We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #26 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

A terrific little hotel in a terrific location. Yusef was wonderful, giving us a full orientation to the area and what to do in the time we had. Rooms were quite adequate and the beds very comfortable, just about all we need as how much time do you want to hang out in the hotel, anyway? Fast and free wifi throughout. Breakfast and trip from airport were included. Lots of varieties for breakfast to fuel up on for a day's walking around beautiful Old Town Istanbul. They will make you omlettes, eggs, etc. if you'd like. There may have been an elevator but I didn't see one, so handicap accessibility may be an issue for the upper floors. Something to check if stairs is a problem for you. You might want to get a main floor room if that's the case, just don't know. I believe they renovated recently and the solid double pane doors that open to the balconies really keep the noise out, but the surrounding streets are narrow and not that busy anyway.

Easy walking to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Bazaar, Spice Market, and down the hill to the fish markets/wharf/expensive but good seafood restaurants that you pick out from the market in front and they cook it for you. It doesn't get any fresher. And for a few Lira take the ferry over to the Asia side just for the fun and experience and nice photo ops.

Overall would definitely stay there again and probably will, next time in high season, The weather was cool but very nice in January. Even in January there seemed to be lots of tourists like us visiting the main attractions. Just be ready to say no thank you to all the merchants and restaurant promoters who nearly grab you by the arm! Pretty aggressive by American standards. Others may not mind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmydreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
There are newer reviews for Basileus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I would recommended Basileus Hotel to other traveller who planning to visit Istanbul.

The room is very clean, in every each room there's a balcony, also the bathroom they have somekind like a mini jacuzzi, breakfast also very delish!! the location only step away from the central attraction - sultanahmed. nothing perfectly perfect than their hospitality, thank u so much especially for Omar for being very nice to me and explained a whole things about Istanbul, also they arrange a pick up service at the airport and the shuttle bus to the airport

my suggestion, better take a shuttle bus directly to the airport, cost only €5

i definitely would loved to stay again in Basileus for my next visit in Istanbul

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PriethaPhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great place to stay while in Istanbul with a very friendly, helpful staff that can't do enough to help you navigate this city! Yusef and Akrim in particular were very helpful in assisting us and we will definately be back to Instanbul and this hotel again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elconejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to truly experience Istanbul. First of all, the location is perfect. It is in ideal walking distance to all the important sites. Secondly, the staff is so friendly. They will do anything to help you out. Not speaking any Turkish, they were able to order pizzas for me one of the nights. Also, they will sit down with you and show you the best sites to see in Istanbul. Thirdly, it is a great value. The free breakfast, free internet, free soft drink mini bar, was an incredible value! Also, if you pay in cash you get a 5% discount, so I would recommend that as well. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, so I hope that many others decide to stay here.
Note: You should bring a pair of earplugs, if you don't want to be awaken at 6:30am by the call to prayer.

Room Tip: An upper floor room can be a bit quieter
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AngieStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel without the coldness of a hotel, front desk people always with smile & help in any way, rooms are very clean good size, breakfast good with a cook who makes great omelette, the hotel is walkin distance to all sights, restaurants, nearby even fish markets, the decor of the hotel is unique, one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in & truly recommend it

Room Tip: We stayed on third floor no lift but staff help with luggage room was good size with small balcony
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bucketlist60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had a great time in Istanbul and it was enhanced because of my stay in this hotel. Just to mentions a few things:
- Great location - only a few minutes walk from the main attractions
- Very clean
- Got very personal service. I got great advice on what all to see and when to see. They even called cab for me so that I am not ripped off. And the best was, I did not have any lira and I was loaned TK200 and I only paid it back the day I checked out.
- Staff was very polite and helpful
- Breakfast was decent
- Price was very good for the quality and service

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harvinder W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Loved this little hotel. We stayed here on our last night in Istanbul. The hotel was very clean, very new, the room was beautiful with an updated tub. Staff was very friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was great! The only fault--and this universal from our experience in Turkey--is that the bed was rock hard. But, we absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Acesnead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,159 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,159 in Istanbul
918 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#150 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $35 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing