We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tHE BEST PLACE TO STAY ON A BUDGET IN ISTANBUL”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“tHE BEST PLACE TO STAY ON A BUDGET IN ISTANBUL”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My partner and I spent 4 nights in Istanbul and stayed at the Basileus. I can honestly say that this is one of the best budget hotels we've ever stayed in. It is in the Sultanahmet district, 5 - 10 minutes walk from all the major sites, however, just on the edge of this district and the Kumpapi district, so very close to the 'real' Istanbul. The staff are welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable; always ready to help, nothing too much trouble. I heard Yusuf 'scolding' a guests for referring to themselves as Tourists - 'you're not tourists, you're visitors' he said! The breakfasts are brilliant, the rooms light and airy and the hotel quiet. Try the 'Balik Ekmek' (literally 'fish bread') in the port at Kumkapi - seriously fresh grilled mackerel, put into warm bread, with salad, lemon juice and salt - amazing! We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: You must visit Little Hagia Sofia mosque nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alaw_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    280
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
412
729
136
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Brand new hotel conveniently located in the historic city center of Istanbul within short walking distance to most main sights, including Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. Very friendly, well informed and helpful stuff, clean and comfortable rooms, good breakfast. We would totally stay there again and highly recommend this place for anybody who wants to discover the beautiful city of Constantinople. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anticyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Me and two friends stayed in Basileus hotel for 4 days a week ago. When we left it was like leaving very good friends. The staff is very professional and so friendly that you will feel like home in a few hours. The whole interior is spotless and the hotel is walking distance from blue mosque and Ayia Sofia. I would strongly recommend Basileus hotel to everyone! I will be back soon I hope and till then send my regards to Yusuf!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 11Eliana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Booked this hotel based on reviews posted here, and was very happy with my stay. The staff is friendly and attentive. We arrived very early in the morning, and they stored our bags and offered us breakfast until our room was available. Spent the day at the sights, and our bags were in our rooms when we returned. The room was very clean and the hotel as advertised was recently remodeled. It was only a 5 minute walk to the blue mosque and hagia sophia, as well as to the waterfront. Tasty selection for breakfast, and they offered omelettes as well. They gave us maps and recommendations of what to see and do, without trying to push some tour onto us (which I really appreciated!).

Would easily stay here again, Istanbul is such an amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lunartwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Travelled to Istanbul last month and stayed for 3 nights at the Basileus Hotel.
My kids and I had just stayed in Paris at the Hilton Arc de Triomphe, and the last part of the trip was Istanbul, I had read all the reviews on TA about the Basileus Hotel, and was so happy to have got a reservation.
The hotel is spotless clean, a little basic, especially after the Hilton, but it has everything you need.
You can walk to all the sights in the historic part of town, and Yusuf will advise you what is a must, to do in Istanbul.
I cannot say enough about Yusuf, he is very helpful and nothing is a bother ,not even changing light bulbs, he makes you feel like you are part of his family.
Yusuf, thank you so much for all your great advice, our trip would not have been so memorable if not for you.
I would highly recommend the Basileus, and I am looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scottishlass_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We visited istanbul from greece, with a couple of friends for four days. What makes this hotel really special, is the staff. They make you feel very welcome because they are very friendly, but not in a weird or uncomfortable way. We are greatfu fot their help in planning our days in the vast city of istanbul.

Also the breakfast was a nice surprise, because it was plentyful in a cosy environment.

Personally, I found the beds very helpful, because you could tell they were the expensive and anatomic kind that bend only around your body and not in half. resting is very important in istanbul. mark my words.

Finally, it was brand new and really clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vasilis_Chatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The location was walking distance to blue mosque and all the attractions in sultanahmet. We had a clean spacious affordable room. We had everything we need from a boutique hotel but the staffs made it even more special . I lost a few personal belongings throughout the trip and was feeling blue, the hotel owner and staff went out of their way to help us lift our moods. The staffs were so personable, warm and helpful, in the end I felt like I was staying at a good friend's house. Loved your work Yusuf!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misscatfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,154 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,154 in Istanbul
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#12 of 1,154 in Istanbul
901 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,154 in Istanbul
710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#151 of 1,154 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing