We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, cool building, be picky about your room”
Review of Le Safran Suite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Safran Suite
Ranked #137 of 1,100 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

So, let me start off by saying I loved the staff, and the old renovated building was awesome.We were booked to stay in a partial sea-view that was not ready, which was fine(no big deal), so our first night was in the basement, and we were then moved upstairs to the attic. The basement room was very nice, and the only thing it was lacking was the view. The attic, on the other hand, had no A/C, so we had to keep the windows open for ventilation. This would not have been a problem, save for the excessively noisy street down below, as we were right next to the trolley stop, and the polis and fire stations. It was only one room, and had a slanted ceiling. The bathroom smelled horrible, and also had a slanted ceiling, which made it impossible to stand up straight while showering, My husband's parents stayed in a third-floor room, though, and it was very nice, with very high ceilings, A/C, and separate rooms. Also, be aware while picking your room, there is no elevator, and you must get your luggage up and down the stairs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side are quieter. No A/C in attic, but fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AthenaHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

Wanted to share our experience of staying at Anatolia suites. I went there in November over thanksgiving along with my sisters for a week long trip and stayed there. We would absolutely go back and stay there and have recommended the place to others.
The location and how central it is to the blue mosque, hagia sophia, the tram, bosphorous etc is unbeatable. Everything is in walking distance. The service was wonderful- every staff we interacted with were friendly, patient,welcoming, warm, and gave us tons of information on things to do. The breakfast was great and as vegetarians we appreciated the spread of olives, vegetables, bread, etc. The rooms had a nice old and quaint feeling and were very clean and comfortable. We also noticed that some people stayed with their children which speaks to how inviting and comfortable the place is. The rooms on the first and second floor also felt private.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first and second floors and felt that it was private. Apart from people checking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in January 2012 with my friends. The location is very good! Only 3 min walk from Gulhane tram station, but there is no nois from tram at night. We booked dbl room, but we were checked in triple room with 2 bedrooms, very comfortable! (room 301). There is no lift at the hotel and stairs to enter the hotel are too big, it may be a problem for old people. There is small fridge at the room. And it's also not very convinient that you have to go outside for breakfast, they serve it at the cafe next door, in winter it's inconvenient. Food was very simple: cheese, sausage, tomato\cucumbers\olives, boiled eggs, mandarins\apples, bread, jam, tea\coffe. In Mach 2011 we stayed at the apartments of the same owner (Anatolia Sultanahmet Suite), I liked apartments much more in spite of the fact that the location is not so central..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Winter season is the low season, so we got a really good price for the value we got.
Hotel had very good location - as everybody else mentions it is walking distance from everywhere you need to go - and st sophia is literally few min walking.
Rooms and hotel was very clean, good variety of breakfast it was nice that it was included in the price.
staff was very helpfull too
my friends and i are coming back next year to this place ...this time for new years eve

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris_skarsgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We booked Anatolia Suites for 4 nights for our trip to Istanbul before we continued on to Ephesus. This was the best place we stayed. It was quite, very clean...the staff was very helpful with the places we should visit, they even made our dinner reservations for my daughters birthday.
We were few minutes away from the tram, so it was very easy to get to taksim and back, all historical locations were 2 mins walking distance.
We couldnt have asked for more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliet_mendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked this place for our week long trip to Istanbul.. First of all the location was great, it was walking distance from St Sophia, Archeology Museum, Blue Mosque...and the tram is few steps away to take you to the new city part of town.
The hotel itself was very clean, our room was spacious, the neighborhood was safe and quite, the staff was nice and friendly. If you are planning on staying in the Old City / Sultanahmet area, Anatolia Suite St Sophia will give you the best bank for your buck.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasmine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My family and I stayed at Anatolia Suite St Sophia during our week long trip to Istanbul. We stayed at their family suite which was perfect for our 2 kids and us. The hotel itself really felt like an old times Byzantium / Ottoman house with the internal staircase and high ceilings.
The room was squeaky clean, the staff was very nice, and very helpful.
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION, you can not beat the location of this place - its close to EVERYTHING in the old city area
It will be definetly be our choice of accommodation for our next trip to Istanbul!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#220 of 1,171 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#178 of 1,171 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hurriyet Hotel
Hurriyet Hotel
#76 of 1,100 in Istanbul
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,100 in Istanbul
598 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Tulip House
Hotel Tulip House
#68 of 1,100 in Istanbul
645 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#832 of 1,171 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Safran Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Safran Suite

Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:5, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Anatolia Suite St. Sophia)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 1,100 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $24 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Safran Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 500 metres from Sultanahmet Square, this 130 years old wooden newly renovated Ottoman residence offers suites with a separate bedroom and living room. It has free Wi-Fi and a daily housekeeping service.The guest rooms of the Anatolia Suite St. Sophia are named after Istanbul’s major tourist attractions and include flat-screen TVs and air conditioning.Guests of the Anatolia Suite can benefit from a daily breakfast and enjoy a cup of tea or coffee. The front desk is available 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Safran Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing