We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel, great location, amazing & friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Hostel, great location, amazing & friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Really nice, well kept and clean hostel. Location, Location, Location! The hostel makes sightseeing extremely accessible as many of the main attractions are within walking distance or a short metro ride away. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and make sure you feel right at home. Especially since the staff are all locals, I could always trust their recommendations for what to do, where to eat, or party. Would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Istanbul. Tarik and Samet are amazing people who will take good care of you! Samet is very friendly and hospitable and took me and my friends for a day trip to Prince's Island. He made our journey there easy and stress free. Oh and not to mention the chef who prepares breakfast is really funny, and always made the start of my day a cheerful one :)

Bonus: Rooftop bar has an amazing view of the Blue Mosque, went there for a few beers every night during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    110
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
98
312
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff, reasonably priced, very close to the Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. Breakfast is ok, although not really continental. WiFi worked well and the bar was a great social place to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinfrancis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Cheers was the absolute best hostel I have stayed in throughout Europe. The staff were incredible. I was very sick whilst staying there and Samet made me soup, tea and made sure I was feeling ok. Not only was he super friendly, he was extremely helpful and such a generous person. We celebrated a friends birthday whilst in Istanbul and he bought her a Turkish lamp and shot glasses! What a man! This hostel is what every hostel should strive to be like. The rooms were very comfortable, the bathrooms were clean (massive plus). Would highly reccommed it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaGrace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights during my 5 weeks travels around Europe and it really is what every hostel should strive to be!
The most friendly of staff, particularly Sam (Samet) who was always interested in what we had in store for the day, eager to see our purchases at the end of a day, made my friend tea and soup when she was sick and even bought my other friend a gorgeous Turkish lamp on her birthday!
An excellent location right in the heart of the cultural part of Istanbul and I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Istanbul... already sent my sister there for later this month!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livohosko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Best location possible. It's right next to the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. There's an excellent view of the Hagio Sophia from the terrace. Most places you would want to see in Istanbul are within a 20 minute walk and anywhere else can be accessed relatively cheaply by taxi. Staff was very nice and helpful. They knew all the best places to eat. Meals were provided. The only negative was that I didn't have Wifi in my room, but then again you should be out spending time in the city and not on the internet! It was also slightly difficult to find but keep asking around and the locals will eventually point you in the right direction. Rooms were nice. If I go to Istanbul again I know where I'm staying!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Affan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

On my long way from Asia to Ukraine I decided make small stop and see Istanbul, as I was so fun about anchient world in childhood. So I want to stay in the center but not too expensive too much, and this hostel is the perfect choice. You can walk from it to all castles by sea shore, see aja sofia when skyping your parents (cant be better), just have a lot of fun walking and talking to locals and... Im tottaly in love with Istanbul now, and its all because of you guys!
Breakfast is big and good, Internet is fast, room is clean, showers - also clean and proper

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurtusS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Shared dorms look spacious and really nice. We had a private room which was really big! Simple decoration with simple furniture, but a great comfy big bed. Bathroom was pretty big, with a lovely shower! Unfortunately the wall between the bathroom and room was frosted glass, so not much privacy! But still a great place.

Cheers has a few locations and ours was located a few minutes walk away from the reception, which is quite easy to find if you have a rough guide or map etc. Centrally located and not far from the main sites. Plenty of restaurants nearby too!
Members of staff are the friendliest people ever, they will chat with you and the other guests and even remember your name! They will help you out with anything.

Breakfast is included and is served near the reception. Consists of a normal continental breakfast of breads, fruits etc. There's a great bar which always has a few people in it and sells drinks for a fairly good price (beer and wine for 20 TL).

Transport to the airport is 5 euros, you can get the Tram and the Metro for cheaper but this is less hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kattttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,175 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Property: Cheers Hostel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing