We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Levni Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Levni Hotel & Spa
Ranked #18 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I had a delightful stay at Levni Hotel. Despite being a bit tight our room was clean, the bed comfy and the ensuite bathroom was more than adequate. There were many positives about this hotel. We did have a fruit platter and pastries when we arrived and late checkout was arranged for ya on our last day. The location could not have been better. It was also set back from the road so was quiet at night. It is walking distance to all the main tourist attractions, cafés and restaurants in the old city and close to the tram and train. The best feature of this hotel is the staff. Starting with Maria, guest liaison person, who could not have been more helpful. We had not one staff member who wasn't helpful and friendly. We found the omelette cook very friendly and accommodating. We witnessed other guests being incredibly rude and demanding and never saw any staff member react poorly. We plan to return to Istanbul and will definitely stay at Levni again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

First time in Istanbul.... Excellent experience.....
The hotel was brilliant. We were greeted by Maria, our personal Relations Manager whom introduced us to the Hotel and walked us around. We were upgraded to a Superior room.
The view from the room was brilliant looking out onto the Old City. The room itself was brilliant with abundant space and fantastic air con. Above all it was spotless. The room was cleaned to a very high standard every day.
The one aspect that stands out above all else was the hospitality of the staff. Maria the manager whom welcomed us was absolutely brilliant. She and her staff went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable. Her reception staff were also fantastic, giving us detailed information about sightseeing tours and, unfortunately, the best shopping malls (unfortunately for me, my wife thought that was brilliant). The breakfast was absolutely brilliant with a wide choice of food, fresh omelettes made to order and fresh pancakes! The restaurant staff were very polite and helpful.
Besides Maria, I found Aziz to be very helpful and polite!
Overall, a brilliant experience and a place that we intend to return to for further short breaks in Istanbul. A wonderful city, with wonderful people ......

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my family for short break. Hotel is probably smaller than you might expect but have no worries. You are right in the centre of the old town and a short distance from rail and team. Staff unbelievably helpful. I will always remember the wonderful greeting we received on arrival. Have no worries if you are looking for a reasonable hotel just book this one and it won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was our fifth stay at Levni and the first that did not meet expectations. We have always confirmed our room in the past with a particular Levni agent, and specifically request a dessert tray in the room, as is custom in all luxury hotels we have stayed in IST. We were assured that "Do not worry about it. I will arrange a some special things your room."

What we received was a standard deluxe room with little character and no "special things". Although functional, the $190/night rate was exceedingly high for that room.

Perhaps most troubling was the bellhop telling me "That's not enough money" after I gave him 5TL for two carryon bags. As a frequent visitor to Turkey and with family living there, I was taken aback at this comment coming from a Turk.

Another incident at breakfast the next morning confirmed that we probably will not return to Levni. The omelette cook did not want to be there that morning. Rolling eyes and huffing when asked to provide a service. Again, we were surprised when she snapped at a patron in front of us who asked for pancakes. "No! Time over--no more." She was probably having a bad day, but in Turkey, in the service industry, this is a no-no.

Check out was quick, however, the bellhop who took our luggage hounded us to find us a taxi. We politely declined and exited. We travel 5-8 times a year to Istanbul and will be staying in another hotel from here on out. My rating would have been "average" if not for the disagreeable exchanges with the bellhop and omelette cook. Truly unforgivable behavior for an Istanbul hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GuyverII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is our second visit to the Levni Hotel and Spa in Istanbul and will not be the last. Simply put it is the best! We are in the heart of Old Istanbul, walking distance to all tourist spots, but also tram to Asia is literally out the front door, metro buses and ferry boats 10 minute walk or less. Service and comfort is exceeding in every regards. The Hotel is small so the staff quickly learned our names and were always pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Upgrade to view of water is stunning, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Levni Hotel and Spa is a good, upper level establishment located near the main sights in Sultanahmet. Its main strengths are a solid location, a great Turkish breakfast, and good service. With a little more effort, it could be an excellent hotel.

The hotel is very close to Gülhane streetcar station; there are both front and rear hotel entrances. As such, it is very close to the Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque, and other important sites in Sultanahmet, and it’s quite easy to get around to other parts of Istanbul.

Hotel staff seemed strong all around. The front desk was friendly, spoke good English and quickly had me on the way to my room. I had a king bedroom – it was clean and spacious, but it felt like it should have been a little larger. It was however pretty comfortably furnished, with a good amount of closet space and a small fridge. A bad thing was that the “king” bed was really just two smaller beds pushed together, with accompanying small bed sheets – quite disappointing to say the least. Also, there were about 5 separate windows in the room, so it took a little time to close all the curtains. The Wifi worked fine. The large TV had a good number of the normal English channels, as well as a few rarities like NHK World. Noise from outside didn’t really bother me in the room.

The bathroom is decently sized and has some good products. The shower controls could be a little simplified, but I figured it out after a little use. The sink is outside of the bathroom, which has its own advantages and disadvantages.

The free Turkish breakfast is absolutely delightful. There is so much variety, especially cheeses and meats, and even salmon. Service is good too, and the setting is a bright, cheery place.

The modern spa offered an aromatherapy massage, which I tried out. It was pretty relaxing; I just wish that you could get a choice for oils, but the one they used wasn’t bad (I couldn’t identify what it was exactly). The staff served a strong herbal tea after.

On my last day, I used the desktop PCs in the Business Centre. They were a bit finicky in regards to the Internet connection. They often failed to load web pages that had “www.” in front of the address, which was many English language sites. But web page addresses that started off differently seemed to work… Was this due to government censorship of English language sites perhaps, or just a technical issue? It was quite frustrating, as I wasted a lot of time in trying to get them to work properly.

Check-out was as easy as check-in. The concierge in the rear entrance secured my bags for a few hours before I departed for good.

If the hotel improves in a few areas, it would be a top tier luxury spot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GMK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our honeymoon began and ended at Levni, with bookend stays at this lovely hotel. The staff was so helpful - when we arrived, Burcu kindly offered us a drink and spent time showing us where the sites were on a map in relation to Levni. Neither of us had been to Istanbul before, so this gesture made us feel so much more comfortable in the neighborhood. During both stays, the rooms were beautiful and very clean. The spa/pool area was very nice - you need to use a bathing cap to access the pool. The breakfast offerings were vast and delicious - we miss our breakfasts in Turkey now that we are back to the daily grind in the U.S.A.

Thank you Levni Hotel for a great experience - the personal touches you made were thoughtful and made our honeymoon special. We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,111 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,019 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,019 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#29 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Levni Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levni Hotel & Spa

Address: Ankara Caddesi No: 12, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#10 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#12 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $75 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Levni Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Levni Hotel & Spa Old City is a special category (5 star category) hotel located in Sirkeci Istanbul within 5 min. walking distance to many museums and palaces - Topkapi Palace, Santa Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica cistern. All rooms are decorated in modern style. 1 suite and 30 deluxe rooms , 5 Excecutive rooms with jacuzzi some with a very nice Bosporus Sea view. SPA center is avaiable with an indoor pool, sauna, Turkish bath and gym. there are 3 therapy rooms including one for couple massages. Rich Open buffet in the Gourme Restaurant, which has a capacity of 100 pax also terrace cafe is avaiable. There are 2 meeting rooms with 100 pax and 30 pax capacity connected to each other with a lounge and one exclusive VIP room with capacity upto 12 pax. our business center is avaiable with free internet and printing services nex to meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Levni Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Levni Hotel And Spa
Levni Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing