We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely friendly hosts....excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly hosts....excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Basileus Hotel, in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul.
It's hard to imagine a more wonderful group of people operating a Hotel in Istanbul.
From the moment we arrived we were treated with great warmth and hospitality. Eko, Yusuf and Muharrem did absolutely all they could to make our stay enjoyable…..from the excellent restaurant choices to suggestions on seeing the sights.
You are in the heart of the old city and as others have mentioned, you are within 10 minutes walk of so many famous sights. (Blue Mosque, Ayasofya, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern and Topkapi just a few minutes more.
We had superb breakfast each of the 4 mornings we were there….and what a selection….cereal, breads, yogurt, cold meats, cheese, juices and coffees etc. Onar would even cook you an omelette if you so desired. Although it doesn't have a restaurant, the rating below is for the breakfast provided. Beds in Turkey may be a little firmer than back home but that didn't bother us. The room was large, extremely clean and was air conditioned. We would not hesitate to stay again. Istanbul is a fascinating and vibrant city…….Turkey is amazing.

Room Tip: Main floor rooms may be a little noisy for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RACER283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
398
722
132
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We began and ended our Turkish vacation at the Basileus. They made us feel welcome and at home from the moment we entered. Their entire staff's friendly and professional service made us feel we were leaving friends when our stay ended. Nice clean rooms, large and varied breakfast (good omelets to order), and convenient location to major sites. The Basileus was our first introduction to true Turkish hospitality and helped make our vacation quite memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter. They were adding sound proofing walls throughout the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at the Basileus for a total of seven nights and were favourably impressed with their very friendly service and professional aproach. Nothing was too much trouble for the young and enthusiastic staff and Eko and Yusuf arranged for us to see a carpet repairer, booked tickets for a dervish show, restaurants etc and gave us excellent advice for restaurants and shopping as well as arranging a private car when we needed one as that turned out to be a good option for the four of us. We found the beds comfortable, the bathroom practical and it is all spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the plentiful breakfasts. All in all an excellent place to stay for tourists who want to explore old Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luciajacobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

That was a great stay for us,lovely location,very clean nice room with excellent comfort,very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stamtore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

If you like firm beds, this is the place. I do, and it was a little firm even for me. The room was clean, comfortable, attractive. Bathroom was nice, but water pressure a little iffy. Location is good--It's a short uphill walk to the major tourist destinations and the tram. Breakfast was good. Buffet of cold items, juices, and tea. Omelets made to order were a nice touch.Be sure to map the hotel before you arrive because it's hard to find.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arlenetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at Basileus for 5 nights and I enjoyed it very much. The staff is kind and helpful and the location is very good. Breakfast is a variety of breads, cheeses, meats, olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, yogurt, cereal, dried dates, apricots, and my favourite: warm cake with chocolate chips! You can also order omelettes to your liking. The beds were a bit hard for our liking, but hopefully they will soften up once more people come through. The only inconvenience was that after two nights we had to move to a different room. Probably due to overbooking, which we encountered a couple more times in our 3 week trip. Otherwise, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cittaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Excellent service, very knowledgeable and friendly staff. Location is very convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaamidAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing