We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Ranked #237 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Staff was unable to communicate in English and they couldn’t even show us where the hotel was on the map.
The breakfast was, in the best case, average. The first day they didn't even have butter and when we asked they couldn’t understand what we wanted. Bread was terrible.
The room was too small and had a dirty carpet and the air-condition was not working properly so we ended up feeling cold. They kept forgetting to leave towels and bathroom products.
on the ground floor there is a bar and it get really load during the night and as a results we didn’t rest at all. The pool was not open and generally the whole hotel was quite miserable.
As we are a family of 4, we had two rooms but they only gave us one key for each and when we asked for a second one they refused, saying that it is hotel policy! it made our life difficult without reason as we were unable to go outside independently.
Only the location is relatively good.
Would definitely not recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank El G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 344 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

we stayed at this place for 4 days during May, the staff were very very friendly and attentive. the location of the hotel is 5 - 7 minutes walking from Istiklal Street, The most enjoyable part of the hotel was its 7th floor, where meals were served. its a great place with a spectacular view of the Bosphorus. the small alley behind it, two places for kebap are found, although other more enticing resturants and pubs are found in Istiklal.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms that are not on the back of the hotel, since the alley behind it has bars and pubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haya1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdinc E, Manager at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

I 'am very delighted you are happy with Palazzo Donizetti Hotel service.Your valuable review will motivate us with our service in the future.

Wish to seeing you in Palazzo Donizetti Hotel.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in April before meeting our cruise ship. Due to flight delays, rather than arriving 5 PM we got to the hotel about 1AM. We had booked the hotel and a tour of Istanbul along with transportation to and from through our travel agent and it was prepaid. Check in was easy because we were the only ones there at that time of the morning.

The buffet breakfast was good with a variety of fruits, pastries, cold cuts, hot items like eggs and sausages along with some things I didn't ask about.

The room was large with a large bathroom and shower. My only complaint with it was that the sink counter area stopped about three inches short of the wall on each side so things would occasionally fall off the edge.

As others have mentioned there is more noise than I would like but it wasn't constant, just occasionally. I don't think our room was near a main street.

The bellmen at the front door were always on top of things and provided excellent service.

Our stay was pleasant but if in Istanbul again I think I will try one of the major hotels like Hilton, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavenCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdinc E, Manager at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest ,

I'am happy that you left Palazzo Donizetti Hotel happy. I apologise about sink problem you encountered at your accomodation .We'll do our best to solve this problem in our hotel.

We'll be very glad you prefer our hotel again at your next visit to Istanbul.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our family of 6 went to Istanbul to celebrate my mother's 76th birthday. We spent 6 nights at the hotel in 3 rooms. Having read the Tripadvisor comments, I requested weeks in advance three quiet rooms, specifically not on Asmali Mescit, on the same floor and non-smoking. My request was unfortunately overlooked: : the first night , a Saturday, we were given rooms on different floors and of different status. As it turns out, the cheapest room (Standard 415) was the best, being very quiet, the Deluxe Room (212) on Minare Sk was a bit noisy and stuffy (poor ventilation), and the Corner Room (505) on Asmali Mescit and Mesrutiyet Cd , while very spacious and elegant, was so noisy we couldn't sleep at all! Night life in the Taksim area of Istanbul is very active, and up to 4am. Next day the receptionist complied with my request of the three rooms on one floor, but not on three quiet rooms. The rooms were 508,512,515. The apparently more silent corner rooms on Minare Sk were already reserved, so we were put into a Deluxe room (508). There was to be no more night noise after the weekend, but that was wishful thinking. All rooms on Mesrutiyet CD and on Asmali Mescit, meaning most of the rooms of the hotel, are not insulated from the outside street noise. I have appreciated the renovations of the hotel and the beds and bathrooms are very good, the rooms are pleasantly decorated. But I would strongly advise them to consult with the Pera Hotel, opposite the Donizetti, and therefore subjected to the same street noise, and proceed to an effective sound insulation of all windows as the Pera has. The staff is obviously quite distressed at the situation, as we were not the only guests to complain, and their service suffered consequently.

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are the X15 (215,315,415,515) as their windows look to the inside of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariaa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

First had reservation in hilton but after sugestion change it to palazzio
We had the corner suite and I have to say that the room was big , nice and clean
The bed was not double- I think it was tripple at least:-)
Staff very nice and friendly, just the noise out side is what we didnt like

Room Tip: Only top floors, litlle less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdinc E, Manager at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest ,

Palazzo Donizetti Hotel Management is very glad with your positive review with our hotel service.
This review will give us positive energy to improve our service quality more.I apologise about noise problem. We try to take some measures to solve this issue very soon.

Hope to seeing you in Palazzo Donizetti Hotel at your next accomodation.

Kind Regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I really enjoyed my short stay here. First time i had an amazing room with a beautiful view - a suite and secondly a smaller room without a view - studio. Still nice though however didn't sleep as well. I would assume every hotel in Istanbul is noisy though depending on whats happening outside.
Breakfast was amazing. Rooms were absolutely beautiful, staff were friendly and nice. The entire stay was great. The suite was just amazing and the studio was good as well.

Room Tip: Suites are Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudiNZ-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdinc E, Manager at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest ,

I'm very glad to hear that you have been satisfied with your accomodation in Palazzo Donizetti Hotel. As you mentioned with your valuable review unfortunately the area whrere hotel has been is noisy particularly at night.I apologise about this issue and we try to take some measures to prevent this problem very soon.

Kind Regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is located in Taksim, an area full of hotels, restaurants and heavily used by foreign tourists. The hotel has a good position being located just 5 minutes walk from the Sishane subway station and 15 minutes to Taksim Square which offers also a starting point for city bus tours.

The entire hotel is decorated in neoclassical style and has 79 rooms divided into three categories: deluxe rooms, corner suites and suites pasha. The hotel was named after Guiseppe Donizetti, Italian musician who has lived in the area during the Ottoman Empire.

We had a deluxe room. The room is L-shaped and generous like space with a double bed (as they said), but, by chance, we found that in fact there were two beds but perfectly matched each other in such way that you cannot observe this fact. In front of the bed there is a small working desk, the minibar on top of which were waiting quietly the kettle, the cups and glasses and sachets of tea (on the house). The minibar, of course, extra cost and prices ... pfff! ... high. The usual 5 cl bottle of whiskey costs no more and no less than 37 turkish pounds (2, 13 turkish pound / euro).

Above the table is a LCD TV that offers programs in all major languages.

On the left side there is a very spacious wardrobe that is built into the wall and inside you can find a safe (laptop size), free of charge.

The bathroom is also spacious, beautifully decorated with a large shower space. Local production cosmetics available on the sink and other stuff like sewing kit, shower cap, trash bag, etc.

The room itself is beautifully decorated and equipped with interesting furniture that provides a pleasant feeling of comfort and relaxation. Unfortunately, all their work was overshadowed by the carpet from the floor which was not very clean. They had the poor inspiration to choose a pale carpet that retains many traces of stains. Also, the walls are covered with wallpaper in tune with carpet (well, at first maybe they were in tune ... not much longer now). Some small problems arise here: a piece of wallpaper was separated from the wall and started showing its edges on a distance of about one meter, a few centimeters away someone made a black stripe on the carpet (probably with the sole of the shoes) and it was left unpeeled. Of course, there are simple things that can be solved in 20 to 30 minutes with the cleaning solutions from today, but for what, as long as tourists come and say nothing (probably). Barring those issues, the room is clean and pleasant with an immaculate linen and plenty of towels available in the bathroom.

Rooms are connected to a central heating system. The first night I was surprised to see that all the air that comes in the room is cold. After 2 discussions lined up directly with the receptionist , he decided to call "the central heating worker" and told me happy that he will increase the pressure and we will have more heat. What has already happened after about 30 minutes.

Network free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel.

Breakfast is included and is served at Café de Paris restaurant that is attached to the hotel. Access is directly from the hotel and only hotel guests can enter in the morning in the restaurant. Their menu is not very large, but there is everything for everyone: three kinds of cheese, some salami, boiled/ fried eggs, sausages, yogurt, cereals, jam and compotes. Instead, it offers a big variety of pastries. Unfortunately, Turkish coffee and fresh fruit juice were missing. Instant coffee and 2 types of juice concentrate plus several kinds of tea are provided.

The hotel has 2 lifts, one modern and one of old style. The latter can be very old, i do not know exactly, but it operates more slowly. A nice bar with pretty varied assortment of drinks awaits guests in the entrance hall. The seats are not too many maybe because not too many people hanging out there.

The hotel has an indoor pool, spa and sauna free of charge and offers massage and Turkish bath service fee.

All staff deserve to be appreciated for the way they approach and treat all the tourists.

As I said, if you ignore (which I did) the small drawbacks of the camera, I can say that we had a pleasantly weekend in this hotel.

Guidance:Taksim area or the hotel can be reached by metro or by taxi from Ataturk airport . From Sabiha Gokcen Airport (approx. 50 km) only by taxi or bus (not recommended). Here, there is a shuttle belonging Nord Travel Company that provides transportation throughout the city with relatively decent prices. Watch out if you wanna get a round trip with them: they do not issue bills and the might forget about you when the pick-up time is coming ( as it happened to us). Call in advance in the last day just to be sure everything is OK.
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Istiklal street, famous walking and shopping street in Taksim. It is the busiest street I could ever seen. Here you can enjoy a nice lunch or dinner at one of the restaurants on the street, but do not neglected the perpendicular streets that are full of culinary surprises that are more than enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the left side of the hotel on the streets with restaurants. A lot of noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marian1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#147 of 1,163 in Istanbul
265 reviews
Karakoy
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
#118 of 1,163 in Istanbul
848 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#177 of 1,163 in Istanbul
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#174 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,206 reviews
Beyoglu
Corinne Hotel
Corinne Hotel
#192 of 1,163 in Istanbul
333 reviews
New City / Taksim
Faik Pasha Hotel
Faik Pasha Hotel
#40 of 1,163 in Istanbul
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Donizetti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Donizetti Hotel

Address: Asmali Mescit Mh. Mesrutiyet Caddesi, No:85, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $51 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Donizetti Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Donizetti is a 5 star boutique Hotel, named after the musician Giuseppe Donizetti who lived in Beyoglu, Istanbul in the times of the Ottoman Empire, opens an era for your accommodation rituals in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti Istanbul is a specially designed, Special Certificate Hotel near Istiklal Street, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The luxurious hotel building that was traditionally used as a guesthouse carries footsteps throughout the years, and lives today combining elegance, luxury and comfort. Glorious Italian Carrera marbles, antique Italian Venetian colors, stained glass lighting in addition to high ceilings with classic motifs and golden foils were used in this historical Special Certificate Hotel in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti's 105 year old antique elevator also presents a nostalgic Beyoglu experience as one of the most important 5 star hotels in Taksim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Palazzo Donizetti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing