We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Donizetti at Istanbul” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Donizetti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Ranked #310 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Donizetti at Istanbul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great experience at Palazzo Donizetti. Very nice staff and organised. We spent with my family 9 cool days. The place is Central and well equipped. Don't miss the sauna too! Great terrace for the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pejman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    97
    40
    20
    19
See reviews for
45
113
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel was an amazing find, with a courteous staff, a well-appointed room, comfy bed, and an in-house hamam. We had a great time, able to walk anywhere in Beyoglu and easily catch the funicular or metro. Coming back to the room each night was a fulfilling and welcome finish to our long days.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PappyBillbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Comfy beds, spacious room and beautifully furnished throughout.

Accepting the noisy location due to wine bars and cafés (goes quiet after 1am), the location is great for Istiklal (tram, shops, etc) and only a short taxi ride to Topkpi, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar.

Concierge and maintainance man were more helpful and seemed to work harder (with a smile) at looking after guests than the receptionists and waiters. That said, the hotel ran smoothly for us and yes, we would stay again and be pleased to recommend it for those looking for a good base to explore Istanbul.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Palazzio Donizetti Hotel and Hotelsclick scammed us by luring us to the hotel and allowing us to stay then telling us on the third night the rate is not agreed and we have to pay double!

From Hotelclick's website they say...

Why are the prices of HotelsClick lower than the prices shown on the hotel sites?
Hotelsclick operates as a wholesale seller, i.e. a large number of rooms are contracted to us in each hotel. Because we pay for these rooms in advance, the hotel sells to us at a lower price, therefore our saving becomes our clients’ saving.

If they have already bought the room how can the hotel refuse the booking? The Palazzio Donizetti gave us a room on Saturday afternoon as Hotelsclick were not contactable until Monday but our bank confirmed they'd authorised payment to them. Therefore Palazzio Donizetti honoured the booking. However after we'd stayed 2 nights at the hotel Hotelsclick told us that the booking was rejected and we'd have to pay the hotel directly. On the third night the manager refused to return our passport until we'd paid the walk in rate for the room which is nearly double the rate we'd paid Hotelsclick.

In short we feel scammed by hotelsclick, who sold us something they didn't have to sell. We would not have given hotelsclick our credit card details if we'd known they did not have authority to advertise the room we thought we'd booked. We also feel cheated by Palazzio Donizetti who turned down the booking only because the agreed rate wasn't high enough and who didn't tell us they'd refused the reservation until the third night but demanded a higher amount because we'd already stayed. In fact Palazzio Donizetti continue to declare they have never heard of Hotelsclick and have never communicated with them.

Whoever it is that is lying something certainly has gone wrong and a complete lack of customer service has been demonstrated by Palazzio Donizetti and by Hotelsclick.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no windows. The lift doesn't work and there is building work going on making it...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Thornberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have just spent the last hour listening to the hotel manager literally screaming at me down the phone. Why? Because I booked a room with Hotelsclick and he didn't want to accept the price I'd paid.

We were offered a good deal on hotelsclick website on a Saturday afternoon. We arrived at the hotel about an hour after our booking was confirmed by hotelsclick on their website but no email confirmation had been sent. The hotel said they couldn't find our booking. We phoned the bank and they confirmed they'd given authority to Hotelsclick to take the payment. We called Hotelsclick but their office was closed until Monday.

The receptionist, recognising we should rest with our young baby gave us a key to a room and told us they'd sort it all out later. On Monday morning, after we'd stayed at the hotel 2 nights, we received an email from Hotelsclick saying the hotel had declined the booking. We wrote back saying the hotel had given us a room. Hotelsclick told us that we should pay the hotel directly and hotelsclick would give a refund 3 days later. We showed the hotel the emails and said we'd pay directly. The hotel then told us we had to pay almost double the rate we'd paid hotelsclick. I tried to explain that the booking was denied because the hotel refused it lying to hotelsclick saying they were full. The manager said he'd never heard of Hotelsclick and hadn't ever communicated to them but it was illogical of me to want to pay the rate i'd paid Hotelsclick.

I don't know if Hotelsclick are a scam. Certainly their helpline is hopeless and the customer service is terrible but I'm totally shocked by how the manager of the hotel screamed at me for an hour. Until then I was ready to give a positive review as the only negative was the lift was out of order. The reception staff and other staff have been wonderful. Our room was lovely and breakfast was very good too. Big shame the manager behaves the way he does. He should be sacked. It is totally inappropriate for a manager to behave in such a way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendanEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

my experience with the hotel staff and services have been great.
Staff is very nice and helpful. Most important they are very kind.
Location of the hotel is great. It's close to many museums, shopping places and restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Najwa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treviso
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

this was our third time in Istanbul, we deciced this time to stay in Beyoglu choosing Palazzo Donizetti because his good prices, we paid about 80 euro per night. The hotel is beautiful, room was quite big and so the bathroom; is perfectly located, Galata tower, Tunel and Taksim square are at a walking distance, the breakfast is kept in the roof with an amazing view, all the staff was very gentle; the only con is that some noises were coming from the streets around during the night ,this is due of his position in the middle of the sparkling nightlife !! Istanbul is a dream ..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vale77Treviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#420 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Beyoglu
The Peak Hotel
The Peak Hotel
#311 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Beyoglu
Faik Pasha Hotel
Faik Pasha Hotel
#38 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#403 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#153 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Beyoglu
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
#143 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Donizetti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Donizetti Hotel

Property: Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Address: Asmali Mescit Mh. Mesrutiyet Caddesi, No:85, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Donizetti Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Donizetti is a 5 star boutique Hotel, named after the musician Giuseppe Donizetti who lived in Beyoglu, Istanbul in the times of the Ottoman Empire, opens an era for your accommodation rituals in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti Istanbul is a specially designed, Special Certificate Hotel near Istiklal Street, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The luxurious hotel building that was traditionally used as a guesthouse carries footsteps throughout the years, and lives today combining elegance, luxury and comfort. Glorious Italian Carrera marbles, antique Italian Venetian colors, stained glass lighting in addition to high ceilings with classic motifs and golden foils were used in this historical Special Certificate Hotel in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti's 105 year old antique elevator also presents a nostalgic Beyoglu experience as one of the most important 5 star hotels in Taksim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Donizetti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing