - but quality of sleep wasn't great.

Also, this is my opinion, but the bars of soap supplied smell terrible. I had to go and buy my own.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maelstrom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very polite stuff! Had a great time there. Only the best for this hotel. It is realy nerar to the main historical atractions. The rooms are very clean and comfortable! Enjoyed my stay very much.. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuk_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Basileus Hotel for five nights in late January. Unfortunately the week we were there the weather was not the greatest - cold and wet with even snow and sleet one day. However, the hotel was always nice and warm and welcoming.
The breakfasts were excellent, and there was always a cup of tea waiting for you in reception throughout the day. The staff were most helpful and friendly and of course the hotel is within walking distance of most of the sights and of the very convenient tram service. Would definitely recommend to your friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazeybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sure: the staff is really polite. So? Is that enough to justify an high rate? no. it's not enough.

His position is ok, not far from Ayasofia and other main beauties, but so as other billions of hotels around. Plus, it is in a really noise area, with traffic noise and (incredible) building works at night-time!

The hotel is clean but really basic. The room showed signs of poor finishing (half-broken bathroom gears, cable coming out of the wall, broken piece of skirting board). The breakfast room looks more like a dungeon rather then a welcoming area to enjoy your first meal of the day (plus: really humid room). It was really disappointed overall.

I really don't understand the high rating. I really don't.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pierre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were a group of students that took a long weekend in Istanbul just before the semester started. We had a familyroom for 4 people and a room with 3 single beds. Our stay at the Basileus was one of the best hotel experiences ever. Clean and comfortable rooms and good breakfast. Very friendly staff that helped us with everything we wanted and gave us tips on where to go in the city. The location is really good, close to all the historical sites in Sultanahmed and it's easy to get to the tram that will take you anywhere in the city. I would really recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#24 of 1,141 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing