We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and roof top bar!”
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing staff and roof top bar!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms were clean, air conditioned, really nice and comfortable. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, made bookings for us and even emailed to say have a safe flight. Breakfast was included and the best I've ever had in a hostel. Location was perfect, a quiet street but right in the middle of town. The icing on the cake though was the bar on the top floor with a chillout area at one end and beautiful views over the mosque at the other. We had a great party up there with one of the staff, Ilhan, an absolute legend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannanigans23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    110
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
101
330
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Not only do I love the city, but this hostel was so lovely. I read a lot of reviews of other hostels that said the staff were seedy, that is not the case with this hostel. The staff were very kind and always willing to offer advice on what to do or see. The bar on the top level is well worth a look at. It had the most incredible view. We were unaware that there was a shuttle that ran to and from the airport to hostels, so on the way to the hostel we caught multiple trains and trams. The hostel however, is pretty close to a tram stop. I would recommend trying to get the shuttle... we got it to the airport and it was so much better than trying to lug around baggage on a crowded tram. From the tram stop, it was pretty easy to find after asking a few locals where to go, and once you get close, there are signs pointing down an alley. It is in the best location in the old town. So close to the Blue Mosque and very close to restaurants. It's only about 10 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar. I would definitely recommend this hostel, and I plan on coming back to Istanbul, it was truly incredible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

7 of us stayed here and was an so much fun. The staff were amazing, with a great sense of humor. They helped us out alot and joked with us and had a great roof top bar where we partied all afternoon, drinking and playing music with some of the staff. What a wonderful place. I will definitely be visiting again and would love to see them all again. :) Good times

Room Tip: Tell them Nick sent you :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carntbeatme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
215 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at Cheers hostel for a few nights last month during my trip to Istanbul. Great place, but a bit tough to find for cabs. Most did not know it or had trouble finding it. So, once we got to know the area better, we opted to just get dropped off in front of a restaurant and walk through the alley to get to the place. Otherwise a good location close to the major sites and a short walk to the tram. I opted to have the shuttle pick me up from the airport for 30 EUR to avoid getting lost when I arrived. The local metro might have been ok, but with luggage I say the shuttle was probably best. Pack light because you will be taking a winding staircase up to your rooms. The staff was helpful and the rooftop was a nice spot to relax and just enjoy the view after a long day of walking. The wifi works well and rooms were clean. There's even a filtered water jug near the kitchen where you can drink cool water or fill up as you head out for the day. Breakfast was ok with fresh sliced veggies, hot turkish tea, and bread/jam.

Room Tip: Try to get the lower level room or second level. This will save you from carry all the luggage up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4GTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Great experience and very knowledgable staff. Was traveling alone and they gave me good advice and guidance. Definitely recommend it to anyone passing through. Perfect location for sightseeing in the old city, conveniently located near two tram stops. Tarik, Salem and the rest of the Cheers team are awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty-IceHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hostel is easy to find and the public transport in Istanbul being very efficient, there is no need to be transferred from the airport.

Although the location of the hostel could hardly be more central, it is also very calm. You can spend the evening sitting on the quiet terrace at street level reading, writing and watching stray cats walk by or go to the rather noisy bar upstairs. If you choose the terrace (as we did), you can get your own drinks and food (which is nice) or you have to walk three floors to get something from the bar.

We really liked the mix of people of different ages and backgrounds staying at the hostel. It was easy to socialise.

Some reviewers mentioned the noise from the bar in the rooms directly beneath it. We also slept in one of those. I didn't mind, but my girlfriend who is a light sleeper said that she would have enjoyed a quieter place (and she was using ear plugs!).


Other points to consider:
Clean bathrooms and great internet connection.
Comfortable bunks, spacious rooms, but a reading light would have been great.
We felt very safe.
There are no self-catering facilities.
If they say that breakfast begins at 8:30, come at 8:45, otherwise you will be asked to wait until everything is ready.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Such an awesome stay! It was the beginning if our Europe trip and i couldnt have been more happy to start it of here with the loveliest staff and awesome company. Alot of fun and an awesome location, such a good breakfast (one of the best on our trip). Had a crazy night drinking with the staff and made good friends, the small roof bar is a little cramped but worth the view and atmos. I would recommend Cheers to anyone :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausmillner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,273 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,962 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Property: Cheers Hostel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing