We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere awesome staff”
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 1,204 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere awesome staff”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hostel is right in the centre of the old city, and you get an amazing view of Agia Sofia from the hostel bar on the top floor! Really,its just in front of you!:)

The staff is what really makes this place amazing though. Very friendly and always willing to help! We came back at 2:30 one night and the staff on duty opened up the bar for us to finish up our night! The following night a bunch of us all met up and another one of the staff took us out to a local coffee place! Really couldn't have asked for friendlier people.

There's breakfast every morning, until 11, great if you had a big night and can't make the early breakfast schedules. The food is fresh and the fruits are yummy!

The establishment is clean and even though it was full when I was there, I never had to wait for the bathroom or the shower for more than a minute.

Alex

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandroschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    110
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
101
333
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lectoure, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were 8 friends who spend time in Istanbul, during 3 days. We arrived with interval, but no worry: Cheers Hostel welcome each of us with smile and kindness.
The hostel was our meeting point, and break time. The personnel is friendly, and funny, they take care of us; accomodations are nice. It's a place very welcoming, and just nearly Ayasofya, close to the tram.
The terrace's view is just amazing!!!
Thanks guys (and Girl !) for this good time in your place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaPat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, super friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean rooms. The bar has an incredible view at the top of the hostel which is a welcomed bonus :)

I recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit Istanbul with a bunch of friends.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Benoit O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were a group of french and uk guys and we ve spent 3 days at cheers hostel.
This has been a really good exprerience. I ve travelling a lot around the word and tried a bench of different hostels. This one us really special : the personel is really friendly and we feel like in a familly. Hightly recommended! ronan

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ronan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed there for 9 nights in November. Excellent position in quiet lane near Aya Sofia, close to the good tram service. Standard twin private room was across the street from the hostel in separate building. Small room with little natural light, no bedside lights or chairs, but large ensuite with constant hot water. Housekeeping not exceptional. Unsolicited free upgrade to a better, larger and lighter room with balcony in same building for 4 nights of our stay, which was much appreciated. Excellent Turkish breakfast 8.30-11.30, altho sometimes late starting. Staff friendly and pleasant - did their best to help with queries and did not push local tours etc. Quiet at night. Good rooftop bar with fire and super views. Interesting fellow guests.

Room Tip: Check where the room is - apparently some private rooms are in a separate building two blocks away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This place was everything that I needed and more. It has a wonderful cozy and chill atmosphere and just seems to attract great people. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and gave me fantastic suggestions for the best cafes and places to go off the beaten track. Everything is clean and bright, and there is a great little bar on the top floor with a stunning view of the Hagia Sophia. The location is absolutely ideal - about a 2 minute walk from most of the major sites in old town. Just a great experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplewolflover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location near the Blue mosque and Aya Sofia. Also very close to travel agents for buying bus tickets to Cappadochia and elsewhere/.Friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and very chilled out upstairs bar with awesome views

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,150 in Istanbul
3,323 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,150 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,204 in Istanbul
736 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,204 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Property: Cheers Hostel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,204 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing