We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Ranked #236 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for nights and on the whole it was excellent. It is a very well located hotel which provides some respite from the touristy Sultanahmet and mad night life of Beyoglu (a fair few are located a convenient stumbling distance away)...

Pros:
- they accommodated our 6am check in which we were very grateful for
- comfortable clean rooms and fantastic showers
- helpful concierge
- excellent location
- lovely roof top bar/restaurant - fabulous views and delicious food/wine
- excellent spa facilities
- peaceful in a pretty busy area

Cons:
- the staff in the spa were a little unwelcoming when we first visited which was a shame as the facilities themselves are lovely
- Our hotel room seemed to be in an area of the building with outward facing windows but with no natural light which was a bit strange
- when we checked out we were told we'd drunk the wine in the mini bar when we hadn't. Two empty bottles were produced from our room (apparently) which we were nothing to do with us and it was a real shame to end on such a note. The reception staff were great and didn't charge us but I was upset by the accusatory nature of some of the other staff which was unnecessary. Something to watch out for I guess!

Overall, completely recommend this place, we thought it was a real find.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    99
    40
    20
    18
See reviews for
49
116
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very nice hotel, friendly staff, especially reception desk. Sedat, the concierge, was always helpful and polite. Comfortable rooms. Very nice breakfast room overlooking the Golden Horn. Convenient location near Istiglal Street and many nice restaurants, easy transport amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

First visit to Istanbul would be a great experience specially if you have a good access to subway, shopping center, historical buildings, and also Istiklal street and Taksim square.
Palazzo is about 1 minute walk away from Istiklal street, 1 minute walk away from Shishhane Subway station and 5 minutes walk to Galata Bridge which you can taste original Turkish sea foods.
Around the hotel are a handful of bars and coffee shops which you can spend your afternoon time and enjoy drinking Turkish coffee, Yeni Raki or anything else.
In addition to great location and access, the roof restaurant which breakfast is served, has a great view of gulf and mosques which is remarkable. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
The staff could speak English quiet well and are helpful.
The only disadvantage is the sleep quality in weekends, because the nearby bars are noisy till dawn.
I believe it worth the money we payed and recommend you to do so.... :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamran1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I went there over the August bank holiday weekend, the hotel is ideally located (5mins form Istiklal street) with good night life. The food was average but the personel was really frendly.I will stay again, good value for money. The room was big, spacious and with free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogesh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a very late review since I stayed there in April 2013 for 4 nights with my husband. We had a deluxe double room. The hotel's architecture and interior design are very nice mostly rustic as if u were living in the nineteenth century. Staff are very friendly and most of them speak English. Our room was average in size not too small with a very good wifi connection and a tea and coffee maker although I could not use it because there was no coffee nor tea even after asking for it !! Its location suited us since it's a five minutes walk from istiklal street where the night life and the hotel itself is surrounded by pubs which makes early sleeping impossible eespecially on Saturday (we didn't mind coz we were out every night till late) . What disappointed me is the empty small inside pool and the closed rooftop restaurant it would have made all the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zkanjos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Love the hotel with it's stile and location - really make a great difference if you like strolling in the late evenings for busy Istanbul streets.

Personnel, Reception and Room are all good

Breakfast quantity/variation could be improved - Asked for Cappuccino had to pay an extra and got a small cup ... pastries was not fresh (congelated/microwave). Really get the breakfast fixed , why not use the roof top too !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuigiL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good location! 5mins form Istiklal street- This was my second visit to Turkey- the first time I stayed at the Pera Rose, where the Staff was not so friendly. However, This time my experience was totally different. Amazing service from hotel staff, especially the afternoon/night shift staff at reception. The afternoon/night staff at the reception (sorry forgot his name) gave us great advice about nice places in Istanbul we wouldn’t have discovered if it wasn’t for him. The morning staff also guided us on how to take the ferry to Princess Island which saved us a lot of money we did not have to take the tour (we were 7 people at the time)

Breakfast is nice at the rooftop restaurant, food okay. Amazing views as it looks over Istanbul.

Our friends, who stayed at the same hotel were complaining about their room as it had one window and it looked over the hotel wall.

But overall, service is good and friendly staff 

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeeniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#431 of 1,156 in Istanbul
635 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#383 of 1,156 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#136 of 1,156 in Istanbul
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Faik Pasha Hotel
Faik Pasha Hotel
#36 of 1,156 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Beyoglu
The Peak Hotel
The Peak Hotel
#336 of 1,156 in Istanbul
433 reviews
Beyoglu
Rose by Molton Hotels
Rose by Molton Hotels
#660 of 1,156 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Donizetti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Donizetti Hotel

Property: Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Address: Asmali Mescit Mh. Mesrutiyet Caddesi, No:85, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Donizetti Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Donizetti is a 5 star boutique Hotel, named after the musician Giuseppe Donizetti who lived in Beyoglu, Istanbul in the times of the Ottoman Empire, opens an era for your accommodation rituals in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti Istanbul is a specially designed, Special Certificate Hotel near Istiklal Street, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The luxurious hotel building that was traditionally used as a guesthouse carries footsteps throughout the years, and lives today combining elegance, luxury and comfort. Glorious Italian Carrera marbles, antique Italian Venetian colors, stained glass lighting in addition to high ceilings with classic motifs and golden foils were used in this historical Special Certificate Hotel in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti's 105 year old antique elevator also presents a nostalgic Beyoglu experience as one of the most important 5 star hotels in Taksim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Donizetti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing