We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy meal.”

Sultania Restaurant
Ranked #96 of 13,715 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Diner, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Classy meal.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

In this area there are plenty of places to eat with most of them hawking for business - this one doesn't as it is one of the more classy establishments and you do of course pay a bit more.
We thought paying extra (and still not expensive) was well worth it for the ambience, food and service offered.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmak Hotels T, Guest Relations Manager at Sultania Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear Leigh C ,

Thank you very much for your valuable review here about our restaurant.It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and went home with memorable moments from Istanbul.
Your feedback is very important to us as our guest satisfaction which is our main priority.
We would love to welcome you back here again on your upcoming trips.

Warm Regards,

Sultania Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    56
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Average Food. Friendly Service.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I feel bad giving this place an "average" review, yet the food was quite boring. We ordered bread and dips to begin with. We received the bread and some olive spreads and were told these were complimentary. We never got any dips which we had hoped ie. Hommus, Baba Ganoush, Beetroot etc. Our two mains were nothing special. Very presentable, but quite dry and bland. One being the authentic turkish goulash, the other being the grilled lamb special.
The setting was nice, and the service very friendly. However it was disappointing to see the people at the restaurant across from us banqueting on delectable looking dips and breads, and being served flaming main meals. I will have to try that one next.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmak Hotels T, Guest Relations Manager at Sultania Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear Alexander R,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review about our restaurant.However we are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dinner.We are kindly asking from you another chance to serve you and make your dinner memorable.
We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Sultania Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“small but big”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we had the breakfasts in that restaurant with the reccomendations of RABIA we had our dinner there. Our waiter was Murat and he was so gentleman and wise all about turkish cousine. the food that we had remind us the Ottoman life

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank joqer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmak Hotels T, Guest Relations Manager at Sultania Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear joqer1985 ,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write such a nice review about our restaurant.We are happy to hear that we could fit your all expectations.We would love to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,

Sultania Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice views from roof restaurant”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The restaurant on the roof of the Yasmak Sultan hotel offers nice views over Sulthanamet district and Golden Horn. Quite an extensive menu, the food we had was good.
Pity the waiter tried to cheat us on wine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TinekevB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmak Hotels T, Guest Relations Manager at Sultania Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear TinekevB ,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write such a nice review about our restaurant.We are happy to hear that we could fit your all expectations.But we are sorry to hear that your thoughts about waiter. There must been some misunderstood but if we made you think that way we are deeply sorry for this.

Warm Regards,

Sultania Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We didn't know where to eat, landed here, were well happy with food, service and price!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The better half wasn't sure where she wanted to eat and gave me the task to decide. Facing a night of wondering round looking at menu's indecisively we wonder past Sultania and were welcomed by a friendly face. We'd been to a roof restaurant the night before and although overwhelmed by both the view and price, we weren't overwhelmed by the food itself. I figured we would just take a main and leave but the waiter pointed out that if we ate down stairs (there is a roof restaurant as well - this wasn't where we ate the night before by the ay) it is cheaper and there was a offer of two starters, one main, desert and drink for 13.99 euros! After the better half being unhappy that I had made a decisive decision for the first time in 14 years we quickly got drinks and both decided to go the offer. We weren't disappointed - much better than the food we'd eaten the night before. What is more it was a dam site cheaper. We were served extremely well even to the point of having the bones removed from my fish. The waiter chatted and gave us tips on things to do without pushing tours as happened at other restaurant. We went from a bickering couple to full, happy and checking the bill three times because it was such good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richiric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmak Hotels T, Guest Relations Manager at Sultania Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2016
Dear Richiric ,

Thank you very much for your valuable review here about our restaurant.It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and went home with memorable moments from Istanbul.
Your feedback is very important to us as our guest satisfaction which is our main priority.
We would love to welcome you back here again on your upcoming trips.

Warm Regards,

Sultania Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultania Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sultania Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing