We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Vacay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marmara Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marmara Taksim
Ranked #94 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Summer Vacay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I went to this hotel with my family, after having moved from another 5 star hotel down the street. The beds, unlike other hotels, were comfortable. They didn't throw your back out like you've been stuck in a box for a decade, they were rather really comfy. The lobby was really nice to sit in at night because it gets really calm, and you'd have a spectacular view of the city. We got our room on the top floor and we could literally see everything that istanbul has to offer. The food for breakfast was pretty nice too! I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone going to Taksim, especially since when I had checked out I realized I had forgotten my iPod in the room. When I got back to Cairo, I had emailed them and they were happy to send it to me via Fedex. I loved the fact that they kept it and it wasn't lost. It was great service!

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaSoufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    411
    127
    39
    19
See reviews for
214
323
86
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

24 years ago we spent our honeymoon at the Marrmara and for the 24th anniversary I decided to book this hotel again, although we live in Istanbul, just a few kilometers away. We mentioend teh special reason during check in and I bet in any other 5 star hotel they would do something special for e.g. an upgrade, a fruit basket, etc...ok, no problem. Room was ok, the view breath taking....but, when we went for breakfast next day, we were facing a disaster. Spent 20 minutes waiting for a table and buffet was poor, extremely poor. First they asked us to have breakfast in teh bar area, sitting on little, tinny and low tables but I refused. I'm traveling a lot for biz reasonas and I spent more than 100 nights a year in 5* hotels all over eastern Europe, but I never ever experienced such a disaster at breakfast and never seen such a lousy buffet. At check out the offered an upgrade for my next stay - what a brilliant idea. No thank you. A 5* hotel MUST be perfect in any aspect of the biz. Having a good location and nice rooms is not good enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MustafaKIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visited Istanbul for work and stayed here for 4 nights. The view of Taksim Square was great and the free breakfast was delicious every morning. Great location as well, I would stay here again if I come back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Yes, just 4* and to be more honest and fair , I doubt the international hotel classification auditors will be able to grant the 4, the management should really work on that.
Is really the location an asset for this hotel? Well maybe ... I had the most wonderful view in Istanbul.
I love the staff, great people, but I am sure they are really stressed.
The renovation of the lobby and the lower area is not enough, this hotel needs serious and professional maintenance , specifically for the rooms ... Plumming , carpets electricity ... Everything.
Careful it is not worth the value.
I am sure I will avoid next time.

Room Tip: If you cannot avoid , make sure you are on 15th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I would have given 3.5 stars had I not had to deal with the sleazy management of this hotel. The rooms are fine, not 5 stars (old hairdryers, crappy shower, varying water temperature, noise from the street). The breakfast buffet is mediocre at best. The views and location are great and is what most likely keeps the hotel profitable.

I organized a meeting at this hotel and encountered the most dishonest, money grubbing "professionals" I have ever met. Their #1 priority was nickle and diming (or 1000s of Euros) you to death to ensure you never return. Seems these people are trained by greaseball US used car salesman and use some of the same phrases. Too bad I or my colleagues will not be going back to spend $400/night anymore. :( There must be high pressure to make immediate profits for short term interests but no long range customer satisfaction goals whatsoever. Stay for pleasure, stay away for business.

Room Tip: Get a Bosphorous room, or one that's not on the "city view" side. Will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsAllAGame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I just arrived home after my vacation to Istanbul at Marmara Taksim Hotel . First of all I would like to say that stop cheating peapole , this hotel is not a five stars hotel its not more the two to three stars because the location is the worst and the most noisy place in istanbul .Inspent 2 days no sleeping all night because of the noisy square all the time day and night from the crowds of people and car horns and buses that didint know maybe the day from night .I was at the 15th flour but the sounds killed me all night .Its a crazy area and crazy hotel and stuff. Please take my preview in concern and contact me if u need for more information on my e-mail roytalge@hotmail.com to tell u mre more about this bad hotel . They must close this hotel and dont advise it for nobody on line .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roytalge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Riad Talge,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate your constructive feedback.

The Marmara Taksim Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city on Taksim square, which is a known place for all the activities happening in town and thus the general noise. However, due to the recently started project implemented by the government called “Taksim Square Pedestrianization Project”, nowadays there is even more traffic around the hotel.

In your reservation, you had especially requested a room facing the Taksim square on a high floor, which we provided with great pleasure. Should you have informed us during your stay regarding the outside noise bothering you, we would have gladly changed your room.
We will be very happy to welcome you back at The Marmara Taksim Hotel once the remodeling of the square is finished. Until then, we remain…

Sincerely yours,

Minay Masimova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay at this hotel couple times a year for business because the location is really convenient; at Taksim. You can reach most of the business area easily by taxi even by metro. It is also very close to the stop where airport shuttles stop. The hotel is old but relatively clean. The rooms toward the Bosphorus have extraordinary view .I find hotel more and more crowded each time I stay, and last time it was really bothersome. The rooms are really small and the wierd thing, there is no power plug in the room except the ones they use for TV or lamps. You have to use the one in the corridor or in the bathroom which is not so convenient. The breakfast room is not big enough for hotel capacity and you just try to find a spot walking around tables. As a whole, it is a nice hotel at an excellent location, and if you book a room with view, you can enjoy the excellent Bosphorus especially during night time, but get ready for the crowd.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the upper floors, otherwise the room especially facing Taksim square are very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChicDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#121 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#72 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Park Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#93 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#73 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Sisli
Divan Istanbul
Divan Istanbul
#114 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Taksim

Property: The Marmara Taksim
Address: Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#104 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Marmara Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing