We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and in a Prime Location”
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly and in a Prime Location”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I just spent a week at Cheers Hostel in Sultanameht and I can easily say that is ranks among my favorite hostels I've ever stayed in. It was spotlessly clean, the rooms came with secure lockers which was extremely convenient and staff, particularly manager Tarik (pardon the spelling) were friendly, genuine and were great sources for candid advice regarding tourist attractions. The rooftop bar is not to miss at night as it provides an incredible view of the Hagia Sofia, one of the most impressive buildings in the world much less Istanbul all while drinking the local Efes pilsner and enjoying the bartender/dj's enjoyable blend of American pop/rock classics of yester-year, Abba and local house music. The complimentary breakfast is nothing special but it's serviceable and saves you from having to buy an extra meal. Finally the location is unbeatable, it's within a five minute walk of the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia and the Palace with the Grand Bazaar and even the European Side (Beyoglu) also within walking distance.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms can cost more but if you sleep early then they are usually worth the expense as the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    110
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
101
330
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hostel has a great vibe to it: the staff is awesome, kind, funny, helpful, etc. It was nice hanging out at the bar on the roof, and the bartender was a real sweetheart. The space up on the roof is great and has a nice view of Hagia Sophia. I also loved sitting outside sipping coffee in the morning. It's a small outside space by a narrow street, but the hanging foliage makes it pretty and inviting. The guys that work there sit and chill with you, are nice to talk to and help you when you need it.

The drawbacks of this hostel are: the beds were very uncomfortable as well as the pillows. I have stayed at hostels in several different countries, and these were by far the worst. Also, the rooms are really cramped (I stayed in a private double), not all of them have AC, and they lack simple extras like a small towel to lay outside the shower, a hook, etc. These seem like luxuries, but little touches would really make it better, and other hostels I've stayed at have these simple things. Cheers is in a good location, but I do think we paid a bit too much for the rooms to be so basic and simple.

If you don't mind cramped, uncomfortable rooms then stay here because everything else about it is great. Istanbul is such a great city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fixureyes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I loved my time spent at Cheers Hostel. The whole staff made me feel at home. Every time I came back I was personally greeted by name and it made me feel at home. The view from the terrace bar was incredible we were right next to the Hagia Sophia. I would recommend this hostel to everyone I know. Also the entire staff was extremely helpful when we had questions about where to go, where to eat, and what to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Cheers ıs the place to be! Tarık and staff are all amazıng. Super helpful and frıendly! Atmosphere is great if you want to meet other people and have a good time. Lucky to have found this place. Highly recommended if you're visiting Istanbul!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A Great place to stay. The staff are frıendly and helpful ıt ıs very relaxed clean. They gave great advıce on attractıons to vısıt. I would hıghly reccommend to all people travelıng through Istanbul!!

A bıg Thumbs up for "Cheers"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euro31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Situated right in the heart of the old city, Cheers hostel was an amazing place to explore Istanbul from. We had a private room (across the street from the main building), it was large and well maintained. The staff were all very nice and helpful plus the rooftop bar has the most amazing view... highly recommended that you stay here!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alecpooley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
2,491 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,284 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I've been in hundreds of hostels around the world, but when I came here the first time I quickly realized that this was one of the nicest hostels I've ever seen .
First, the excellent location , just 200 meters away from the most important mosques in the city, St. Sophia and the Blue Mosque , about 5 minutes walking.
The warm welcome by the staff at the front desk , I had a problem with the credit card and they happily postponed the payment to the next day.
Having arrived early enough there was still the breakfast buffet in advance and I could easily pick up a bit ' of fresh fruit.
The room assigned to me was a 10-bed mixed dorm it was spacious, clean , nicely decorated and had a big window next to my bed from which I could see a small corner of the view of the garden.
The hostel was over 3 floors , the top floor and there was a sort of attic converted into a bar, from here you had a fantastic panoramic view of the Mosque of St. Sophia really charming.
The next morning around 7 am breakfast was ready , a self-service with a lot of freshly cut fruit and many other delicacies.
I can assure you that so far this is the hostel that I liked most of all the ones where I have been, 5stars for position, cleaning and price.
Highly recommended .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,277 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,949 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Property: Cheers Hostel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing