We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Think Twice about Cheers, Book Now!”
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Think Twice about Cheers, Book Now!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is the only spot to stay in Istanbul. Everything about it is perfect for a stay in the city. The staff are not just helpful, but they go out of their way to make sure you get what you're looking for while there. The building is very cool, stretching up 4 floors with a nice lounge on the roof with great views of Hagia Sophia. And a cool little garden area out front where breakfast and afternoon chills are had. The Internet connection is strong. Wifi everywhere. Laundry facilities just up the street. Location is unbeatable. The big sights are all within walking distance and the practical necessities are also nearby (ie. banks, pharmacies, travel agents, tourist info., etc.). Don't think twice about this place. Get a room if it's available for your dates and you will have a blast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    110
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
101
330
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in the apartment which is separate to the hostel very comfortable lots of room needs a bit of maintence no soap and shower head is broken but a great breakfast unfortunately they are linked with hostel booking .com who took the commission for 4 days and we only stayed one day not cheers problem but annoying

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunccars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melborne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Cheers is a fantastic hostel. The Room was really spacious and the location was second to none. The free breakfast was great and the staff were so welcoming and friendly. Definitely worth staying, book it in!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This is truly a pearl in the centre of Istanbul. The location is amazing, within walking distance from the Hagia Sophia and the Basilica among other tourist attractions. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

The only negative is maybe the price, however the package makes it well worth it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile


Cheers hostel is truly amazing! I arrived early and was given breakfast, I was allowed to place my bag in the room before going out for the day (per check in time) and was able to spend time in the lounge after I've already checked out. My room was so spacious! Tarik behind the counter was so helpful in making me feel welcome and with his information about Istanbul. Check out the terrace bar--great view! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ckmetz002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time at Cheers. The staff were great, always willing to help out with whatever we needed. Breaky every morning was delicious! Location could not be more spot on!! Would recommend to anyone and everyone! Also the hostel dog was awesome, really made it feel like home!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katecheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed 2 nights at Cheers in April 2014 and it was the best hostel I've stayed in. The team and pet dog are very hospitable and make their guests feel welcome. I stayed in the ground floor dorm with 10 beds, which was spacious and had a homely feel. The beds, doonas and pillows are as comfortable as they come. I am a light sleeper, but once everyone settled in, i was able to achieve surprisingly decent sleep. Bathrooms were good - generally clean and the showers had excellent pressure. The breakfast is standard Turkish fare and they also offer fruit and coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haivan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,274 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Property: Cheers Hostel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing