We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Ranked #297 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bogaz, Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, perfect location”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel during our visit to İstanbul. It has a perfect location (200 meters to Taksim İstiklal str.) The service , cleanliness, service, personnel and the rooms are over your expectations. We have stayed in room 104 but our parents were given a suite room without any extra charge which was a great treat...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mirillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this chance to thank you very much for being our guests at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel and sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor community.We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. That means simply we have met and exceeded your expectations! Such comments are very motivating and encouraging.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.Please tell our regards to your lovely family.

Warm Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    99
    39
    20
    18
See reviews for
45
115
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rolleston
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We wanted a short stay in Istanbul prior to a cruise, and have a love of traditional old hotels.
The Palazzo Donizetti ticked all boxes, it was well located, a stroll from the busy Galata bridge with its excellent fish restaurants close by, and opposite the glamourous Pera Palace with its historical associations and fame as the hotel chosen by Agatha Christie while she penned Murder on the Orient Express. The area has a wide range of restaurants tucked down side streets, and close by is a terrific , pedestrianised wide street with a wide range of upmarket international stores, and many shops with all of the best of Turkish goods.
We took a taxi from the the airport, and a uniformed doorman nipped smartly out to welcome us, and carry in luggage. The charming foyer was comfortably furnished with welcoming armchairs, low tables and elegant decor. We were shown to a lovely room with wide comfortable bed, charming decor and traditional furniture. The bathroom was beautiful, marble and had an excellent range of quality toiletries.
The ground floor had, surprisingly, an excellent British style pub , and the roof top had a great bar with sweeping city views. This was also the spot for a superb breakfast, offering a wide range of dishes, the usual breakfast dishes and including Turkish specialities, including superb thick yogurt and delicious honey plus a wonderful range of plump juicy fruits.
A prominent feature as you stroll through the foyer, is an amazing old intricate cast iron lift, still functioning. The hotel basement has a small beautiful spa area, with small pool, beauty treatment rooms and a gorgeous marble hamam, with all the traditional treatments on offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a side room if the nighttime Istanbul traffic disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review.There is no better way to explain our central location, room and facilities.There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Such comments are very motivating and encouraging.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

stayed for 4 days. Great location, you could reach everywhere from there by all means. public and private transportation. Nice rooms but should work on having it regulated from A/C to heat individually for each room, the Central system make it unberable. i was suggested to upgrade and pay more so to have bigger windows to open for cooling the room. Breakfast was fair, would have expected more variety.
Pool was small as well as the Hammam which to my surprise been done by a woman, this could be shocking for some but i didn't mind.
Otherwise, a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with windaws to the street because there are some with view to the building shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was very great to read that you had a pleasant stayed with us recently, and we do thank you for sharing your experience with other guests who likes to read hotel's reviews.
We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences Central system has caused during your stay.
We hope to see you very soon again and we will do our best to offer you a room than the one you were accomodated.
Best Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed with the group at the this boutique hotel: great location, service-oriented professional staff, bountiful breakfast, big rooms with nice bathrooms. Palazzo is situated within walking distance of Istikal Avenue, and even closer are nice little markets and local restaurants. Guests can easily walk to public transportation, the Spice Market and the Golden Horn. Those who want to venture farther will find the location convenient to public transportation, boutiques, dining and night life. I loved the view each morning, and the breakfast staff were welcoming as well. The food was fresh and delicious. This hotel certainly exceeded my expectations, except on one point. The service at the hotel bar was nearly non-existent, so that was a disappointment. Otherwise, a stellar experience, and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGuerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay!
Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Istiklal Avenue and many Istanbul attractions like Taksim Square, Pera, Galata Tower,Tunnel Area etc...
In addition, it offers easy access to old part of to city ( Sultanahmet Area ) by a short tram ride and a few steps away Sishane Metro.
We sincerely apologize for the service at the hotel bar during your stay.We take all the feedback very seriously, as we use this our key tool to improve experience that we can give to our future guests.There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit to Istanbul !

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Recently stayed at palazzo. Awesome boutique hotel. Real feel for original istanbul city. Spacious room awesome front desk staff. Perfect location for enjoying istiklal st. Walking distance to grand bazaar at top of hill so going down ok but coming little strenuous. Hamam n pool were little too dark for my taste so did not try them. Attendant very nice n informative if we wanted to use.would definitely go back there

Room Tip: All rooms I think are good street noises stop after 1 am so I wasn't bothered by the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for nights and on the whole it was excellent. It is a very well located hotel which provides some respite from the touristy Sultanahmet and mad night life of Beyoglu (a fair few are located a convenient stumbling distance away)...

Pros:
- they accommodated our 6am check in which we were very grateful for
- comfortable clean rooms and fantastic showers
- helpful concierge
- excellent location
- lovely roof top bar/restaurant - fabulous views and delicious food/wine
- excellent spa facilities
- peaceful in a pretty busy area

Cons:
- the staff in the spa were a little unwelcoming when we first visited which was a shame as the facilities themselves are lovely
- Our hotel room seemed to be in an area of the building with outward facing windows but with no natural light which was a bit strange
- when we checked out we were told we'd drunk the wine in the mini bar when we hadn't. Two empty bottles were produced from our room (apparently) which we were nothing to do with us and it was a real shame to end on such a note. The reception staff were great and didn't charge us but I was upset by the accusatory nature of some of the other staff which was unnecessary. Something to watch out for I guess!

Overall, completely recommend this place, we thought it was a real find.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very nice hotel, friendly staff, especially reception desk. Sedat, the concierge, was always helpful and polite. Comfortable rooms. Very nice breakfast room overlooking the Golden Horn. Convenient location near Istiglal Street and many nice restaurants, easy transport amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#377 of 1,141 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#412 of 1,141 in Istanbul
69 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#140 of 1,141 in Istanbul
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Peak Hotel
The Peak Hotel
#354 of 1,141 in Istanbul
423 reviews
Beyoglu
Rose by Molton Hotels
Rose by Molton Hotels
#652 of 1,141 in Istanbul
337 reviews
Beyoglu
Faik Pasha Hotel
Faik Pasha Hotel
#36 of 1,141 in Istanbul
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Donizetti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Donizetti Hotel

Property: Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Address: Asmali Mescit Mh. Mesrutiyet Caddesi, No:85, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Donizetti Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Donizetti is a 5 star boutique Hotel, named after the musician Giuseppe Donizetti who lived in Beyoglu, Istanbul in the times of the Ottoman Empire, opens an era for your accommodation rituals in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti Istanbul is a specially designed, Special Certificate Hotel near Istiklal Street, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The luxurious hotel building that was traditionally used as a guesthouse carries footsteps throughout the years, and lives today combining elegance, luxury and comfort. Glorious Italian Carrera marbles, antique Italian Venetian colors, stained glass lighting in addition to high ceilings with classic motifs and golden foils were used in this historical Special Certificate Hotel in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti's 105 year old antique elevator also presents a nostalgic Beyoglu experience as one of the most important 5 star hotels in Taksim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Donizetti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing