We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Everything”
Review of The Marmara Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marmara Taksim
Ranked #102 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Near Everything”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Okay, well, probably not everything but the place is centrally located and within easy walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Galata Tower, İstiklal Avenue and the Metro. Its in the center of most everything it seems

The is your standard upper mid range hotel with restaurants, a pool, nice beds, cable, sauna, a nice lobby and is quite clean. I stayed here after travelling around Turkey for two weeks and it was a nice relaxing way to end the trip. The hotel had everything I needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacomcnacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for the time taken to post your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. I am delighted that you were well looked after and that we took care of everything that you needed. We are very close to all kinds of means of transportation and the great shops and cafes on Istiklal Avenue but are also located on top of a hill, which allows an amazing view from our rooms.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next have a chance to get away.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    435
    133
    39
    25
See reviews for
247
343
91
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice hotel, with decent rooms. Nothing to rave about, but definitely not bad. The best part about the hotel is that its centrally located right at Taksim and hence easy to get to the good parts of the city. Had a bad experience with the Bellman at the time of check-out. He was very rude and I made sure to give him a piece of my mind as well. Probably wont go back to the hotel only because of this reason. Otherwise overall, decent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyu1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review about your stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. Just as you mentioned, we are perfectly located right in the heart of the city and take pride in having the most beautiful views of both the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn from our rooms. We certainly hope that for this and for many other reasons you will choose our hotel again for your future visits, despite the unfortunate incident with one of the bellboys for which I wish to apologize on behalf of my colleague.

Thank you once again and we wish you happy travels,

Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

-Good location
-Breakfast needs to be changed from time to time cause after spending 7 days eating the same food you get bored !
- rooms are clean & housekeeping decent
- few employees speak English making it difficult to get what you need & that goes for the whole country in general
N.B: if you planing to go there only use taxis from the hotel for the lowest fare

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirnakattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for finding the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We appreciate our guests’ comments as they help us to improve the way we serve you.

We hope it won’t be too long before we have the chance of hosting you again at the newly renovated The Marmara Taksim Hotel.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

4th visit to Istanbul, 1st time staying in the Taksim area. Staff were great, always very friendly, answering any questions I had and pointed me in the right direction several times. I paid for a City view room and when I went to the room, it wasn't clean or it appeared as if someone was still staying there. Front desk was very apologetic and upgraded me to a higher floor with a view of the Marmara sea. Amazing view!!! Room was very quiet and can't complain about anything. Being a gym buff, this hotel offered a pretty amazing gym for a hotel. Didn't try the hotel restaurant since there were tons of local places to eat. Metro station was also across the street, with easy access to the Sultanahmet, Grand Bazaar and other areas of the city.

Only bothersome thing was the security, patrons of the hotel weren't forced to go through the detectors. But, having some local friends, I would usually have to go down and get them or else security would start hassling them. At least them go to reception which was usually where I planned to meet them.

Overall a great hotel, and when staying in the Taksim area, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, a view of the Marmara sea is worth getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your lovely feedback and for posting it on TripAdvisor. It is so pleasing to know that you found the team welcoming and friendly and I am happy that we were able to make up for the unfortunate incident with your room. As well noted, The Marmara Taksim is perfectly located in the heart of Istanbul and has much to offer in the neighborhood.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next have a chance to get away to this wonderful city.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Its a nice located hotel but way to expensive for what it is.
Reception staff were way to arrogant.
They had no time to answer to simple questions.
By the way the rearaurant next to the hotel called the kitchenet, worst place ever food is bad and service its veeeery bad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAvdvisor after your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about the inconveniences experienced during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your feedback is of great value to us and I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

it was a very nice hotel, food is great, breakfast buffet was great many to choose, employees are freindly and helpful, and this hotel is very close to istiklal street and others.
i would visit this hotel again for sure.

Room Tip: pick a solo room, not connected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting a great review about your stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. I have passed on your positive feedback to my colleagues and all of us will be very happy to welcome you whenever you are back in Istanbul again.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The public areas and rooftop restaurant, gym, spa and pool are all 5 star. The rooms could use some updating but the great service made up for any shortcomings. Our first room was too small so I asked for a change and received a large room with a spectacular view of Gezi Park and Taksim Square (my favourite place in Istanbul). Be careful to specify smoking or non. Breakfast included was good and I enjoyed this hotels' atmosphere more than the Hilton where our friends were staying. More of a turkish feel at the Marmara, and the service was some of the best I've encountered anywhere. The views from the restaurant/cocktail are second to none. Three sides: Taksim Square, Bosphorous and Old City. Every view spectacular. Would love to return here.

Room Tip: Request smoking or non-smoking and consider requesting a specific view (Taksim/Bosphorous/Old City...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for a fantastic review and for taking the time to publish it on Trip Advisor. We are always thrilled to hear back from our guests and your positive comments motivate us even further in providing a “home away from home” for all of our lovely visitors. The Gezi Park is looking better than ever and I am glad you enjoyed your room overlooking this now very famous place. Just as you have noted, we also have fabulous views of the Golden Horn and the Bosphorus and we would love to host in one of those rooms on your next visit to Istanbul.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#103 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,755 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Park Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#337 of 1,156 in Istanbul
367 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#137 of 1,156 in Istanbul
647 reviews
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#85 of 1,156 in Istanbul
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Taksim

Property: The Marmara Taksim
Address: Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#104 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing