We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$205
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
167
109
44
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
109
44
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsistiklal streetcorner suitesishane metro stationnice hotelgolden horngalata towerbus stopcomfy bedfourth floorroom service isbusiness tripearly checkchoose this hotellocation is greatrooftop restaurantstayed here for nightsnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 365 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

First had reservation in hilton but after sugestion change it to palazzio
We had the corner suite and I have to say that the room was big , nice and clean
The bed was not double- I think it was tripple at least:-)
Staff very nice and friendly, just the noise out side is what we didnt like

Room Tip: Only top floors, litlle less noisy
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdinc E, Manager at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest ,

Palazzo Donizetti Hotel Management is very glad with your positive review with our hotel service.
This review will give us positive energy to improve our service quality more.I apologise about noise problem. We try to take some measures to solve this issue very soon.

Hope to seeing you in Palazzo Donizetti Hotel at your next accomodation.

Kind Regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I really enjoyed my short stay here. First time i had an amazing room with a beautiful view - a suite and secondly a smaller room without a view - studio. Still nice though however didn't sleep as well. I would assume every hotel in Istanbul is noisy though depending on whats happening outside.
Breakfast was amazing. Rooms were absolutely beautiful, staff were friendly and nice. The entire stay was great. The suite was just amazing and the studio was good as well.

Room Tip: Suites are Beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudiNZ-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdinc E, Manager at Palazzo Donizetti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest ,

I'm very glad to hear that you have been satisfied with your accomodation in Palazzo Donizetti Hotel. As you mentioned with your valuable review unfortunately the area whrere hotel has been is noisy particularly at night.I apologise about this issue and we try to take some measures to prevent this problem very soon.

Kind Regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is located in Taksim, an area full of hotels, restaurants and heavily used by foreign tourists. The hotel has a good position being located just 5 minutes walk from the Sishane subway station and 15 minutes to Taksim Square which offers also a starting point for city bus tours.

The entire hotel is decorated in neoclassical style and has 79 rooms divided into three categories: deluxe rooms, corner suites and suites pasha. The hotel was named after Guiseppe Donizetti, Italian musician who has lived in the area during the Ottoman Empire.

We had a deluxe room. The room is L-shaped and generous like space with a double bed (as they said), but, by chance, we found that in fact there were two beds but perfectly matched each other in such way that you cannot observe this fact. In front of the bed there is a small working desk, the minibar on top of which were waiting quietly the kettle, the cups and glasses and sachets of tea (on the house). The minibar, of course, extra cost and prices ... pfff! ... high. The usual 5 cl bottle of whiskey costs no more and no less than 37 turkish pounds (2, 13 turkish pound / euro).

Above the table is a LCD TV that offers programs in all major languages.

On the left side there is a very spacious wardrobe that is built into the wall and inside you can find a safe (laptop size), free of charge.

The bathroom is also spacious, beautifully decorated with a large shower space. Local production cosmetics available on the sink and other stuff like sewing kit, shower cap, trash bag, etc.

The room itself is beautifully decorated and equipped with interesting furniture that provides a pleasant feeling of comfort and relaxation. Unfortunately, all their work was overshadowed by the carpet from the floor which was not very clean. They had the poor inspiration to choose a pale carpet that retains many traces of stains. Also, the walls are covered with wallpaper in tune with carpet (well, at first maybe they were in tune ... not much longer now). Some small problems arise here: a piece of wallpaper was separated from the wall and started showing its edges on a distance of about one meter, a few centimeters away someone made a black stripe on the carpet (probably with the sole of the shoes) and it was left unpeeled. Of course, there are simple things that can be solved in 20 to 30 minutes with the cleaning solutions from today, but for what, as long as tourists come and say nothing (probably). Barring those issues, the room is clean and pleasant with an immaculate linen and plenty of towels available in the bathroom.

Rooms are connected to a central heating system. The first night I was surprised to see that all the air that comes in the room is cold. After 2 discussions lined up directly with the receptionist , he decided to call "the central heating worker" and told me happy that he will increase the pressure and we will have more heat. What has already happened after about 30 minutes.

Network free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel.

Breakfast is included and is served at Café de Paris restaurant that is attached to the hotel. Access is directly from the hotel and only hotel guests can enter in the morning in the restaurant. Their menu is not very large, but there is everything for everyone: three kinds of cheese, some salami, boiled/ fried eggs, sausages, yogurt, cereals, jam and compotes. Instead, it offers a big variety of pastries. Unfortunately, Turkish coffee and fresh fruit juice were missing. Instant coffee and 2 types of juice concentrate plus several kinds of tea are provided.

The hotel has 2 lifts, one modern and one of old style. The latter can be very old, i do not know exactly, but it operates more slowly. A nice bar with pretty varied assortment of drinks awaits guests in the entrance hall. The seats are not too many maybe because not too many people hanging out there.

The hotel has an indoor pool, spa and sauna free of charge and offers massage and Turkish bath service fee.

All staff deserve to be appreciated for the way they approach and treat all the tourists.

As I said, if you ignore (which I did) the small drawbacks of the camera, I can say that we had a pleasantly weekend in this hotel.

Guidance:Taksim area or the hotel can be reached by metro or by taxi from Ataturk airport . From Sabiha Gokcen Airport (approx. 50 km) only by taxi or bus (not recommended). Here, there is a shuttle belonging Nord Travel Company that provides transportation throughout the city with relatively decent prices. Watch out if you wanna get a round trip with them: they do not issue bills and the might forget about you when the pick-up time is coming ( as it happened to us). Call in advance in the last day just to be sure everything is OK.
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Istiklal street, famous walking and shopping street in Taksim. It is the busiest street I could ever seen. Here you can enjoy a nice lunch or dinner at one of the restaurants on the street, but do not neglected the perpendicular streets that are full of culinary surprises that are more than enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the left side of the hotel on the streets with restaurants. A lot of noise from the party people till late in the night plus some local musicians that might "fill" your sleeping hours with their sounds.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marian1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is a nice Hotel for the price that we had paid. Spacious room, clean with big bathroom. Breakfast was nice and the stuff was nice. The hotel is central located very close to Bars and restaurants.
I recommend this Hotel if you get a great deal for the room

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMichalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Arriving early in the morning reception manager Semi E really brighten our day by accomodating us by checking us in into one of the booked rooms serveral hours earlier than he had to. This, as it turned out was one of the better expepriences staying at this hotel. The front service has been very good with attentative staff. However, the negative sides soon started to show. First the room keys did not work tfor any of the rooms. This led to the house having to open for us everytime we wanted to enter any of the rooms. To lighten our days this problem turned of to be intermittent for our entire stay.
To add insult to injury the roof terrace (restaurant with a view of Istanbul) was closed for renovation. No note of this whatsoever on the homepage or during reservation. This was quite a disappointment and I feel cheated. Noting this fact to the reception resulted in a cursory brush off. No compensation was offered.

The hamam is fine. The rooms are quite nice, however, the tolerances between the windows and the window frames are quite huge, so the resulting drafts is not to be ignored. The night club noices on Fridays and Saturdays are notable, however, expected in Istanbul. We stayed on the 5th floor. There was writing on the wallpapers and cigarette burns in the carpeting. The bed sheets had stains on them. In the hallway the smell of sewage can be noted during parts of the day.

We were travelling with a child. The staff was very attentative and takes any opportunity to play with her and assists us as parents.

Again, the first welcome by Semi made our stay a memorable one. Without him I would rate this hotel lower.

Room Tip: Above floor 4
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasse_Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews