We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Istanbul”
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #4 of 1,249 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We travelled with another couple and booked 2 private double rooms in the adjacent building. Think it was approx £60 per night per couple. Our room looked onto the street and although had no air con (which we knew) it did have an electric fan tower which helped. Our friends room which had air con looked out onto an alley and did smell a bit of mold or mildew.
Rooms were ok, the usual for a hostel. Good base for all the sigths especially the old twon, and the roof top bar has an amazing view of the Hagia Sophia.
Tariq(?) the owner or manager was helpful and the staff in general were helpful. Breakfast was the same everyday but plenty of it and included in the price. Bread, cheese, olives, tomatoes and cold boiled eggs. The outside tables at the front were a nice place to eat breakfast.
Overall a good, cheap stay in the middle of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BimbleEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 929 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel, it is located near everything you want to see and do. The staff is friendly and rooms are pleasant! I didn't want to leave. The rooftop bar allows for easy socializing at night and computers with free Internet is provided downstairs

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Staff at this hostel are simply amazing, really helpful and nice. The rooms and showers are really clean, and you have quite a view from the rooftop bar - on Aya Sofia.
The location is perfect for people wishes to visit blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and the palace.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solene1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The best parts about this place are:
1. Super friendly owner and manager who will do everything for you. Really will plan anything for you and take care of you. Also will tell you the cheapest and most local ways to see Istanbul.
2. The view from the rooftop bar. Gorgeous.
3. Location. It's not in a party area at all. It's totally in the sightseeing tourist area. BUT cabs are cheap and most importantly it is near the tram and also near the ferry area. Way more variety of places you can get to than if you stayed in Taksim, for example

Overall great clean place. Definitely go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxxyville88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Cheers hostel is just great.
Very nice, clean, in the heart of Istanbul but in a quite lovely spot... Plus a terrace with a beautiful view.
Really the best atmosphere...

The staff was very nice and helpful.




  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sofia1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Perfect location and amazing staff. They get well out of their way to make you feel at home and help in any way they can. The bar is great as well as breakfast, which is probably the best I've ever had at a hostel.

Whenever I find my way back to Turkey, I'm certainly not staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nhatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

As this was my first time in Istanbul, I needed a few things. I needed a place that I felt comfortable in a great locatıon, with a fun atmosphere, and staff that gives great advice. All of thıs was found at Cheers Hostel! I could not imagine a better, more accommodating place. The staff went far out of their way (both literally and fıguratively) to make my trip to Istanbul incredibly special. I love Cheers Hostel--and I am very sad to leave but excited to come back. See you soon :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janedifabbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#455 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#3 of 1,249 in Istanbul
763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,249 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,249 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#12 of 1,249 in Istanbul
276 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#11 of 1,249 in Istanbul
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,249 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $14 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing