We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touring the city using public transport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discover Istanbul

Discover Istanbul
Ranked #171 of 402 Tours in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are planning to visit Istanbul or any destination in Turkey you can ask me whatever information you need. I am a professional tourist guide in Istanbul. I've been living in the old city (the ancient Constantinople) since I was born.It is a pleasure for me to introduce you to the beauties of my city, to tell you about its history, culture and daily life. Beside visiting the must-see monuments of Istanbul, I like to show my guests also the less-known districts and make them experience the Turkish life style.Shortly, I enjoy making you "Discover Istanbul".
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Touring the city using public transport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This amazing city has a vast netwrok of safe, affordable and reliable public transporation starting from Bus, Train, Trolley and underground. The taxi can be tricky because although most of the taxi drivers are good people, there are few that will take advantage of tourists which puts them on just about the same level as Newyork cabbies.

There are two [Public transport]different ways to get to the city[old and new]. The city bus called HAVATAS or the train. From my personal experience, the bus is easier and quicker. It stops at the Old city[SULTANAMET] and the new city[TAKSIM SQUARE] which is the last stop. The fare is very reasonable too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lyttonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Where do you start!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Istanbul is a lovely and beautiful city. Combining old and new, visit the spice market, a joy to visit with the sight and smell of all those lovely spices. The colours are amazing and the smell is incredible but not overpowering. Just go for a walk around lots of rug shops and some amazing new clothes designers (well worth having a look in their shops) Amazing gold and jewellery shops. Visit the great mosque, it will blow you away. It is so beautiful with its amazing colours inside and out. Lots to see and do, take a day trip or just wander about, you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,046 reviews
672 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Fantastic City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I just love lstanbul. A vibrant, exciting, interesting and historic city this is the place to visit. Culture and modern living all in one hit. Amazing and I'll be back

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Istanbul, a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Simple as the title say, it is a must see place. I have visited Istanbul twice before and was OK. now it is totally different and so nice to be in. I went there during the Easter and the weather was perfect, nice in the morning, little cold at night.
Again, if you have not visited there, please do.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ElMsafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In transit at Istanbul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was on way to Zurich, from Delhi and had to change planes at Istanbul.

The aircraft zoomed over the Sea of Mermara/Straits of Bosphurous. A beautiful view, was possible because of clear blue sky and no clouds.

Fantastic view. Got a birds view of the city, which looked attractive, with buildings and construction activities appearing to be full swing.

Ships visible from aircraft were indeed very attractive/romantic. Whatever you may say.

The Airport was also nice. Small, busy and homely.

Plenty of locations to eat and spend time. Only language problems, a bit. You have to talk with sign language, interspersed.

Perhaps, a stay and visiting the city is calledfor in future.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhaskar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Istanbul also viewed

 

Been to Discover Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing