We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home in Istanbul...”
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #4 of 1,235 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Cheers gave me the best impression of Istanbul that no other place could... my stay was perfect. very clean rooms. sheets are new everyday . very healthy atmospher ... rooms are enlighted and the view on the suspended garden brings more joy to my day... a reall freindly and very nice staff; very helpful and welcoming.... Onur... Tarik... Yassin... all of them....
Cheers offers a wonderful opportunity to meet poeple from all over the world. chilling at the terrasse chatting with others or being at the roof top terrasse wich has an amazing view on Aya Sofia... offers excellent quality time ever....
I will definately come back and most of all I will recommand it to all my friends visiting Istanbul....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZahraTagnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
There are newer reviews for Cheers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 915 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

I came to Istanbul for a conference but wanted a nice place in Sultanahmed where I could meet interesting people. Cheers hostel was just that.
My ensuite room was super clean and nicely furnished. The communal areas were great.The roof top terrace has an amazing view onto the Aya Sofia and there is nice outside seating where one can watch daily life and drink apple tea or Turkish coffee.
The staff have been superb: welcoming, friendly, attentive, and helpful and the hostel dog earns this place extra bonus points for cuteness.
Breakfast is plentiful and delicious with a lot of fresh fruit and vegetables, tea, coffee, bread and a variety of spreads.
It was my first time in Istanbul and Cheers made it special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AresQui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I loved staying at Cheers hostel, its situated in the best location possible, walking distance to all of the major sites. The staff were so friendly and helpful. always going out of their way to help you. The rooms were always clean and most importantly they have air conditioning!! This was one of the best hostels ive stayed at and i would highly recommend it to anyone coming to Istanbul

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Staying at Cheers Hostel was one of my most edifying experiences while travelling in the east. Staff were exceptionally friendly, rooms were clean and air conditioned and the location was perfect. Breakfast was served for free every morning and was one of the best breakfasts I've had while staying at a hostel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Cheers Hostel has one of the best locations of any hostel i've ever stayed at. Walking distance from many of istanbuls major tourist attractions, including an amazing view of Aya Sofya from the hostels 3rd level bar. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend Cheers Hostel to anyone going to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samuelphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Perfect location, easy to find and close to everything by walk. The staff is great, they're really welcoming and ready to give advices and information.
Always good music playing at the reception !
Rooms are clean and confortable with nice thematics name instead of boring numbers.
Nice bar on the roof. I had my birthday there and everyone celebrated with me so there are plenty of opportunities to have fun and make friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elianne90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here twice within a 2 week period as I was starting/ending private tour. Found the manager to be really friendly especially as he waived our first nights price as we had airline trouble and emailed to advise we would be checking in a day later. He was very kind to only charge us for the one night. Breakfast is included which is a nice simple breakfast. My husband and I stayed in a budget private room that was very small with no windows or fan but was cheap & clean so can't complain. Would recommend upgrading to a private room with an ensuite which we saw and liked but was out of our budget range. Wifi worked fine, bar area was a little small but atmosphere at hostel overall was good.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,385 reviews
Basileus Hotel
#26 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,235 in Istanbul
765 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#3 of 1,235 in Istanbul
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,235 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $16 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing