We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best customer service in Istanbul”
Review of Topkapi Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Topkapi Apartments
Ranked #60 of 1,194 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best customer service in Istanbul”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We've had our share of difficulties booking an apartment in Istanbul. Instead of checking for reviews, we were lazy and tried to book with an agency. It was a big mistake. Be careful and make certain to check whatever posted reviews you can find by other travellers.

To our relief, Topkapi apartments was different. Yussef is an honest man and sent drivers as promised. He made sure the drivers didn't overcharge us (apparently by everybody's account there's an issue with Taxis in Istanbul). He checked on us every couple of days to make sure we were happy and the cleaning woman checked in on us every day to make sure we had everything we needed.

The apartment was central. Actually, the apartment was perfect.

We looked forward to breakfast on the terrace where we met other travellers renting apartments at Topkapi to share notes on the best places to eat, the best places to shop, the best places to visit, etc. Just so you know the small family run restaurant around the corner from Topaki Apartments, a short block from the more famed Cesme restaurant, is hands down the best food you'll find in Istanbul. The decor isn't fancy (undoubtedly because every cent is put in the food) but the food is absolutely out of this world. Though cheap (entree and main dish comes to around 10 lira per person instead of the usual 40 lira per person), the food is authentic and the best we've had for two weeks we've been in Turkey.

Like I said, the apartment was perfect. Everybody at Topaki apartments (including fellow travelers) were fantastic. The place couldn't be more central. And we were right around the corner from the best food in all of Istanbul (you have to order something called "Melemen", it's a tomato-paprika Turkish omelette that is just out of this world ... also the Kofta, Turkish meatballs, were better than in the 5 other restaurants we've tried Kofta).

We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: It really depends on what you need. If you want separate bedrooms, then you should pick the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
39
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a clean and attractive small apartment hotel with very friendly and helpful management (they have a rug shop called Noah's Ark in the main Sultanahmet area). What we didn't know when we booked it, but consider a real benefit, is that it's slightly out of the main Sultanahmet area (just below the old city walls) in a real neighborhood. So you are not in the most touristy part of Sultanahmet and can avoid the most overpriced, noisy restaurants and bars, instead getting a feel for ordinary life in Istanbul-- yet it's a short walk up the street to the Hippodrome and other attractions. It was a great choice for our family and Yusuf also introduced us to the Tur-ista agency near his shop who did a great job setting up excursions in Cappadocia and elsewhere. It can be a little tough finding apartment-type accommodations for a family (and note that the top floor one doesn't have separate rooms, only separation by a curtain) but this worked out very well for us and our boys enjoyed the rooftop patio and its view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelGebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Our daughter booked all this for us as a thank you for something we wont go into. She knows what we like - somewhere close to everything interesting where we can come and go as we please, cook if we want, relax. These appartments could not have been better. Petty much in the shadow of the Blue Mosque and round the corner from the Little Aya Sofia. Clean, nicely furnished, perfect little kitchen, everything worked just as it should and the roof terrace, even on a cold February night, was perfect.....and supermarket just up the road. The people running the place were lovely.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andwe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

hello there,
we stayed in these aprtments last december (2011) and found them excellent. they have been newly reburbished and are quiet and clean. There is a double bedroom and a large sofa bed in the lounge, easily sleeping two people and up to four 9in total). We were warm enough in December and had enough space to unpack all our belongings. the area is quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the Hippodrome etc and there is a Pide shop round the corner. Some of the photos on the net are very out of date, the apartment is much nicer than these would suggest. Jusef is very helpful (he runs the rug and kilim place (Noah's Arc??) and can recommend good restaurants. We went to a fantastic fish restaurant for my birthday. All in all, we had a great trip! Also a fabulous roof terrace in the apartment for breakfast with views of the river!

Room Tip: Both rooms good in our (middle) apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

After touring for over a month by public bus we were relieved to finish part of our trip at the Topkapi Apartments in Istanbul. We had done some considerable research in Australia prior to leaving and all reviews of accommodation we chose based on trip adviser were accurate.

Hamza replied very quickly to emails we sent prior to leaving and the same when we were travelling within Turkey. Communication, as evident in the brochure and contact list adjacent to the free telephone, is a high priority and much appreciated.
All the positive comments and praise for these apartments about the perfect location and comfortable amenities are warranted. It was heavenly returning exhausted after a day's walking or touring to relax in Unit 4 on the top floor.

Having stayed in apartments during the past five years in the U.K., Netherlands, France, Germany, Czech Republic, Italy, Austria, Belgium and Denmark, we loved this place and can't speak highly enough of the warmth and kindness shown by Yusuf and Hamza. We will be returning to Turkey with our grandchildren from Bahrain in a few years and will certainly rebook.

A comment about Noah's Ark Carpet shop run by Hamza, Yusuf and Apo. We purchased three carpets along the way and were pleased with the advice, honesty and assistance we received. The three Sumaks and antique Teke Ensi tent door hanging purchased at Noah's Ark take pride of place in our collection and we are grateful for their guidance. We often called in and had tea with them and spent time admiring the extensive collection, especially of old rugs. If you are interested I can highly recommend magnificent carpets at realistic prices.

Room Tip: Apartment 4 on the top third floor is very quiet and comfortable and access to the rooftop easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were seven girls from Barcelona that stayed at Topkapi for six nights in two rooms. We really liked the place, was confortable and clean, we have everything we need and also the manager it was very friendly, he is always available for any question or problem. It's possible to arrive to Aya Sofia and the Hypodrom in a few minutes, also there are restaurants and supermarkets very near. We hire the transport to hotel and they were punctual, also it is very near (like 20 minutes). If we come back to Istanbul surely we will go to Topkapi Apartments.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at Topkapi for 5 nights in late November. Our room was on the top floor. For our needs it was perfect . We completely agree with the positive points in the other reviews, but we have to emphasize how much our visit was enhanced by our hosts. They were available at any time for any of our questions, or just to have a cup of tea and relax in their shop. Thanks to Yusef, we had a marvelous time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zyphanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#272 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#88 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#6 of 1,194 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
No:11 Hotel & Apartments
No:11 Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Suites
Sultanahmet Suites
#35 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ekim Apartments
Ekim Apartments
#95 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topkapi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topkapi Apartments

Property: Topkapi Apartments
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Demirci Resit Sok. No:11 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,194 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Topkapi Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly apartment hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet, old Istanbul. Within 15 minutes to most major touristic sites. In a residential neighborhood. 4 units, all with private kitchen and bathrooms. Ocean view from common terrace. Rooms look out to a 5th-century colosseum wall. Additional discounts available for long-term stays. Breakfasts and airport transportation available. Reservations available in Japanese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Topkapi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topkapi Apartments Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing