We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent value for money, very nice people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #25 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, very nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's a modest hotel, don't expect a pool, or a spa. But do expect excellent attitude, fast Internet, decent size and very clean room, great breakfast, and a very convenient location. We are very glad we found them, and would recommend them to anyone, unless you are looking for luxuries. Use their shuttle on the way in, cabbies just don't know the place.

Room Tip: Street noise might be a bit of an issue on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wind_n_water_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,355
    274
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
381
707
123
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

To echo the other reviews, we loved everything about our stay here. The rooms are modern and comfortable with open windows, fridge/microwave and flat screen tvs. Everything was very clean and we had a little sitting area for reading and relaxing. The included breakfast was also excellent, fresh and tons of variety. We took advantage of the airport pickup which was very convenient and nice not to have to worry about on our first trip to a new city.

As most others have noted, the people who run this hotel are the absolute best! This was perfect for our first stop on our first trip to Turkey. They were always available to make excellent suggestions on things to do and places to eat. They also helped to explain the different local food options and recommend a variety of places - seafood, street food, traditional meals, etc.

I also loved the location of this hotel. It was on a side street but walking distance to many many sites and places to eat so it was super convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadtrip411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

As others have said, for most people, there's not reason to look anywhere else. The rooms, although not spacious, have plenty of space. The bathroom is modern. The room is clean. The breakfast is varied and wonderful. It's a short walk to the tram and many of the sites.

But most of all, it's the feeling that you're not in a hotel, but staying with friends. You're greeted by name when you come in, and there is no request that is too difficult. They help plan an itinerary, give directions, help look up where I can go see a football game that night, and, in my case, go to the room to make sure I left my passport there.

Don't let the low price fool you. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooperhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Basileus is the place to stay if you visit for the first time Istanbul. Very well located, new and with an amazing staff that help you with any request you have and makes you feel at home. We came back to the hotel for our second stay in Istanbul and we will come back again if we go to Istanbul in the future. It was lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gotiadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good hotel for the money, and the best staff I've ever experienced. Other reviewers have talked about the noise; my experience with that was mixed. At first they put us in room 302, a lovely and well-lit corner room right on the street intersection. It was truly noisy (especially during the call to prayer), and after mentioning that to the front desk they immediately moved us to room 206, a smaller room with fewer windows facing the inner courtyard. It was very quiet and suited us well. A few things were not up to par like the severely leaning bath vanity shelf and soap dish... but for the price it was very good overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

it was a perfect choice basileushotel if you want to be very close to old City in istanbul.yusuf and akrem work like a guide for you.for restaurant Museum,tickets and many Other tips about the City.
I will come back to your nice City again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the Basileus based on its reviews on Tripadvisor, and I have to say, I was very impressed. The staff was ubelievably helpful with any questions (Yousef even took a good amount of time to give me the rundown on where to go and what to do on my first night there), the rooms and bathroom were spotless, and the complimentary breakfast was terrific (there is also complimentary tea and coffee available in the lobby). Finally, the price (180 euros for 4 nights) was an absolute bargain. When I return to Istanbul I will definitely also return to the Basileus.

Room Tip: A room near the back of the hotel may help with the noise from trucks whizzing by during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#22 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#34 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing