We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty acceptable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Ranked #275 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Braila, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty acceptable!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is located in Taksim, an area full of hotels, restaurants and heavily used by foreign tourists. The hotel has a good position being located just 5 minutes walk from the Sishane subway station and 15 minutes to Taksim Square which offers also a starting point for city bus tours.

The entire hotel is decorated in neoclassical style and has 79 rooms divided into three categories: deluxe rooms, corner suites and suites pasha. The hotel was named after Guiseppe Donizetti, Italian musician who has lived in the area during the Ottoman Empire.

We had a deluxe room. The room is L-shaped and generous like space with a double bed (as they said), but, by chance, we found that in fact there were two beds but perfectly matched each other in such way that you cannot observe this fact. In front of the bed there is a small working desk, the minibar on top of which were waiting quietly the kettle, the cups and glasses and sachets of tea (on the house). The minibar, of course, extra cost and prices ... pfff! ... high. The usual 5 cl bottle of whiskey costs no more and no less than 37 turkish pounds (2, 13 turkish pound / euro).

Above the table is a LCD TV that offers programs in all major languages.

On the left side there is a very spacious wardrobe that is built into the wall and inside you can find a safe (laptop size), free of charge.

The bathroom is also spacious, beautifully decorated with a large shower space. Local production cosmetics available on the sink and other stuff like sewing kit, shower cap, trash bag, etc.

The room itself is beautifully decorated and equipped with interesting furniture that provides a pleasant feeling of comfort and relaxation. Unfortunately, all their work was overshadowed by the carpet from the floor which was not very clean. They had the poor inspiration to choose a pale carpet that retains many traces of stains. Also, the walls are covered with wallpaper in tune with carpet (well, at first maybe they were in tune ... not much longer now). Some small problems arise here: a piece of wallpaper was separated from the wall and started showing its edges on a distance of about one meter, a few centimeters away someone made a black stripe on the carpet (probably with the sole of the shoes) and it was left unpeeled. Of course, there are simple things that can be solved in 20 to 30 minutes with the cleaning solutions from today, but for what, as long as tourists come and say nothing (probably). Barring those issues, the room is clean and pleasant with an immaculate linen and plenty of towels available in the bathroom.

Rooms are connected to a central heating system. The first night I was surprised to see that all the air that comes in the room is cold. After 2 discussions lined up directly with the receptionist , he decided to call "the central heating worker" and told me happy that he will increase the pressure and we will have more heat. What has already happened after about 30 minutes.

Network free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel.

Breakfast is included and is served at Café de Paris restaurant that is attached to the hotel. Access is directly from the hotel and only hotel guests can enter in the morning in the restaurant. Their menu is not very large, but there is everything for everyone: three kinds of cheese, some salami, boiled/ fried eggs, sausages, yogurt, cereals, jam and compotes. Instead, it offers a big variety of pastries. Unfortunately, Turkish coffee and fresh fruit juice were missing. Instant coffee and 2 types of juice concentrate plus several kinds of tea are provided.

The hotel has 2 lifts, one modern and one of old style. The latter can be very old, i do not know exactly, but it operates more slowly. A nice bar with pretty varied assortment of drinks awaits guests in the entrance hall. The seats are not too many maybe because not too many people hanging out there.

The hotel has an indoor pool, spa and sauna free of charge and offers massage and Turkish bath service fee.

All staff deserve to be appreciated for the way they approach and treat all the tourists.

As I said, if you ignore (which I did) the small drawbacks of the camera, I can say that we had a pleasantly weekend in this hotel.

Guidance:Taksim area or the hotel can be reached by metro or by taxi from Ataturk airport . From Sabiha Gokcen Airport (approx. 50 km) only by taxi or bus (not recommended). Here, there is a shuttle belonging Nord Travel Company that provides transportation throughout the city with relatively decent prices. Watch out if you wanna get a round trip with them: they do not issue bills and the might forget about you when the pick-up time is coming ( as it happened to us). Call in advance in the last day just to be sure everything is OK.
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Istiklal street, famous walking and shopping street in Taksim. It is the busiest street I could ever seen. Here you can enjoy a nice lunch or dinner at one of the restaurants on the street, but do not neglected the perpendicular streets that are full of culinary surprises that are more than enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the left side of the hotel on the streets with restaurants. A lot of noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marian1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    99
    39
    20
    18
See reviews for
45
115
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is a nice Hotel for the price that we had paid. Spacious room, clean with big bathroom. Breakfast was nice and the stuff was nice. The hotel is central located very close to Bars and restaurants.
I recommend this Hotel if you get a great deal for the room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMichalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Arriving early in the morning reception manager Semi E really brighten our day by accomodating us by checking us in into one of the booked rooms serveral hours earlier than he had to. This, as it turned out was one of the better expepriences staying at this hotel. The front service has been very good with attentative staff. However, the negative sides soon started to show. First the room keys did not work tfor any of the rooms. This led to the house having to open for us everytime we wanted to enter any of the rooms. To lighten our days this problem turned of to be intermittent for our entire stay.
To add insult to injury the roof terrace (restaurant with a view of Istanbul) was closed for renovation. No note of this whatsoever on the homepage or during reservation. This was quite a disappointment and I feel cheated. Noting this fact to the reception resulted in a cursory brush off. No compensation was offered.

The hamam is fine. The rooms are quite nice, however, the tolerances between the windows and the window frames are quite huge, so the resulting drafts is not to be ignored. The night club noices on Fridays and Saturdays are notable, however, expected in Istanbul. We stayed on the 5th floor. There was writing on the wallpapers and cigarette burns in the carpeting. The bed sheets had stains on them. In the hallway the smell of sewage can be noted during parts of the day.

We were travelling with a child. The staff was very attentative and takes any opportunity to play with her and assists us as parents.

Again, the first welcome by Semi made our stay a memorable one. Without him I would rate this hotel lower.

Room Tip: Above floor 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasse_Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in Pera. Really good location.
The rooms (European style) were extremelly good! The bed and shower, one of the best in last trips! The rooms are really big and nicely decorates (not modern).
Our experience with the stuff was not good at all. Even though they were friendly, they were extremelly disorganized. Our first night, they oversold the hotel and has to send us to another hotel.
Location: too good. I say "too", because on friday and saturday night we could sleep fue to the noise of the street. We were on the second floor. Probably, on the 10th floor, it would not be that terrible. But we could not verify it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel has very nice boutique style rooms with good swimming pool, turkish bath, sauna etc. Breakfast is good. The hotel has a nice separate bar and breakfast cafe. Staff is very helpful for arranging restaurant bookings etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Location: This hotel is located less than a minute walk to Istikal street where all the bars, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping areas are located. It's few minutes walking distance to Taksim square.
The room: great spacious clean room and bathrooms. The bed is very comfortable with clean sheets. Do not touch the mini bar because the prices are super expensive.
The hotel has Turkish bath and steam room and a sauna all free of charges. The included breakfast is great with so many options of cold and hot food
If you don’t mind the noise, music coming from the streets and bars especially on the weekends then you love this hotel.
My issue with this hotel is the service. The front desk staff at the two days I was there were not that friendly. One had a hard time responding to my questions in English and the other one was busy looking at the computer screen when I was talking to him and no eye contact.
The bellboys are awesome and will help you more than the front desk staff for sure.
Do not use the hotel airport transport because it is ridiculously expensive. Get a taxi which will cost you 50 Turkish or less depending on the traffic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I spent ages poring over reviews to decide where to stay in Istanbul. For those looking for good sightseeing and great restaurants and bars in the evening the Palazzo Donizetti is ideal.
Don't stay in Sultanahmet if you would like to see the bars before wandering back to your hotel - Beyoglu is much better located and the sites are not far by taxi or tram. You can walk down the hill from this hotel to the Galata bridge and easily access the blue mosque and bazaars from there.
The hotel is good - very nice decor, friendly staff, and our room and bathroom was of a high standard. It's also just a stone's throw from the Pera Palace Hotel so you can go there for a drink in the Orient bar, but stay at Donizetti to make your holiday funds go further.
It is true that if you stay on the Asmali Mescit side Saturday nights can be noisy outside, so it's worth asking for a room at the front of the hotel and on a top floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#368 of 1,141 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#401 of 1,141 in Istanbul
69 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#135 of 1,141 in Istanbul
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Peak Hotel
The Peak Hotel
#355 of 1,141 in Istanbul
423 reviews
Beyoglu
Rose by Molton Hotels
Rose by Molton Hotels
#642 of 1,141 in Istanbul
337 reviews
Beyoglu
Faik Pasha Hotel
Faik Pasha Hotel
#37 of 1,141 in Istanbul
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Donizetti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Donizetti Hotel

Property: Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Address: Asmali Mescit Mh. Mesrutiyet Caddesi, No:85, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palazzo Donizetti Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Donizetti is a 5 star boutique Hotel, named after the musician Giuseppe Donizetti who lived in Beyoglu, Istanbul in the times of the Ottoman Empire, opens an era for your accommodation rituals in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti Istanbul is a specially designed, Special Certificate Hotel near Istiklal Street, suitable for business and leisure travelers. The luxurious hotel building that was traditionally used as a guesthouse carries footsteps throughout the years, and lives today combining elegance, luxury and comfort. Glorious Italian Carrera marbles, antique Italian Venetian colors, stained glass lighting in addition to high ceilings with classic motifs and golden foils were used in this historical Special Certificate Hotel in Istanbul. Palazzo Donizetti's 105 year old antique elevator also presents a nostalgic Beyoglu experience as one of the most important 5 star hotels in Taksim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Donizetti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing