We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 1,204 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Doorn, The Netherlands
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had a very good and relaxed time staying at this hostel. The staff were super-friendly, the other guest were great as well. The two rooms I stayed in were clean and the atmosphere makes the place feel more like home than a hostel. The included breakfast is a very welcome bonus, with the only downside that we had such a good time having breakfast on the front porch, that it was difficult to get away into the city early (that is not a complaint). Really recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    110
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
101
333
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I met fellow travelers who recommended cheers ın Istanbul. Im so glad ı took theır advıce, cheers hostel has everythıng you need when stayıng ın the beautıful Istanbul..perfect locatıon, lovely staff (frıends), lıght rooms wıth comfy beds, free breakfast (turkısh and delıcıous) and a bar (both downstaırs and upstaırs). The upstaırs has a beautıful vıew and sun shınıng ın all through the day. Ive stayed at a few hostels ın Istanbul and thıs has by far been the best! I also travelled through Turkey ıncludıng Cappadocıa and the hostel staff organızed all thıs for me and made ıt so easy!

Room Tip: If you have been backpackıng around for a whıle and feel lıke some quıet tıme choose a 4 bed dorm bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaC684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Simply a great place.. I felt like I am home during my stay thanks to the friendly and entertaining staff and cosy atmosphere.. breakfast they serve is very good (and for free), the view from their bar is worth-seeing, location is quite central and the most importantly, the staff know the best spots of the city which you can not find on the travel guides for sure. I really recommend this place and will definitely stay there during my next trip to Istanbul. Cheers from Stockholm!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evrim117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

While holidaying in Istanbul for 5 nights we stayed at Cheers Hostel Sultanahmet which is brilliantly located right near the Hagia Sofia and within walking distance to all the major sights. Cheers Hostel has a very large range of rooms to suit a wide variety of travelers ranging from share dorms, very basic twin or double rooms to more comfortable private rooms in the newly renovated Cheers Xclusive where we stayed and on which this review and rating is based.
Cheers Xclusive is situated in a block a bit away from the main hostel but the quick walk down for the more than ample breakfast was no problem at all.In fact we felt this room was even better located for the sights, trams and Grand Bazaar with heaps of restaurants just downstairs, many of whom are highly rated in Trip Advisor .Highly recommended is the Anatolia cafe and restaurant just outside of the building where the room is located.Great food and very friendly service.
Our room was huge and airy with king bed, single bed and sofa, tastefully decorated and modern, super clean with nice fresh linen and with a luxurious all marble bathroom. Although there were only two of us the room would easily accommodate four making it great value for larger groups and families given the quality and location. Small suggestion. Given the room is away from the main hostel with it's amenities a kettle with a couple of cups would have made it perfect.
However, the best part of Cheers was Enes ,one of the staff.From the beginning so friendly and helpful.Always ready with advice and tips.Nothing too much trouble. We really appreciated him being there and he made our stay at Cheers just that much extra special.
So whether you are just looking for a place to sleep,a place to meet fellow travelers, or a more comfortable room to relax in after a hard day's shopping and sightseeing Cheers Hostel is recommended. Just say what you are looking for, see Enes, and he will look after you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay!!! Great location in the oldtown. We stayed for 2nights then did a tour around turkey for 1week. We had 2nights in istanbul before we went home and their was no dout where we would stay for those 2 nights. Cheers Hostel!!! The stuff are so helpful and friendly. Stay here if you are in Istanbal. 10/10

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Cheers is without a doubt the loveliest hostel I've ever stayed in, the staff are all welcoming and helpful and the location is excellent. With a wide array of room options - from dorm beds to large fancy private rooms with a bath, there is a solution whatever your budget. As mentioned elsewhere, the bar has a stunning view of Aya Sofia, and the downstairs breakfast cafe area is verdant and comfy. Returning to Cheers after a few weeks in the countryside felt like arriving at the home of a dear friend. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Viv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a great hostel in the old section of Istanbul. Stayed here for 6 nights and did not have a single problem. It is very close to the Aya Sophia and the Egyptian Bazaar. The have a beautiful bar on the top when gives a gorgeous view of the Aya Sophia at night. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,150 in Istanbul
3,325 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,734 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,150 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,204 in Istanbul
736 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,204 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Property: Cheers Hostel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,204 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing