We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a quiet corner in Sultanahment”
Review of Topkapi Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Topkapi Apartments
Ranked #67 of 1,236 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in the second floor apartment with a separate bedroom and sitting room (AyaSofya) for a wonderful week in Istanbul. The location is ideal, with a short uphill walk to the Hippodrome, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. The Sultanahmet tram stop is 10 minutes away and very convenient for most travel to the old and new town sites. The apartment is modestly furnished but very clean with daily maid service. The kitchen is adequate for light meals, and the roof top terrace is a nice place to relax. The wifi and air conditioning worked well. Hamza and Yusef were helpful, arranging transportation, recommending restaurants, and just making us feel welcomed. The price is very reasonable for this very convenient, comfortable and well run rental apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara95033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Topkapi Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Small building with 4 apartments, right behind hypodrome and Blue Mosque by a walking distance. The kitchen is fine to prepare easy meals for the family and the owner was kind and helpful. Also the bathroom is equiped for basic hygiene needs. Air conditioning, internet wifi and washing machine all work perfectly. There is no elevator and staff desk. Cost benefit for a unexpensive stay in Sultanahmet. Yussuf can be readily reached and the cleaner lady supplies towels and coffee everyday. However, the apartment is located in a small street somewhat difficult to find, so be sure to have a good map. Otherwise, the apartment has served well to stay near historical area.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, do prefer the ground floor apartment. Avoid the basement floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel_World63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friendly Professional Staff (Hamzah, Yousuf & Sibel). Very Clean and practical compared other furnished appartments. Close to all tourist historical attractions, restaurants and groceries. Beautiful & simple terrace add value. Seniors to consider an uphill walk to reach hippodrome

Room Tip: Rooms # 3 & 4 are larger and more airier.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our first stay at Topkapi and we will certainly stay again. It is a 4 apartment building with a roof top terrace that is used by everyone one. Morning coffee and evening wine with great views. Yusef and Hamza are very attentive and helpful with service, directions, and advice about the city. It is a 5 minute walk to the major sites of Sultanamet. Istanbul is hot in August and the AC worked to relieve the heat.

Room Tip: The best rooms are 2, 3, and 4. 4 is the top sleeping room and closest to the rooftop terrace.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoteikeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second stay in the Topkapi apartments. We rented three of the four rooms for a family getaway in Istanbul. We loved it! The accommodations worked out great and we loved the terrace for morning coffee and breakfast. You'll never meet nicer, more helpful people than Hamza and Yusuf. The rooms were very clean and welcoming and Hamza and Yusuf are always available to help, if needed. It is just a short walk to the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia and the heart of the old town. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The top apartment is the roomiest but the others are totally adequate.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69dianer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a small hotel with 4 apartments, two suites (nos.3,4), an ordinary room and a basement room. We booked suite 4 (large open plan, with dividing curtain, very bright, top floor, large sitting area, kitchen) despite its relatively high price as we were comparing to other suites in good hotels in Istanbul. On checking in we were shocked to be brought into the small dark ground floor room. We protested and I said we would move hotel - it was a romantic break and I would never have booked such a room even if it were free.
The hotel representative then explained that it was not an accident but they had deliberately downgraded us so as to give a larger space (our room!) to a family with a child. The room was so horrible that we said we would move elsewhere in Istanbul and to stay just one night but were threatened with being charged with the full four night stay unless we agreed to stay here for one night and then be moved to the room we booked (the hotel gave us a trivial discount but in the circumstances that was irrelevant - we just wanted to check out). So, we stayed, and on the second day tidied up and packed all our cases to move. On returning to the hotel we were told that the people occupying our room would not move out and we had to stay another night. So we had to tidy and pack up again on day 3 when we finally were moved; as I had to leave the next day (my companion stayed a day longer) the holiday was totally ruined for us. The hotel didn't respect our reservation, and when we objected strongly they threatened us with charging the full stay amount unless we agreed to stay. They cannot ever be relied on. If you book here, you should not expect to get the room you booked. Be warned.

Room Tip: The hotel does not honour their own reservations, so really it's pointless to choose a good room...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ahala_rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Topkapi Apartments in July 2013 and had a wonderful experience. Hamza and his brother Yusuf are warm and welcoming hosts who create a home away from home and are very helpful in arranging travel plans. The apartments are spacious and the location is perfect for exploring the Sultanahmet (old city) area, conveniently located within minutes of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and Basilica Cistern. The rooftop terrace, with its incredible views of the Bosphorus, is a peaceful retreat after a long day spent exploring Istanbul. We look forward to our next stay at Topkapi Apartments!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ekim Apartments
Ekim Apartments
#88 of 1,236 in Istanbul
150 reviews
Sultanahmet
Emirhan Inn Apart Hotel
Emirhan Inn Apart Hotel
#17 of 1,236 in Istanbul
379 reviews
Beyoglu
Istanbul Place Apartments
Istanbul Place Apartments
#9 of 1,236 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Amedros Home
Istanbul Amedros Home
#27 of 1,236 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#7 of 1,236 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Beyoglu
No11 Hotel & Apartments
No11 Hotel & Apartments
#29 of 1,236 in Istanbul
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topkapi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topkapi Apartments

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Demirci Resit Sok. No:11 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,236 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $34 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topkapi Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly apartment hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet, old Istanbul. Within 15 minutes to most major touristic sites. In a residential neighborhood. 4 units, all with private kitchen and bathrooms. Ocean view from common terrace. Rooms look out to a 5th-century colosseum wall. Additional discounts available for long-term stays. Breakfasts and airport transportation available. Reservations available in Japanese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Topkapi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topkapi Apartments Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing